Banty for Meath Job

i agree with richieq sounds a brilliant team and exactly what we need.could liam accept being selector though?probably not a problem if hes already talked to banty

stamullenman (Meath) - Posts: 392 - 19/10/2010 10:28:02    799265

While it's a good team,Harnan didnt solve Skryne's defensive problems.But he was a brillant defender and hopefully he would be able to organise that part of the team.

jake1 (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 19/10/2010 10:38:43    799275

Well lads the talk around monaghan today is that banty has got the job and is taking the two boys with him,if its true the best of luck to them a good honest manager that gains the respect of the players

targetman15 (Monaghan) - Posts: 32 - 19/10/2010 15:02:45    799533

The Banty/Harnan ticket is head and shoulders above anything else on offer. Will the county board see it that way though!?!

RoyalSon (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 19/10/2010 16:41:47    799637

It would be a great managerial team and would bring fresh thinking to meath football which has been lacking. Really hope mceneaney gets the job.

dona (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 19/10/2010 16:47:03    799645

Surprised this evening to find its not official yet that Banty has the job....

Breifne_Blue (Cavan) - Posts: 214 - 19/10/2010 18:32:15    799779

Never second guess the Meath county board lads....I won't believe this until it's confirmed. Still won't be surprised if Carr gets it.

Finnertys_Perm (Meath) - Posts: 440 - 19/10/2010 20:54:09    799941

Carr is doing the interview with Gerry Cooney as they will work together if they get the job.But they have to give it to McEeaney now as he has the best offer on the table.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 19/10/2010 21:09:01    799953

19/10/2010 21:09:01
12Royal

799953 Carr is doing the interview with Gerry Cooney as they will work together if they get the job.But they have to give it to McEeaney now as he has the best offer on the table.

Yeah McEneany & Harnan would be stronger than Carr & Cooney, but its not just that. The other 2 guys (Grimley & McElkennon) are among the best in the bussiness, so Carr & Cooney would need something real special making up their backroom team.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 19/10/2010 21:31:10    799969

so it now looks nalied on that the banty and harnan will get the job, alot of people on here will be happy with that, i just wonder what their expectations will be for this ''dream team'' because after an all ireland semi and leinster title in 2 years, surely it must be an ireland title or final at least and if its not, will they be looking for somebody else to replace them.

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 20/10/2010 12:39:22    800204

i would also like to add that i am far from a fan of o'brien, i am just interested in what expectations will be under new management

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 20/10/2010 13:11:04    800228

to win the leinster .if we did only get 2 the semi finals as long as it wouldt b like the last one against kerry when the game was over after half time . if we lost 2 one off the top teams but put up a good fight i would b happy with that for 2011 .than bring sam home in 2012

1987 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 20/10/2010 16:04:22    800390

I would not beat your house on Mc Eneaney getting the job just yet. I had my doubts about some of his shortcomings at Monaghan but with Harnan on board I think we have a potentialy great management system.
He will insist on a higher level of professionalism and organisation then Meath have seen in the past few years.
Even at the best of times Meath county boards have not been known to flash the cash so where will the money come from to support this new regime.
For this reason my money is on Eamon O Brien being shoe horned back in to his old job by a County Board that likes to get its own way.

Maradonna (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 20/10/2010 16:38:34    800430

The Rock - I can only speak for anyone but myself, but what I would be looking for is an improvement in general performance, nothing more than that.
Winning a Leinster title last year masked over the fact that the performances against Offaly Laois, Louth and Kildare were pretty poor (and that is being generous for the Louth game). The manager (and his supporters) have hidden behind the Leinster title, saying that it shows we are making progress. The truth is however that a lot of Meath fans were really embarassed by the way we won Leinster and don't think that it is anything to boast about. We were outplayed by an half decent Louth side, and outfought and outclassed by a good Kildare team that a few years ago we would be on a level with. Anyone can say what they like about quarter-finals,semi-finals or Leinster finals, but the first thing any manager needs to do is to make us competative with the tops teams. And no matter what anyone says, at this moment in time we are not competative with the top teams.
I certainly don't think McEneany is the saviour of Meath football. I think he is an average enough manager, who did an average enough job with an average enough Monaghan team. I wouldn't care if we didnt win a Leinster in the next couple of years so long as the performances showed that we were improving.
I suspect what will happen is that if McEneany takes over, we probably wont win Leinster in the first couple of years and the Eamon O'Brien supporters will use that as a stick to beat him with saing "think what would have happened if ye had only left Eamon in charge". Which is nonsense. Because as I said, despite the Leinster win, this team got worse this year not better, and there was very little sign of that changing so long as EO'B was in charge.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 20/10/2010 16:53:34    800460

800460 "The Rock - I can only speak for anyone but myself, but what I would be looking for is an improvement in general performance, nothing more than that."

I think that reflects the general sentiment of most supporters who appreciate football. Meath were extremely disorganised under O'Brien, especially at the back. There seemed to be no rhyme or reason to our play, we consistently threw away leads and by the end of his tenure experienced, talented footballers like Harrington and Moyles looked like nervous wrecks.

I rate McEneany as a manager and I'm sure he would relish the Meath post because if he is interested in proving himself as a top football manager he will finally have the players available to do just that. Monaghan are a decent team but the small pick in the county means that a coach, no matter how good he is will never really be able to go toe to toe with the big guns in gaelic football. At Meath, Banty will have a chance to do just that.

The other point that needs to be made, and it already has but here goes again... Grimely is a tactical genius, Kildare were a serious attacking force when the Armagh man was assistant to McGeeney despite not having any marquee names up front, asides from Johnny Doyle of course. It took McGeeney almost a whole season to adequately compensate for Grimely's absence. He used to coach the forwards while McGeeney looked after the defensive side of things.

This Meath team would seriously benefit from some tactical discipline. When you look at Alan Smith's form when Grimely was coaching Kildare it's not difficult to imagine the likes of Shane O'Rourke or Joe Sheridan prospering with Grimely coaching the forwards. If it means playing with a two man full-forward line so be it.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 20/10/2010 17:52:01    800506

im sure the whole of monaghan disagrees with your post ollie but it's the truth at the end of the day. why is he called banty anybody know?

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 20/10/2010 19:48:39    800601

The McEnaney-Harnan ticket now looks the odds on favourite. Throw in Grimley and McElkennon, and we have one hell of a managerial set up.

The camp is split on whether McEnaney was a success with Monaghan. I think he did well, bringing a team who were ranked in the bottom tier of teams into the group of counties just below the top 3, alongside the likes of ourselves, Kildare and a few others. Grimley is well-known around the country for his coaching ability and is credited with a lot of the good work that went on in Kildare with McGeeney. I don't know much about McElkennon but he too has a great reputation especially in Ulster where teams are renowned for their good fitness levels.

The presence of Liam Harnan is what I feel would, or at least should, swing it in McEnaney's favour. He will have the knowledge of the local club scene and seems like the kind of man who would not have any bias towards anyclubs. He also has the experience of winning and therefore is in a good position to pass this winning mentality onto our current group of players.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2003 - 20/10/2010 21:12:03    800677

Still can't see Meath going for an outsider !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 21/10/2010 12:02:05    800893

one hell of a management team, but seriously meath would do just as well with harnan as manager with grimley and mcelkennon. Banty has had little of no success with club teams or Monaghan. His managerial record is shocking in my opinion. He won a junior championship with Monaghan Harps in 03 eg equivilent to Navan o mahoneys. the next year he got them relegated to junior. Next year he got the monaghan job. As a Former Monaghan great said in Castleblayney a few years ago.. isn't banty a great one he got the harps relegated he got corduff relegated now he got the county relegated... He also had a brilliant under 21 team prior to getting the senior team but lost in the first round. Even in the county final programme a certain player had a dig a him about his attitude towards players....

ps Monaghan Players did not back banty to stay on. The reason Banty would not put his name forward to be interviewed for the monaghan job was as follows...
A players meeting was called in Ballybay prior to nominations taking place. out of the 30 players on the monaghan panel of 2010 only 8 players turned up this showed mcenaney he didn't have the support of the players, like he didn't have the support of the clubs of the support of the fans.... Always liked meath but feel sorry for ya's now

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 21/10/2010 12:02:58    800895

shaggylegend

Good post, I would be of the same opinion about Banty and reading what you said about his club record isn't very reassuring either! I think Monaghan could have achieved more without him to be honest so I can't see how he's gonna come in and make a huge difference for us at this stage.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/10/2010 12:43:16    800938