Hard Luck Meath

Lads, what can I say..? What a game of football!

I know I was very cocky before the game and of course I did under estimate Meath but I am always gracious in victory and I know a good performance when I see one. Great performance by you. Shane O Rourke is a real gem and would walk on to any team in the country. I'm not an admirer of Cian Ward but he shoved it in my face tonight.

Comiserations lads and hopefully we'll get yous next year ;-)
Your definitely one of the best in the country.

As for Kildare, we can only get stronger I believe and hopefully we can give it a real go this year and boost you guys a lot more. Look forward to the league lads, big times ahead for both teams!

Possom (Kildare) - Posts: 322 - 16/07/2011 20:43:03    986511

Well done Kildare- I hopes you do well in rest of championship.

AnMhi96 (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 16/07/2011 20:49:30    986526

Very little football played tonight, poor game from a neutrals perspective, only those involved could have gotten anything from tonight's game TENSION.

Football itself lost out due Meath's ploy to stifle out the game.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 16/07/2011 21:01:39    986547

Very nice words plossom but i think your way off the mark as regards shane o rourke getting onto any team in the country,our composure let us down in the last 15 mins kicking 3 bad wides when the match was all square and joe totally mis firing from 30 yards,kildare showed more experience and it carried them thru.Best of luck kildare.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1098 - 16/07/2011 21:07:36    986557

bad luck lads sorry to sees yous out but there always has to be one and unfortunately its yous,great display of football from both sides and great all round entertainment too.
i think yous are playing a whole better football now and although it may sound patronising i honestly dont mean it but yous will be there next
ALL THE BEST !!!!!

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 16/07/2011 21:10:42    986562

well done lads a great game we had to pull out all the tricks in the bag. ye will be back no doubt next year.

lillymadfan (Kildare) - Posts: 1085 - 16/07/2011 21:14:01    986569

Seamus Kennys blood injury was a pivotal point in the game. Meath then lacked composure at the crucial time in the game and Kildare were clinical in the end. Best of luck Kildare, expect you to make at least an All-Ireland semi.

LondonRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 16/07/2011 21:14:28    986570

The slimy squid raised it's ugly head for the first time since the humiliation. How laughable! A good day to bury bad news, eh?

LobinstownMan (Meath) - Posts: 127 - 16/07/2011 21:15:43    986575

To me SHANE O'ROURKE looks a bit awkward
to be a top class footballer.

forever11 (Laois) - Posts: 6 - 16/07/2011 21:22:00    986586

Well done to meath, they really put it up to us tonight it could of went any way with 10 mins to go. There is plenty of positive coming from that team with heart and I wish the best for ya's next year. Sure we'll be back up in Navan come the league time again in january...

lilywhite2 (Kildare) - Posts: 105 - 16/07/2011 21:26:49    986593

Great game. Meath were the 2nd half team tonight. Best meath performance all year. Kevin reilly is outstanding, the new darren fay and Banty should stay imo. Kildare a great team, well done, im just gutted now.

Scarface (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 16/07/2011 21:29:26    986597

LobinstownMan

" The slimy squid raised it's ugly head for the first time since the humiliation. How laughable! A good day to bury bad news, eh? "

Lobinstown, now there's a place of real note.

You'll hardly venture into Ardee for your chips tonight.

Good things come to those of who wait.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 16/07/2011 21:44:48    986626

As is Ardee. And so the debate on a meath football thread denegrates into a non football pit of toxens, this particular one being so oily that I daren't dip my cerebral toe in. You're true to form, I'll give you that. Alas, my fish await me, and they're much too big for you to even conceive of frying. Goodbye, my wee friend.

LobinstownMan (Meath) - Posts: 127 - 16/07/2011 21:53:20    986651

Nobody can say this was a good game exciteing yes,good def not.Meath must get real and honest with themselves they have about 4 inter county players on that team the rest are average to poor.They are slow predictable and looked unfit.man marking was poor and the day your depending on js for scores your gone.Meath can take nothing from this year except they split the management early in season and had to look to get a 38 year old back on panel.Why is their still a mentality that they can still win.o rourke flynn t dowd giles must be sick lookin at the 6 excuses for forwards that were in navan last night because unlike players with guts they were,nt seen when kildare ripped up the field they had their hands on their hips.Bring back o,rourke flynn giles dowd still be better than whats there.

mickeylinden (Monaghan) - Posts: 587 - 17/07/2011 08:59:42    986677

Kildare are a good team. Far better than Meath. But they aren't going to win the All-Ireland.

Meath managed to curtail the influence of Eammon Callaghan and Eoghan O'Flaherty. That was problem one solved. But the raiding half-backs were allowed to break forward unrestricted too often in the second half. Eventually, this was our undoing. Problem two could not be solved. Sooner or later, a Dublin or a Tyrone will play Kildare, and pick up on these things, and they will beat them.

One other worrying aspect from a Kildare point of view is their weakness in midfield. Hugh Lynch and Dermot Earley both gone for the year. Johnny Doyle looked injured yesterday. That won't be good enough against the better midfields.

Some Meath fans might take comfort in losing to Kildare, but I won't. We lost to a good team, not an outstanding one.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 17/07/2011 10:05:49    986688

Welcome back Squid! you finally found your way home from Cavan town! Things have not been the same around here without you!

A few hlads predicted you would be back whenever we exited the championship, your true to form anyway!

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 17/07/2011 10:10:46    986691

Good man Mickey, another to kick us when were down. Unfortunately I agree with a lot of what your saying, we just dont have the players we did back in the day but where's the harm in that? They tried very hard all year and came up short against a well drilled Kildare side. The likes of Giles, Dowd et. al. were exceptional players and dont come round too often.

But you are right about these so called brilliant forwards Meath have. We have to get real. Taking wrong options, (going for goals the whole time) pathetic shooting and passing and as you have mentioned not tracking back or working hard enough when they loose the ball.

I believe we need to work on our forward play for next year and I do think they will improve.

Thanks lads for an enjoyable year.

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 17/07/2011 10:24:50    986695

In all fairness Ward went for goal twice and each time he was correct in doing so, only two excellent blocks prevented the green flag being raised, its typical at every match, lads wait for a fella to shoot for goal and regardless of if its a top class save or hits the woodwork they then say in a knowledgeable tone " should have put it over the bar". Farrell and POR were shocking, Farrell and G Reilly only interested in their own score, Reilly had the tireless S Bray inside and went for his own score and was quickly subbed after, overall a decent performance with backs doing well and Kenny, Bray and Ward in good form and the less greedy joe is an improvement but maybe needs to be inside

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1508 - 17/07/2011 10:49:05    986706

Cheers Possom :) well done Meath we lifted about 80% since Galway but still not good enough but we where not lacking in effort and spirit Meath have Banty for about 10 months Kildare have Mcgeeney for 3 years and i think he is only difference between the teams Kildare as usual Kildare think that they are class and get carried away with themselves and hype themselves up but that's something they have worry about they are in with decent chance now but john doyle plying midfield and boton a wing back the top scorer they have issues that need to addressed any who we can hold our heads up cant ask for anything more from the lads execpt we appreciate the effort its a tough station being a inter county footballer these days

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1269 - 17/07/2011 11:04:16    986716

the boy mickey just a quick question how did monaghan do this year?? as i recall you's were in a similar postion to us at the start of the year ulster underachievers but now look at you's gone back further than us in my opinion as for meath it was never gonna be the fairytale story of banty coming in and winning us sam he needs time he's doin some good work look at mark ward for example last year couldnt catch a ball to save his life and now playing great stuff giving young lenehan and gilsenan there chance and theyve proved their worth after last nights performance i left navan with a bit of pride back as it was a typical performance of old fighting to the last and nearly stealing it banty needs more time

meath1234 (Meath) - Posts: 203 - 17/07/2011 11:29:35    986738