Championship semi finals !!

ballivor 1 9 moy 0 9 !!! who was number 4 for ballivor?? destroyed justin r

theroyal1 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 04/09/2010 18:46:17    765176

Ballinabackey won by a point in the other junior semi final

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 04/09/2010 19:19:29    765202

Carnaross into the inter final against nobber.

Fair year for da Ross!

Seen them a good few times & they put in some decent showings. Good tight defence too.

Could be a right good inter final.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 04/09/2010 19:54:37    765226

01/06/2010 14:19:14
johnnytitelips

Carnaross for the Intermediate. Longwood beware....

Not a bad auld call.....On the Ross!!!

johnnytitelips (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 04/09/2010 21:22:57    765304

04/09/2010 21:22:57
johnnytitelips

765304 01/06/2010 14:19:14
johnnytitelips

Carnaross for the Intermediate. Longwood beware....

Not a bad auld call.....On the Ross!!!

That was a fair call alrite johnny.

They'll be up against it in the final but fair play to them all the same.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 04/09/2010 21:28:15    765311

Carnaross were on-rail!

eldude90 (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 04/09/2010 21:34:20    765317

well i hope the final is better then the 2 semi's last night, both games were pure muck in my opinion, and could only enhance some people's opinions on here about the standard of club football in the county, on last nights evidence if carnaross stop the ball into brian farrell they should win, because if he doesnt score nobber dont seem to have anybody else that can.

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 05/09/2010 08:39:30    765344

Carnaross for the Inter! Who would ave thaught that at the start of the season
Anyone know when final is fixed for?

Lebowski (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 05/09/2010 10:15:47    765365

@theroyal1

don't know what game you were at. Justin O'Reilly certainly didn't get destroyed. It wasn't one of his better games. Any half decent ball (which was few and fair between) that went into him he won.

mrazteca (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 05/09/2010 11:10:49    765390

While I would be the first to congratulate Carnaross and Nobber on reaching the final, I am afraid I would have to agree with TheRock about the standard of football - it is not great. Last year, looking at the knockout stages of the intermediate I thought Oldcastle were a class above the rest who I thought were very average. This year there is no stand out team - they are all of a similar standard- average enough. Good luck to both teams in the final - winning an intermediate title would be a massive boost for both clubs. However I think that whoever wins it is going to struggle big time in senior next year.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 05/09/2010 11:20:09    765399

Congratualutions to our neighbours in Nobber. Was half tempted to ask for my money back on the way out, for championship semi finals, the displays were terrible. is an Fear beag Jinxie in disguise?

bennyblanco (Meath) - Posts: 579 - 05/09/2010 11:56:01    765418

have to agree the football was poor, but the admission fee was worth it firstly to see Brian Farrell giving an exhibition in forward play with 2 fellows markin him throughout, he still kicked about 10 points. Again I repeat the question, is our county team that good that we dont need him? I cetainly dont think so. Also I enjoyed watching Ollie Murphy pull the strings for Carnaross, what a player.

upmeath (Meath) - Posts: 92 - 05/09/2010 14:27:19    765499

ye in faireness farrell was incredible yesterday think he would be good enough for the county now and should be giving another chance

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 05/09/2010 14:41:12    765506

Re Brian Farrell

I said it during the summer that he definatly had plenty to offer the county but some people were way too quick to knock him & stick the boot in.
One of the most natural forwards in the county.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 05/09/2010 14:55:42    765515

in fairness jinkie i remember that after the laois first game i was first to criticise him but he was awesome yesterday

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 05/09/2010 14:59:05    765516

Sam1996

I think people got carried away after the Laois game.
People were very frustrated after that game & Farrell was probably an easy target after the free he missed & a cuple of handling errors.
But I think that he got a bit of a raw deal, 10 minutes isn't much time to get up to speed with a game & in terrible conditions too.

The thing that gets people on his back is probably the fact that we all know what he's capable of & how good he can be, but when he doesn't deliver somedays people go a little ott on him.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 05/09/2010 15:13:26    765540

If I recall rightly. I stated on a previous thread that I thought Brian Farrell had slipped below the standard required for an inter-county forward. A good performance in a poor intermediate match won't change my mind on that. However I am all for giving him every opportunity again at intercounty level - a good run in the league is what is required to allow him to show that he still has it. Given the amount of chances Cian Ward has had I think Farrell deserves a go.

Bennyblanco - you have me all confused now. I knew who I was this morning. Now I don't know if I am myself or if I am just a by-product of Jinxies schizophrenia. I think I need to go and lie down until the confusion passes.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 05/09/2010 15:26:13    765565

lads, is johnl mcgee not every bit as good as brian farrell?

frankthetank (Meath) - Posts: 134 - 05/09/2010 16:52:28    765618

frankthetank

lads, is johnl mcgee not every bit as good as brian farrell?

Your dead right. He's not.
Brian Farrell is a class above John L.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 05/09/2010 17:10:00    765629

Farrell was on fire and should be our number 1 forward on the county team! He was awesome and without him Nobber would be a middling junior side.

bennyblanco (Meath) - Posts: 579 - 05/09/2010 18:08:16    765752