Banty for Meath Job

well done banty,just what meath needed, a motivator!

the seal (Meath) - Posts: 583 - 11/11/2010 13:17:32    814198

Well Atta what do you class as failure? I suppose you want an All-Ireland in the first year.
We got the luckiest draw possible 2 years ago & were soundly beaten in the semi by Kerry. We BLEW the Leinster Final and lost that game, despite what the record books say. I think it will be the end of 2012 before we can make a fair assessment of the Banty regime.
Are you telling me Gerry Cooney was gonna sweep all before him? I'm not saying Banty is God, all I'm saying is he was the best option available.
Let's hope for some progress.

Finnertys_Perm (Meath) - Posts: 440 - 11/11/2010 13:30:47    814215

northmeathman maybe the media wanted him, but i can tell you he wasnt 1st choice regarding the players.

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 11/11/2010 13:51:05    814236

trimmer

Best of luck to him anyway regardless of all the other issues. If he brings success all that will be a footnote in history. Heres to a bright future as we watch Louth disappear back to mediocrity where they belong. Bring on Dublin, Kerry and Cork

You may not know it but while Louth might disappear back to mediocrity Meath are already there. No manager in the world will make any of your forwards able to run. Up banty. He is worth 11000 a month seen as he as won so much with Monaghan.

red.dragon (Louth) - Posts: 558 - 11/11/2010 13:53:54    814238

This was posted as a new thread but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Eamonn Barry was wrong.

11/11/2010 13:06:57
Dictatorship

I must approach this topic with the upmost care. Eamonn Barry made a very emotional plea this week for all clubs not to vote for Banty to get the Meath manager job. He stated that he had no credetials as a manager and that he was looking for too much expenses. Now Eamonn Barry was a former Meath manager and to be fair failed in his attempts. Meath players I know who played on his team were glad to see him go. Now after a near majority vote 52:19 the clubs in meath have spoken and appointed Banty. So what has Eamonn Barry to say about that,how wrong can a person be about this issue?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 11/11/2010 14:30:10    814265

This was posted as a new thead but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Ilovejam
Monaghan
11/11/2010
14:11

Eamonn Barry should eat some humble pie as he said the clubs would vote against Banty but they give him a massive vote.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 11/11/2010 14:33:15    814268

Glad the whole debacle is finally over. Some serious cash being mentioned which is a tad disappointing. I preferred when dirty linen was not aired in public and Meath sorted things out quietly in house. However it's time for everyone to move on and back Banty and his backroom team. Hopefully this is the start of great things for Meath football.

MeathGael (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 11/11/2010 14:35:49    814269

Lads Get a grip on yourselves Banty is not the first outsider to manage a Meath senior team. The man who put Meath football where it was in the Forty's was a kerry man by the name of Paul Russell But because of a row with Fr Tully has almost been totally forgotten. There's no doubt that he was the mastermind behind Meaths rise during the early days. Ard RI I'm surprised you didn't know this.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 11/11/2010 16:11:28    814364

Does this sound familiar.
GAA Football 1939 Senior Gaelic League Medal to Kildare
silver by Jewellery & Medal Manufacturing Company, Dublin 1938
3 by 3cm., 1 by 1in.
Obverse motif worn away. Inscribed to D. Boylan who also played for Kildare in the
controversial Leinster Final of 1939 in which a Meath player fell into the goal area
before throwing the ball over the line while Kildare had stopped defending because
the referee had blown for a foul, as a result of which Meath won.
€100-€150 (£90-£130 approx.)
SPORT

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 11/11/2010 16:58:42    814409

11/11/2010 13:17:32
the seal

814198 well done banty,just what meath needed, a motivator!

AND 15 PLAYERS WOULD COME IN HANDY TOO!!

HeadButter (Monaghan) - Posts: 312 - 11/11/2010 17:21:57    814432

Doesn't bother me in the slightest that we've appointed an outsider because I think Banty was the best option available to Meath last night so whats the problem, its only traditionalists and people like Eamon Barry who refuse to move on and get with the times. As for Banty himself well I reckon he's in a no win situation here unless he wins a few trophies because unfortunately I'd be willing to bet that theres going to be plenty of so called 'Meath fans' praying for him to fail. Personally although I wasn't a huge fan of O'Brien, he done pretty well in his two years at the helm so its going to be very though for Banty but Ireckon he has the head for the job so heres wishing him all the best anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/11/2010 17:39:41    814457

Northmeathman more or less agree with your sentiments. However we are now where we are and I for one as a proud Meath-man will give this management my full support. I have no doubt that you, as an equally proud Meath-man will not be found wanting, at least until the end of next Summer. I will review this at that time and suspect that I will be asking that Liam Harnan takes over the entire show, which he should have done this year in any event. I'm sure Skryne are regretting that he he will be leaving them. There's a job for you Northmeathman. How would you like to manage the county champions.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 12/11/2010 16:58:07    815234

latouche25

The forties is a bit far back even for me. I heard we won the A/I in '49 and '54 but for me Meath football started in October 1963 when I attended my first game. Don't even know who the manager/trainer was that day. Only know that Paddy Cromwell was in goals Martin Quinn was full back and Jack was in the middle. After that I could guess at a few positions but they would only be guesses.

P.S. I did hear of Paul Russel but until now thought he was a Meathman. Believe he was a tough disciplinarian.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 12/11/2010 17:05:34    815241

There ye go Ard Ri He was a kerry man It's a wonder Skryne didn't try to recruit him during his time in the royal county.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 12/11/2010 18:38:43    815355

Great to see Banty getting the meath job a step in right direction and hopefully all players good enough will be given a fair chance and hopefully the cream will rise to the top and Meath can go on a run like Down and become a competive team again and play with bigs teams again retain Leinster get promotion in the League and hopefully get a gud run i d ALL Ireland series

ThickandTin (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 12/11/2010 19:17:30    815403