Well will the Ultans live to fight another day or will Oldcastle send them packing down to Intermediate? Any thoughts on this?
Boherman (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 03/09/2010 13:22:18
Its a dogfight i reckon it could go either way gonna be very scrappy
john1980 (Meath) - Posts: 262 - 03/09/2010 13:31:08
Gonna be a very tight one. Neither done a lot to suggest the deserve another stint at senior so far this year. Having said that, alot of the "bigger" clubs didn't do much in this years championship either.
Heard Ultans have gotten a few lads back from travelling that they hadn't got during the group stages, that true boherman? I'd imagine Ultans game against Simonstown will stand to them & they'll be encouraged by their strong finish.
I reckon there'll only be a cuple of points either way, but I'll go for Oldcastle to nick it. (surprise surprise)
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 03/09/2010 13:31:28
Haven't seen Oldcastle this year but I did see st.ultan's and they were terrible that day.
Unless they've got a few lads back from injury and abroad since then I can't see them winning this one.
It's a pity 2 don't get relegated so senoir can go back 16 teams.
Fabio Capello (Meath) - Posts: 174 - 03/09/2010 14:20:47
Fabio
I agree that it should go back to 16. The only thing is that whatever year it's decided that 2 go down, the clubs who go down are effectively paying the price for the cock up last year.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 03/09/2010 15:02:10
There is something wrong here. A thread about Oldcastle has been up for over 2 hours and neither Premiumlevel nor Hillman has been on yet to slag them off. Jinxie - will you go and check on those 2 lads and make sure they are OK. I'm worried about them by now- they might be hurt.
anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 03/09/2010 15:51:18
Ha ha anfearbeag.
I'm getting a bit worried myself. Any threads set up about oldcastle are normally set up by them. They are beginning to slip
They're waiting in their buddies johnhanlon & sammaguire99 to log on & back them up.
Or maybe there something on in pats today & they just ain't finished school yet.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 03/09/2010 16:49:40
Well they're gonna have to sort something out to get it back to 16.
Next year the bottom 2 in senior and the top 2 in Intermediate should go into a round robbin with team who finishes top after 3 rounds going up or staying senior and the other 3 teams are intermediate.
Fabio Capello (Meath) - Posts: 174 - 03/09/2010 18:04:52
Oldcastle are a decent side and if they survive the maiden year, they will thrive next year. Good side. St Ultans are awful but they are suffering with emigration and injury and old age of some of their better players. Oldcastle to win i fear
James T (Meath) - Posts: 611 - 03/09/2010 18:05:22
Ye SFC has to go back to 16 teams asp. I seen both teams this year. Both looked like intermidiate teams. Maybe St Ultans have lost lads to immigration but what club hasnt. They were way off the pace against BHG. Oldcastles weakness has been letting in to many goals. They were going grand until they let Summerhill through at the end. Im going to go for Ultans to win by a point or two
Saintfootball (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 03/09/2010 18:21:34
anfearbeag
no need to worry im still knocking around, i didnt post anything because i already gave my opinion on it a few days ago on another topic, good to see im being missed though. also jinxie my school days are long gone but anyway i dont think anyone from my neck of the woods ever went to pats, you could do with going back yourself and working a bit harder at geography.
hillman2 (Meath) - Posts: 102 - 03/09/2010 19:40:58
Jinxie your obsessed with myself and a few others posts. Could you not give it a rest. Now that you have realised your club hasnt done enough to stay senior just keep quiet and eat your humble pie.
premiumlevel (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 04/09/2010 08:56:39
premiumlevel County: Meath Posts: 51
764819 Jinxie your obsessed with myself and a few others posts. Could you not give it a rest. Now that you have realised your club hasnt done enough to stay senior just keep quiet and eat your humble pie.
I think you'll find that it was another poster who commented on your unexpected feat of stay quiet for such a long period. Well done to you for that by the way.
As for humble pie, please feel free to copy & paste any of my post relating to Oldcastle where I've overhyped them or built them up? Considering you have set up more threads about Oldcastle that I, that shows who really has the obsession.
As usual you will come back empty handed with another rant, but ur welcome to try anyways.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 04/09/2010 11:01:05
Look lads the fact is Oldcastle will be relagated. Jinxie at the start of the year you said they wouldnt be relagated. Its to long ago for me to bother looking for the post. You were wrong when half the county could see oldcastle should have been left intermidiate and the SFC left wsith sixteen teams.
johnhanlon (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 04/09/2010 12:56:22
johnhanlon County: Meath Posts: 39
764912 Look lads the fact is Oldcastle will be relagated. Jinxie at the start of the year you said they wouldnt be relagated. Its to long ago for me to bother looking for the post. You were wrong when half the county could see oldcastle should have been left intermidiate and the SFC left wsith sixteen teams.
I did say that I felt Oldcastle would do enough to stay up. Yes. But so far they haven't been relegated.
So what exactly is the point your trying, & failing to make?
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 04/09/2010 13:44:57
Oldcastle 2-13 St Ultans 2-03
Hard Luck Boherman. Who was the no4 for Ultans, had a great game. Pity he was surrounded by 14 lads who never really showed much fight. Oldcasatle dominated the game & won over 90% of the midfield battles which helps any team. I suppose conditions didnt really help but it was as bad for both with alot of slipping & sliding & poor hangling.
Premiumlevel, hillman2, sammaguire99, johnhanlon & keegan03
A special thank you to you kids, yer words of encouragment were so helpfull to the team & also provided a nice laugh for them. Thanks for your support. But seriously lads, I hope he dont go into gambling as a profession. Those predictions of yers were just shocking. Anyways, I'll go now & hand ye back that humble pie......
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 04/09/2010 19:00:34
premiumlevel County: Meath Posts: 51
741229 I have been proved right. I called it in January. Struggling for survival.Some were certain they wouldnt be in a relegation dog fight.
09/08/2010 21:58:04 sammaguire99 County: Meath Posts: 31
741458 Wel said premiumlevel
10/08/2010 19:39:00 premiumlevel County: Meath Posts: 51
The groups were not named when i called it in JANUARY. My prediction was that whatever way the draw was made Oldcastle would be in a relagation dog fight. Typical of Jinxie. When your proved wrong you just call me a WUM. Oldcastle were never going to compete with the big clubs. I expect them to be in division two of the leauge next year again. 14/08/2010 17:49:15 johnhanlon County: Meath Posts: 39
746144 Oldcastle are dead certain to be relagated. You heard it hear first 24/08/2010 19:28:29 sammaguire99 County: Meath Posts: 31
755407 Lads there is no such thing as a favourable draw in senior club football. Without tryng to sound like a WUM i am just trying to state a fact that Oldcaste are one of the poorest teams to win an intermidiate championship. They were appaling in a group in which not one team has made the semis from. Im predicting them to go straight back down to intermidiate. They will be stuck there for a few years to. Sorry Jinxie if i hit a sore spot but the truth is tough.
24/08/2010 21:45:44 hillman2 County: Meath Posts: 70
755550 i have to say i agree with premium level, i think simonstown will survive and i think ultans have a big game left in them to do enough to stay up, i predicted oldcastle to go down in january myself and im going to stick with that prediction, just seem to lack that bit of experience to win a tight game, its harsh but sport is harsh and somebody has to go down, infact two teams should go down so it could go back to last years system as the group of 5 are at a serious disadvantage but once again the county board pull out of making a big decision
04/09/2010 08:56:39 premiumlevel County: Meath Posts: 51
764819 Jinxie your obsessed with myself and a few others posts. Could you not give it a rest. Now that you have realised your club hasnt done enough to stay senior just keep quiet and eat your humble pie.
04/09/2010 12:56:22 johnhanlon County: Meath Posts: 39
764912 Look lads the fact is Oldcastle will be relagated. Jinxie at the start of the year you said they wouldnt be relagated. Its to long ago for me to bother looking for the post. You were wrong when half the county could see oldcastle should have been left intermidiate and the SFC left wsith sixteen teams.
I have to say, the Oldcastle boys had a right laugh at you lot! They were some predictions. Especially considering ye stated it was FACt & that ye were so certain.
Like it or not lads, Oldcastle are SENIOR for 2011 & probably long after it too.
Oh & lads, please try & be original from now on, predicting Oldcastle for relegation has been done before, & as ye lot well know, it didnt happen.
Anyways, thanks again for the laughs lads. Keep up the good work...
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 04/09/2010 19:13:07
Well done Oldcastle. Hopefully the year in senior will stand to them and they will progress from here. They have some nice young footballers who should improve for the experience. I saw them a couple of times this year and they were certainly not outclassed. They were also not among the three worst senior teams I saw this year so I would be confident thay can avoid relegation next year as well. As we saw this year with Rathkenny and Walterstown, being in a relegation fight one year does not mean that the same will happen the following year. Hard Luck to St Ultans. It is very difficult for a small rural club to keep it going year in year out. Losing even 2 or 3 players can have a massive impact and that seems to be the case here. Hopefully they can regroup at Intermediate and come back stronger because unfortunately they were a bit out of their depth at senior this year.
By the way Jinxie, keep the head up and try not to gloat too much, no matter how tempting it is. It is really not worth getting into an arguement with these WUMs - even if you win the arguement, you still end up looking bad.
anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 04/09/2010 20:02:37
Anfearbeag
I know, I was just replying to the wums. Far from gloating to anyone else. I don't think that any team who's won a relegation match is in any position to do such a thing. My post was directed entirely towards those kids.
Anyways, as you said, the year under their belts should stand to them greatly & next year they will be that wiser & hopefully learn to close out games a little better.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 04/09/2010 20:12:19
Jinxie - I thought at the start of the year that they might need to find another midfielder and I still reckon that is the case, no matter how well they did today. You can't expect Vinnie Reynolds to carry on forever and with another year gone, I'm not sure how the legs will manage next year. Anyone coming up through the ranks who can play midfield to senior standard? Maybe you could poach a midfielder from some of the Cavan clubs, or even share him like in days gone by.
anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 04/09/2010 20:39:29