Has Cian Ward left the Meath panel? 12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 08/06/2011 15:29:35 950672 Link 0 |
ye heard it a while ago, i wonder what was the reasons for leaving?, thats 2 players who could be in the first 15 gone (mcguinness being the other), hope the backside doesnt fall out of it like in 2008 when limerick hammered a demoralised team. tailteannpark (Meath) - Posts: 174 - 08/06/2011 16:00:57 950722 Link 0 |
Where did this rumour come from? Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 08/06/2011 16:09:58 950731 Link 0 |
Bad blow if it's true. Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 08/06/2011 16:12:57 950736 Link 0 |
Wouldnt blame him after what Banty did to him last weekend. Hopefully team can stay together and get few qualifier games under our belts and build from that. Things not sounding good unfortunately toon (Meath) - Posts: 247 - 08/06/2011 16:13:47 950740 Link 0 |
would you stay on the panel after training all winter and having GG on ahead on you the last day. Since ward arrived on the scene he has been ahead of farrell and im sure he was sick not to be brought on ahead of him.i hope ward walked away...he wont be the last man to do it if the rumor mill is correct VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 08/06/2011 16:34:49 950765 Link 0 |
I suppose if I were Ward I would be very annoyed. To be named in the starting 15 during the week before the game and then to be replaced by someone else just before the game starts and not even come on as a sub. What is he suppose to think of the manager? Anyone care to answer this? monkeyd (Meath) - Posts: 163 - 08/06/2011 16:37:06 950768 Link 0 |
Hard to blame him when he sees sub after sub being introduced and he remains seated. Especially after being named in the original team. GoalsWinGames (Meath) - Posts: 307 - 08/06/2011 16:38:33 950770 Link 0 |
Having seen him walking off the pitch on Sunday this wouldn't suprise me at all. Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 08/06/2011 16:57:30 950799 Link 0 |
I think hes an excellent player but IMO has been off form the last while,Farrell has been on fire for his club and Id say once banty settled for route one football summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 228 - 08/06/2011 17:37:01 950857 Link 0 |
IF he left because he didn't get on last day then this a joke. Is this what football has become? BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 08/06/2011 17:56:29 950877 Link 0 |
Vernonsmith, could not agree with your post more. You are spot on with regard to the issue at hand. How can anyone have trained since October and see GG brought in before them in a championship game. It is a disgrace. Now with Mcguiness leaving it is leaving the whole year look like some sad panto. Good luck to the two boys and I hope they have a great year with their clubs. MinorStar (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 08/06/2011 17:59:42 950881 Link 0 |
Will be a big loss but disappointed with him that he dosent stay and fight for his place.On his form over the last year he didnt deserve a starting place.Dont ever remember players walking off the panel in the Boylan era,looks like there isnt much of a relationship with the new management.First McGuinness,now Ward,shouldnt be loosing players of this quality.Looks like everyone is abandoning the Titanic before it goes down! JD1677 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 08/06/2011 18:15:50 950896 Link 0 |
If true, it is understandable but still not right. If players aren't prepared to fight for their place, that is not much of an attitude to have. It has more or less happened over just the one match, not a run of competitive matches. GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 08/06/2011 18:26:48 950908 Link 0 |
I think this shows all you need to know about the modern day Meath footballer and proves the attitude of Cian is all wrong... Cian has not being playing well or putting the work in,therefore he did not deserve his place in the team. So instead of deciding to work harder and try to force himself into the team,what does he do? He decides to quit!! Proving that t's all about him and not the team. He clearly thinks he should be in the team regardless of what he does. I would suggest their are probably many like him in the panel too. If spme posters can't see this,well then I don't know.. ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/06/2011 19:13:39 950980 Link 0 |
Okay, abit of perrspective here. DowdtoFoleyGoal (Meath) - Posts: 292 - 08/06/2011 19:33:04 951005 Link 0 |
Lads it sickens me to see the posts about Wardy staying and fighting for his place. Banty made it very clear he is not in his plans. Wardy like everyone else has fought for his place since last Oct. Through some ferocious training sessions and it shows. People going on about staying is a load of crap. Put yourself in his shoes. It takes more of a man to make a stand and leave than stay for nothing MinorStar (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 08/06/2011 19:38:07 951008 Link 0 |
MinorStar- on the basis of your thinking, anyone who does not make the first 15 after a winter of training should and could leave a panel. DowdtoFoleyGoal (Meath) - Posts: 292 - 08/06/2011 20:01:14 951029 Link 0 |
Minorstar.. ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/06/2011 20:13:47 951048 Link 0 |
If its true its bad form and bad news for the team.Cian should stay and fight for his place.He actually looked fitter this year but hasn't been playing well.Still he should have been brought on on Sunday.When you think back to that match in Rosemount against Westmeath 2 weeks ago Cormac Mc Guinness,Brian Farrell,Cian and Caoimhin King were picked while the first 20 were training in Navan.Clearly they werent in Bantys plans for a start against Kildare despite playing in several league games.Thought that was a mistake to divide the panel at that stage and now Cormac Mc Guinness and possibly Cian Ward are not involved.Despite the suggestion that Cormac Mc Guinness had work commitments he surely would have stayed if he was part of Bantys plans.Not saying its right that players walk but we cant afford to be losing good players like them. noneutrals (Dublin) - Posts: 316 - 08/06/2011 20:47:56 951081 Link 0 |