Meath vs Tyrone

For the first time in a while it looked like we had a midfield capable of fielding the ball, which was very good to see. Also in the first half Paddy was wrecking havoc around the square. Biggie was outstanding, the points he took were something else considering the pressure. But one good game doesn't suddenly paper over all the cracks.

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 10/04/2011 18:02:03    908003

Fair enough,but it was a foul and dealt with so why wasn't a free given?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/04/2011 18:07:36    908009

Well done to the royals, showed the fighting spirit you are famous for. You truly are our bogey team and pray to god we dont get drawn together in the summer!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/04/2011 18:10:33    908011

BRING_ON_GURTY!

Stir what up... Congrats on picking up a point at home.

Congrats to you on staying up

The other two points are merely the truth... nothing sad about it unless youre from Meath.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/04/2011 18:14:36    908014

That's the puzzling thing. I'd like to hear from anybody who knows the ins and outs of the rule book as to whether or not the point couldn't be overturned as it was only after it had been scored that the umpire drew the attention of the referee to the incident. Would it be possible the referee couldn't overturn the point as he hadn't noticed the incident?

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 10/04/2011 18:20:37    908018

As always with your posts Jimbo - you back-track in order hide the veiled sarcasm.

It's whatever you get your kicks from I guess...

Like I said though - its genuinely sad.

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 10/04/2011 18:25:34    908026

If so it's a bit silly in fairness...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/04/2011 18:31:19    908028

brendtheredhand

Well done to the royals, showed the fighting spirit you are famous for. You truly are our bogey team and pray to god we dont get drawn together in the summer!

Cheers brend but don't worry about drawing us in the summer, we'll be long gone before that could happen if we play like we did in our first 6 league games!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/04/2011 18:38:08    908035

The Meath team gave us what we expect today, tireless work rate and effort coupled with a hell of a lot of pride and passion, to score 17 points against a team like Tyrone is a very positive occurance and the reaction of all concerned today, given the circumstances in which we found ourselves in, was very impressive. What must be done now is examine all the previous games and figure out why we couldnt have performed like this previously, even a 60% effort of today's performance would have seen us pick up more points in previous games. In response to our concerned Dublin scribe I do actually congratulate Banty and his team, to get the team to respond mentally as well as physically today against such quality opposition given what has happened in recent weeks is in my view an achievement and deserves mention as such. Onwards and upwards now, we don't always make life easy for ourselves but sure isn't that why we love them. Up the Royal!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3760 - 10/04/2011 19:36:22    908090

Does anyone know if shane o rourke was injured he got taken of and went straight under tunnel

MeathOnHill16 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 10/04/2011 20:07:27    908125

MeathonHill16, looked like an injury to be honest. Seemed to be wincing a lot when walking off.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1403 - 10/04/2011 20:25:00    908141

BRING_ON_GURTY!

Ehhhh... whatever you say man...

Congrats to Meath for staying in Div 2... and with only 3 points. I mean thats all that was required so whats the point in getting anymore

Great stuff and all the best with the year ahead

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/04/2011 20:37:26    908154

BallsMcQ
County: USA

904668 Meath to go down fighting (literally). This will be a dirty game as Meath resort to what they know best. Banty's men to take another hiding from Tyrone.

Wrong on both counts there balls merchant.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3760 - 10/04/2011 20:43:56    908165

yeah O'Rourke was down before that.. As for the passion and pride I want to see that everygame

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/04/2011 20:48:29    908171

Fair play on staying up...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 10/04/2011 20:54:53    908179

What a really enjoyable afternoon of football and a great result, thank god we avoided the
drop, one thing i think we are missing is someone who will follow through when the ball is gone.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 710 - 10/04/2011 21:03:23    908192

Genuinely glad yis stayed up lads. Great performance today!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 10/04/2011 21:06:29    908198

Great performance and it gives me huge optimism going into the championship.

If we can get Kevin reilly and Brayer back i promise you that we will take beating if we play with the same intensity and passion that we showed today.

Paddy o'rourke was excellent against one of the best Full-Backs in the country and he definitely should start against either kildare or Wicklow. (especially considering Kildares fullback is quite small for an intercounty player).

The u-21 half-back line was also excellent and the criticism they are getting here is totally unjustified. Tyrone started running at us right from the back and midfield during the second half and that caused us massive problems. However the men who were doing the damage were not Tyrone's half-forward line. The two Cavanagh's and McGuigan actually had very quiet games. Lenehan, O'Sullivan and particularly Menton will all be in contention for starting spots in the championship.

Overall a good performance and a good result. We wont get carried away, but I think it could be an interesting summer lads.

boynesider1 (Meath) - Posts: 84 - 10/04/2011 21:11:35    908212

Division 2 next year is where its at... more derbys than you can mention ...a true test of the Bantys ability...Hats off to the Biggie today

jacky-jack (Meath) - Posts: 290 - 10/04/2011 21:20:49    908231

especially considering Kildares fullback is quite small for an intercounty player

Who? Mick Foley?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/04/2011 21:22:44    908234