I suppose it is all over now. The whole thing is very sad. There are no winners here. Nobody has covered themselves in glory. As far as I can see the only people to come out of this sorry mess with any kind of credibility are the fans of both counties that didnt get caught up in the hysteria. I have spent the last nine years travelling the length and breadth of Ireland wondering are the fortunes of my county ever going to turn again and I have had some sore disappointments in this time. I cant take any great joy out of Sundays win. Meath were terrible and deserved to be beaten. Any further wins in this championship are now tainted no matter how great the performance. Maradonna (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 14/07/2010 11:24:58 708257 Link 0 |
No replay wanted or needed. We just want the win noted and the Cup across the border. GAA coped out on the biggest ref mistake in recent history. It is not up to Meath CB or the team to decide this..terrible putting you in that position. I'm afraid its a more legal route dealing with the Leinster Council head on. This won't die down. The blood is up and we're right for once. You would be sick if you were in our position and be sure you would be out on the field too. ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 754 - 14/07/2010 12:15:32 708363 Link 0 |
I honestly think that meath should of put the whole thing back on Croke Park and let them make the decision... they should of said that if Croke Park direct them whatever decision Croke Park makes meath will honour it.. I feel meath were put in a very awkward position by everyone and no matter what there decision was people wouldnt of been happy and to redirect the whole fiasco back to Croke park would of maybe made Croke Park think about what happened.... LouthGAA (Louth) - Posts: 18 - 14/07/2010 12:15:49 708365 Link 0 |
here here louthgaa. the fiasco is over please god. personalyy i would be not surprised to see louth in a semi never mind the quarters. Heres one hoping meath can get on with things and improve and also to see louth supporters get a few results to enjoy 10theyear (Meath) - Posts: 58 - 14/07/2010 12:43:10 708433 Link 0 |
There are gonna be a lot of repercussions from this decision by the Meath County Board - Col (Dublin) - Posts: 7 - 14/07/2010 13:35:16 708557 Link 0 |
Well we had the chance , we turned it down . Appleman (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 14/07/2010 13:42:39 708582 Link 0 |
At the end of the day what this highlights is that, as a country, we don't have a problem with cheating so long as we're not caught. So it was all pious rubbish we spouted after the T Henry goal when we called on the French Socccer authorities to replay the game. WhatADay (USA) - Posts: 4 - 14/07/2010 14:03:40 708657 Link 0 |
THIS GAME SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPLAYED. WHAT GOOD IS A LEINSTER MEDAL TO A PLAYER WITH SUCH A STIGMA ATTACHED TO IT. MEATH SHOULD HAVE OFFERED A REPLAY BUT THEN AGAIN THEY ARE ALSO VICTIMS OF GAA INCOMPETENCE. ruff1106 (Kildare) - Posts: 175 - 14/07/2010 14:41:27 708773 Link 0 |
Weds 14th July - No replay being given!!! Louth county board as far as i can see have STILL not issued a statement apologising for the childish and disgraceful carry on their fans and some players. royalz88 (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 14/07/2010 15:06:13 708846 Link 0 |
Very true Royalz88. Very sad. By the way did anyone hear who won the World Cup, or is it over yet? Alias (Tipperary) - Posts: 463 - 14/07/2010 15:38:46 708942 Link 0 |
lads time to give up trying to justify what happened by commenting about every thing else in the game. if nothing had happened in the game france( sorry meath) fans and the county board would still have hidden behind the refs report and not wanted to offer reply. what happened happened but yous are still making idiots of yourselfs with excuses on wedensday. louth moved on sunday night and are preparing for the next round.. as i said what happened happened move on and stop making your county look any worse than the country already thinks of you. your doing yourselfs no favours. best of luck in later rounds ..you will need you have gave tons of ammunition for other fans to throw at you. drogheda20 (Louth) - Posts: 405 - 14/07/2010 15:39:08 708943 Link 0 |
Royalz88, I agree that there should be no replay. It just isnt feasible, unless we are going to replay all games that are decided by controversial decisions. yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 14/07/2010 15:51:24 708987 Link 0 |
Yellabelly, I am not trying to defend the so-called "fans" that day in Carlow that was a terrible thing for them to do, especially as it was Meath who threw that game away but the Meath players were spat at by the Louth players during and after the game on Sunday. I have contacts on that team and they said they never experienced anything like it before! Also Louth fans in Ardee vandalised every MH car parked on the street - and they probably belonged mostly to Louth supporters! There was damage done everywhere, you wouldn't see it on the Falls Road!!! It wouldn't be expected from the Dubs (and we know what they're like) at least they would accept it and you would hear nothing more of it the next day! I would have been all up for a replay but they don't deserve it! Jumunji (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 14/07/2010 16:22:20 709048 Link 0 |
I'm sorry Drogheda20 but you're typing somethings that aren't true. Tobealily (Kildare) - Posts: 125 - 14/07/2010 16:29:24 709062 Link 0 |
meath should be ashamed with their decison ye are never gona live it down ye are now known as cowards across the country if a replay isnt given jack94 (Westmeath) - Posts: 8 - 14/07/2010 16:52:00 709125 Link 0 |
As i said before, cowards and cheats, they cheated in the game but it was only one player and the rest were given a chance to put it right but voted against it making them all cheats. Trying to make up reasons why they wouldn't replay is a little embarrasing really. Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 14/07/2010 17:04:42 709153 Link 0 |
The thing about it is I don't honestly think the team and supporters will care no matter how much it's thrown at them because it was their decision and we will all stand by them. I honestly doubt they care whether other counties supporters like them or agree with them or not. itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 14/07/2010 17:11:35 709170 Link 0 |
totally agree with the westmeath lad! Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/07/2010 17:14:01 709178 Link 0 |
i think the meath players were totally right not to offer a replay why should we??? it wasnt our decision to make but yet we were still made to and now we have the whole country on our backs calling us cheats and the france ofg the gaa world loada bull if you ask me!!! m11 (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 14/07/2010 17:21:09 709198 Link 0 |
In 2004 when Westmeath beat offaly there was a point that never was,and westmeath won this game no replay given there Jack94 really should know your history before you start going on about Meath... Louthgael get over it should never been down to Meath in the first place even when one of your top players says the dont want a replay http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=132080. yeah its a shame the way it ended but thats sport and it says in the ref report it would have been a penalty if he hadnt given the goal! jokerofthelane (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 14/07/2010 17:25:07 709206 Link 0 |