No smoke without fire. Golden rule in management is that when you loose the dressing room you either get rid of the players that are not happy or walk away yourself. I think its time for Eamonn to walk. Cant see it happening though. sammaguire99 (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 24/08/2010 18:36:19 755351 Link 0 |
Obviously something wrong with the current management with two trainers gone in 2 years. Current set up seems to b unable to see whats going on when team are playing we were lucky against dublin they dont seem to know what is the best team or what tactics to use from the games i was at this year the one thing that struck me more than anything was the complete lack of movement from our forwards when they get the ball they are very good but it has to be laid on a plate for them how many times this year have we seen meath passing the ball sideways around the middle third because nobody is moving inside all you have to do is look at bernard brogan he always makes runs and works hard for ball he prob shouldnt win. I personally think we have the nucleus of a good team but we need to go back to the attitude of succesful meath teams under boylan when they got a lead they were ruthless and wouldnt let the other team back in to it also even if they were 3,4or 5 points down you would be confident of them winning its not the same with current team i know it might seem a bit harsh but strong meath teams were always built around a core of men who were involved in manual trades big physically strong men who didnt need a gym to make them strong . For meath to suceed we need to be fitter stronger more ruthless and be willing to die for the jersey too many players just seem to be content to go through the motions and not play with the pride that justifies the jersey and the right management should be able to instill this i believe we have to take a leaf out of likes of kildare down and dublins book and get a manager of a younger age with a insight into how the players think . Fair play to eamonn he has done well but its time for a fresh approach to bring us up to the next level royalrover (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 24/08/2010 19:09:36 755388 Link 0 |
Someone should call Gerry McEntee, you would be afraid to go into the dressing room if you played badly for him. atta (Meath) - Posts: 714 - 24/08/2010 21:59:09 755575 Link 0 |
Gerry McEntee is a great shout. What did he say in the interview after the 1988 Leinster final? That year I recall Brian Stafford being injured on the eve of the match with P.J Gillic taking the frees. Mattie McCabe scored 2 goals in the game. Declan Bolger was in midfield for the Dubs and was being primed as being the next Brian Mullins. I think McEntee and Hayes were out for him that day to make sure that didnt happen. jacky-jack (Meath) - Posts: 290 - 25/08/2010 10:09:00 755635 Link 0 |
Ger Canning was interviewing McEntee after the leinster final in 88 atta (Meath) - Posts: 714 - 25/08/2010 21:19:02 756506 Link 0 |
The current management team have displayed that they are not up to it.Yes they will point to an All Ireland Semi Final last year,and a Leinster title this year,but my abiding memories of this management team is their lack of descision making.It goes back to their very first championship game.They went out in the Leinster championship against Dublin with a damage limitation plan,not a plan to win the game,leaving a player like Joe Sheridan on the bench till the game was over.Sheridan was like a starving dog on a chain that day and when he was unleashed we nearly won a game we were never a factor in.What did they learn from last year,they needed at least 2 if 3 more defenders,and what do they do,let the likes of McGill leave the panel citing a lack of opportunities.All through this years league it was the same,no changes made until late in the games(injuries accepted)while denying game time to players who needed it to prove something.You reap in July what you sow in January and that came to haunt us against Kildare.At least Ostriches make the descision to bury their heads in the sand! The Brickie (None) - Posts: 208 - 26/08/2010 11:35:26 756726 Link 0 |
Do you know what, if you are all so intent on seeing that EOB is removed, then do the one thing that will actually count. Instead of posting, canvas your club county reps to ensure they go to Co Board meeting on 6th with a mandate from your club not to accept the re-appointment of EOB and to open it up to a proper clear and transparent selection process…a process in which Barnie Allen has no input in. CommitteeeeMan (Meath) - Posts: 153 - 26/08/2010 12:13:21 756772 Link 0 |
I think Eamonn O brien has doen a decent job all told. The players should not really have any influence over whom is in charge. Its not their jopb to worry about that stuff just to worry about things within their control like their performance and training. I think they should get Colm Coyle in as the trainer maybe. What about Brian Stafford or Damian Sheridan. James T (Meath) - Posts: 611 - 26/08/2010 13:58:45 756884 Link 0 |
I dont think Peader Byrne will throw in the towel just yet.It was a disgrace how he was treated this year.He for one who always puts his body on the line and he has alot of pace and he runs himself into the ground everytime he puts on the jersey and we could have done with him ripping into the Kildare lads at the breaking ball instead of sitting on the bench. 12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 26/08/2010 14:11:23 756913 Link 0 |
12Royal Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 26/08/2010 16:07:06 757032 Link 0 |
Re: jinxie upmeath (Meath) - Posts: 92 - 26/08/2010 16:51:15 757090 Link 0 |
How was it a disgrace? db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 26/08/2010 17:35:51 757169 Link 0 |
db9 Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 483 - 26/08/2010 17:45:37 757183 Link 0 |
CommitteeeeMan Fabio Capello (Meath) - Posts: 174 - 31/08/2010 10:49:26 761007 Link 0 |