NFL v Laois

What way do people think we will do?
What team will start?

I reckon we are good enough to win it with a bit of improved shooting from the past few outings. If we could win this & the game v Antrim in Belfast plus all our away games it would put us in a very strong position.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 31/01/2011 20:21:18    857740

Think we should win in fairness but Laois are a funny aul team, you really never know what to expect when your playing them. Now I'm just thinking back to the championship where Laois gave a very dogged, persistent preformance and could have easily won the first game, then in the replay at times Laois looked like a bad division 4 team so you just never know with them. Whatever about them though I honestly think we are a better team and should win if we can get going properly especially infront of goal because thats clearly where the lads are short of form at the moment, 17 wides is a disgraceful return in any game.

Not a clue what team he'll pick Jinxie but I'd like to see the experimenting wound down a little so we can start to get a few decent results because although I know its very early days yet the lads could do with a couple of confidence boosting wins ahead of the summer. The leinster draw was about as hard as it could have been for us and the last thing we need is to be heading into the championship as a division 3 team, I don't really mind if we miss out on promotion but relegation is not an option.

So anyway long and short of it, Meath by 5.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 31/01/2011 21:14:49    857811

We definitely need to get off to a good start in the league. Hit the ground running! It's definitely a match that we can win. Hopefully we can build on the performance from Saturday night, and mostly on the scoring end of things. As we can all concede, our shooting boots weren't on for some of the players on Saturday.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 31/01/2011 21:19:36    857825

Unlike the last few years the league has to be given some focus this year.Need to playing at Division 1 level,would leave us in a much stronger position for Championship.Promotion has to be the target.Well capable of beating Laois on a dry and quick day.On a wet windy night in Portlaois it would even things up a bit but still should have enough firepower to come away with a win.

JD1677 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 01/02/2011 09:21:49    857897

Yeah I can see banty putting a much bigger emphasis on the league this year than has been in other years.

As far as the starting 15 goes, do we know when his panel for the league will be announced?
Are we any further on with paddy orourke? Will he be in goals on sat night or will it be murphy and orourke outfield?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 01/02/2011 11:06:21    857946

Think he will go with the following team based on last few games,
Brendan Murphy
Gary O Brien
Kevin Reilly
Caoimhin King
Seamus Kenny
Brian Menton
Cormac Mc Guiness
Nigel Crawford
Conor Gillespie
Shane Mc Anarney
Shane O Rourke
Graham Reilly
Cian Ward
Joe Sheridan
Brian Farrell
Would prefer to see Cormac Mc Gill,Davy Dalton and Brian Meade included but think they will be on the bench.Paddy Gilsenan would be unlucky as he has played well but looks just a little lightweight.We need Cian Ward for his frees as we cant afford to miss 14 yard frees.Laois are unpredictable but capable of raising their game.Mc Nulty is a shrewd manager with a good team around him.In the drawn match last year Laois were the better team but in Tullamore Meath played their best football of the year in my opinion and were physically much stronger than Laois.Think we can win by 3 or 4 points.

noneutrals (Dublin) - Posts: 316 - 01/02/2011 12:09:20    857994

Dont tink he should start Shane Mc Anarny

1loyalroyal (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 01/02/2011 14:29:14    858083

Although Brian Menton is big and strong, he looked caught for pace a few times against Dublin last Saturday night.

tonytookamotor (Meath) - Posts: 139 - 01/02/2011 15:00:18    858105

menton was faster then a few of the meath players.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 02/02/2011 21:35:06    859149

We'll probabely do ok against Laois sat nite. I would be wary about the back as they are not geeting enough of the ball during the game.
Meath are improvig each match they play. After watching Banty during the O'Byrne Cup. I do think he'll put alot offort to clock up as many points as possible throught the League.

NavanGirl (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 03/02/2011 15:23:17    859515

1. Brendan Murphy, Trim

2. Gary O'Brien, Navan O'Mahony's

3. Kevin Reilly, Navan O'Mahony's

4. Caoimhin King, Dunshaughlin

5. Seamus Kenny, Simonstown Gaels (Captain)

6. Brian Meade, Rathkenny

7. Cormac McGuinness, Navan O'Mahony's

8. Mark Ward, Navan O'Mahony's

9. Conor Gillespie, Summerhill

10. Shane McAnerney, Clann na nGael

11. Shane O'Rourke, Simonstown Gaels

12. Graham Reilly, .St. Colmcille's

13. Paddy Gilsenan, Oldcastle

14. Joe Sheridan, Seneschalstown

15. Cian Ward, Wolfe Tones

Theres the starting 15 for sat night. What do people think.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 04/02/2011 09:26:50    859989

Delighted for Paddy Gilsenan. A terrific juvenile talent a number of years back and a fine young man that any parent would be proud off

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 467 - 04/02/2011 10:18:23    860018

King on the FB line, interesting, will be hoping that arangement works out

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 04/02/2011 10:20:28    860019

Thats a decent team, full back line is very interesting and could be a good call. Gilsenan a good choice too and hope for a big game from Mark ward.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 04/02/2011 10:43:42    860051

actually delighted with the full back line, last two chap games it was our cornor backs who were caught short, Kreilly would be an even better player if he could be confident of the lads beside him, hope thats the 1-7 that starts against kildare in the champ

posh (Meath) - Posts: 633 - 04/02/2011 10:53:21    860070

Yeah its great to see Paddy Gilsenan getting a run alright. An immense talent under age & fuly committed too. best of luck to him tomorrow night.

King & O'Brien done alright in the corners las week so hopefully that will continue.

Meade at CB will be interesting. I expect to see Menton fill in there at somestage & Meade go to centrefield unless both Ward & Gillespie both have great games, which I doubt. Hope Im wrong tho.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 04/02/2011 11:07:13    860086

Good too see McAnarney getting the recognition he deserves. Felt he never got credit for the all the donkeywork he gets through.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 309 - 04/02/2011 13:22:19    860217

Lads,

Whats with all the optimism

I have to say i'm pretty feckin pee'd off about that team to be quite honest. Where's the new blood in the team...someone who's going to do something different from last year..

Still far too many passengers at least 4 players on that team that have been there time and again and failed to deliver on the big stage and one player being stupidly played out of position. That's one third of your team.........

Jaysus Cormac MacGill must be wondering why he bothered coming back when he's the best corner back we probably have and he barely get's a start over two natural wing backs??

I'm quite honestly baffled..... young lads like Menton,Lenihan,Dalton,Keoghan surely could've been tried in this game...

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1994 - 04/02/2011 13:23:35    860220

I cannot believe we are persisting with mark ward, in my opinion the lad just isnt good enough or mobile enough no matter how big he is.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 710 - 04/02/2011 13:27:32    860224

A strong team for the laois game and glad to see Gilsenan keep his place. We have a decent bench as well to call.
Brendan Murphy is an interesting choice. Banty subbed him at halftime against Laois in the O'Byrne cup shield which I can only suspect was for his poor kickouts, picked Paddy last week who didn't cover himself in glory with his handling and now back to Murphy. Davy Lyons must be getting a bit peed off with ths suituation and wondering will he get a chance.
Anyway UP THE ROYAL.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 04/02/2011 13:36:22    860235