St Ultans v Oldcastle - SFC Relegation Match

Agreed anfearbeag.

Vinnie has been a superb servant to Oldcastle, but I agree that the legs cant keep up at that level.
Theres a few options still their for midfield for next year tho & a handfull of more young lads coming through. One of the subs who came on & scored tonight is minor next year I think. So with a bit of adjusting theres lads there who can play at midfield & be strong their too.

I thought at the start of the year that we wouls have needed a midfielder, full back, half back & cuple of forwards.
We've gotten a few of those players & some of the ones who I thought wouldnt cut it really stood up to the mark & established themselves. The midfielder is the only thing that doesnt seem to have been properly developed yet, but theres all winter & next spring to build on that.

There seemed to be a bit of naievety about the team in a cuple of games when it came to close games out & finishing teams off. For example against Summerhill, outplayed them ofr 90% of the game, but sat back to early & invited them to attack & then allowed a player to run 60 yards to shoot for goal in the 3rd minute of injury time. He should have been stopped at midfield. But thats part of the learning curve I guess & the lads will have learned their lesson in a harsh way from that.

This year was all about finding our feet & creating a new base to build from. Next year will be about building on this years experience & integrating 2 or 3 new players to the team & moving forward which I hope can be done.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 04/09/2010 21:02:35    765290

JINXIE, is it not enough that oldcastle made a show of themselves on the field all year without you doing it all over this website day in day out, you really arent doing your club any favours with the thrash you post and the attitude you put across. Even your own players are sick of you. I think youd be better off turning off the pc for a while and giving it a rest. Maybe bring the dog for a walk or take up knitting instead, something more constructive to do with the considerable time you have on your hands. Perhaps join the ica

pim (Meath) - Posts: 119 - 05/09/2010 11:25:32    765401

An fear beag and Jinxie the same poster perhaps? Posts seem to come in from these two closely together and are from the same hymn sheet?

bennyblanco (Meath) - Posts: 579 - 05/09/2010 11:56:55    765419

Pim

I've already started the auld knitting, & quite a dab hand I am too. Would ya like a wee tea cosy or jumper done for ya?

Can ya tell me tho, how did Oldcastle make a show of themselves this year? Of all the games that you attended, which did they make the biggest show of themselves?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 05/09/2010 11:59:49    765420

bennyblanco

An fear beag and Jinxie the same poster perhaps? Posts seem to come in from these two closely together and are from the same hymn sheet?

I think you'll find that myself & anfearbeag have had plenty of disagreements on here aswell, so we are hardly the same person.

If your gonna start pairing up all the posters who agree on a particular topic, then you gonna be fairly busy.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 05/09/2010 12:03:54    765423

bennyblanco

great spot, i was begining to think that myself, bit sad really jinxie but sure whatever gives you a thrill. plus you were getting a bit carried away about oldcastles victory, fair play to them but they were still the second worst team in the championship, so my predictios were not too far off, also 2 teams should have went down this year so you were lucky the county board messed up at the start of the year or they would have went down.

hillman2 (Meath) - Posts: 102 - 05/09/2010 14:39:54    765504

Hillman2

Simonstown struggled to beat Ultans
Oldcastle beat them by 10 points.
So on scoring difference that would put simonstown & ultans as the 2 weaker teams.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 05/09/2010 14:52:48    765510

jinxie you know as well as i do that that doesnt count for much

hillman2 (Meath) - Posts: 102 - 05/09/2010 15:01:05    765520

Hillman2

Exactly. Just like your assessment. It means very little.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 05/09/2010 15:07:06    765528

Wait now one minute. I have been called many things in my time and have turned the other cheek. But to call me an Oldcastle man? - how dare you. I am not going to stand for it. And I am not going to take it lying down either. Which doesn't leave me with a lot of options. Surely I am entitled to sue for slander - I mean of all things, to accuse a lad in the wrong of being from Oldcastle - that sort of accusation could seriously damage a mans reputation around my neck of the woods.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 05/09/2010 15:18:50    765553

An fear beag & jinxie again online inside a 15 minute timespan and having read an fear beags last rant am now thoroughly convinced they are the same man! come on ye have been outed! on the subject of the sfc relegation, in my opinion there's slim all between about 10 - 12 teams in the sfc. I've been along to a few games this year in sfc, ifc, jfc and junior and the Standard of club football in the county is at an all time low but then gone are the days when football was the be all and end all in all county parishes. My own club will struggle in the next few years to field a team in the JFC and our neighbouring club did so this year. back to the SFC relegation good to hear oldcastle stayed up and great to see two more north meath teams are in the IFC decider as the SFC needs more north meath die hards to toughen it up.

bennyblanco (Meath) - Posts: 579 - 05/09/2010 18:05:07    765744

Jaysus benny your still barking up that tree.
Well if you'd like, I'm sure admin can post my ip address & anfearbeags ip address.
It used to be done in the past so there's no reason why they can display them for you to see that you are quite a bit off the Mark.

But if your happy to believe your theory then work away. More power to ya.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 05/09/2010 18:31:00    765787

Benny- I think the only thing myself + Jinxie have in common is that neither of us has a life and we are indeed sad enough to spend all day on the internet. But I suppose there is no talking to some people. We/I Jinxie/anfearbeag are going to look very odd when we find a topic we disagree on and spend a day debating different sides of an arguement (as has happened numerous times). I had always hoped that if I was going to have a split personality, at least one of them would be normal. Unfortunately it appears that the other side of my split personality is a North Meath man. Although thankfully not Northmeathman. That would be too much to bear.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 05/09/2010 18:34:02    765791