Con Cavan, your comments are ridicilous to say the least. How is this victory tainted. Meath played to the rules aplied by the referee, end of. Character is what Meath showed on Sunday. It is a pity your fellow Cavan men didn't do the same against Cork on Saturday. They were destroyed. No lick your wounds in your own county section. MinorStar (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 12/07/2010 17:09:35 705747 Link 0 |
facts... not hysteria as created by pat spillane declaring as a louth supporter he was demanding a replay. look very closely at the replay and also the still photos from to-days star newspaper it clear to see the louth number ten ankle taps joe sheridan and the louth number three is clearly pulling joe to the ground follow on the pics and you will see the louth number eight finishes joe to the net.The referee was about to blow for a penalty but instead gave the advantage and that is the referees privelige.The first pitch invasion is by none other than the louth manager where he is interogating the referee that then started the invasion by the louth louts.No replay Meath are worthy Leinster champions. trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 12/07/2010 17:49:45 705868 Link 0 |
I agree there should not be a replay but give us back our cup and title georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 12/07/2010 18:14:48 705903 Link 0 |
biased nonensense from meath forum, i don't want a replay, let the result stand, joe will be forever know as Thierry An Mhi, fully deserved after his interview after the match. can't wait to see meath fall in next round they will find it hard to play knowing they shouldn't be there. fkapp (Louth) - Posts: 86 - 12/07/2010 18:24:53 705920 Link 0 |
Yes Sherdian showed his true sportmanship in that interview. Yez should be very proud of him for his honesty. georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 12/07/2010 18:31:17 705932 Link 0 |
offer a replay??? are you crazy??? louth should be kicked out of the championship after their antics after the final whistle... what other counties supporters would behave like that??? running out onto the pitch on live tv to hit the ref with a watery shoulder and run away again like a coward, some low life assaulting sean boylan in the stands, fathers with their children throwing bottles onto the pitch with no regard for who it hits, need i continue???? i seem to recall the dundalk united fan who went into the fai headquarters and soaked himself in petrol, what is it with these people bhubble (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 12/07/2010 18:42:53 705950 Link 0 |
wonder what did sean boyle say to deserve the alleged hit he got, if it ever happened fkapp (Louth) - Posts: 86 - 12/07/2010 19:23:30 706035 Link 0 |
I have being listening all day about yesterday and the goal. Is the big talking point not what happened after the final whistle not a few seconds before. Although hard on Louth decisions balance throughout the course of the game. pa1 (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 12/07/2010 19:31:16 706049 Link 0 |
How would there be a replay, we won the game, anybody who claims there should be a replay obvious thinks it wasn't a goal and if it wasn't a goal then Louth won. Everybody in the country now including the referee accept it wasn't a goal so in reality everybody even the Meath fans know Louth are the leinster champions, the cup may be in Navan but the country knows where it belongs. Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 12/07/2010 19:39:29 706060 Link 0 |
i said before sod the reply. enjoy the win meath fans if thats how you want to get over the line so be it. it will always be known for what it was..and will always be tainted with cheating.. it will just be hatred and ridicule which will follow you for accepting that you are champions and a good laugh when you fall. the funniest part in all this is to listen to how good you still think you are. honestly that fall wont be to far around the corner drogheda20 (Louth) - Posts: 405 - 12/07/2010 19:43:10 706066 Link 0 |
i do hope nobody hit sean boyle just wondering if it happened or is this a myth, find it hard to believe he was attacked fkapp (Louth) - Posts: 86 - 12/07/2010 19:43:31 706067 Link 0 |
If the "goal" happened in first half would ther be any talk of a replay.I doubt it .Ref gave 2 to 3 atrocious decisions that led to Louth scores thats football stop all the crying and get over it don't be like the soccer fans moaning at the French embassy rubbish take it on the chin and have respect. d4danger (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 12/07/2010 19:45:42 706073 Link 0 |
Take it on the chin!! Cheating rewarded!! Surely these injustices have to be stopped!! 4 minutes 30 seconds into injury time, a try is scored and ye say to Louth fans take it on the chin. GAA should order a replay or we become like the rest of international sport, tainted, boring and without honour. PC27 (Dublin) - Posts: 78 - 12/07/2010 20:02:51 706104 Link 0 |
Whatever about a square ball. These pictures show that Joe was possibly tripped and he fell (or dived slightly) forward, goalie tried to block his path and it looks like Lennon may have even caught him in the head/face with his boot afterwards. Yes he carried the ball (or his momentum did) over the line first and only threw it at this stage, but events leading up to that would back up his feeling that he was due a penalty GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 12/07/2010 20:05:03 706108 Link 0 |
Meath football supporters are known for being arrogant, maybe rightly so with the success they've had. How any Meath player or fan can feel happy with winning the way they did is unreal. It was the worst decision ever made by a referee in a gaa match and it cost a team like Louth thier first piece of silverware for 50 years. If Meath don't grant a replay which they are entitled to do, can all Meath fans say they won fair and square. I know people will say thats sport, but its not. Meath fans have being saying look at Ireland in the World Cup, if henry hadn't of handballed it we weren't at the world cup we would have had a penalty shoot out. The england players and ireland had the comfort of knowing they were still getting paid 50 grand a week after their injustcie. The louth players are back to work today knowing they were robbed and Meath have the oppurtunity to do something sporting and grant a replay. No Meath player will look back in years to come and count that victory. moroman81 (Monaghan) - Posts: 2 - 12/07/2010 20:12:30 706122 Link 0 |
moroman81 Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 12/07/2010 20:25:55 706140 Link 0 |
and black is white GlasagusOr! 1988 (Galway) - Posts: 354 - 12/07/2010 20:35:19 706161 Link 0 |
Sorry meant to say Keenan (#8) not Lennon. GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 12/07/2010 20:39:28 706172 Link 0 |
these posts are all a load of nonsense - calling Joe Sheridan a cheat and Theiry Henry..... Joe visibly made the effort to kick the ball. ( a hoops woman defending a seneschalstown man - never thought i'd see the day!) anyway the officials made the decision and the leinster council are standing by this decision. us supporters abusing eachother and our county teams is disgraceful. We should all remember that both panels,managers, back room staff etc work their socks off at training, during games and spend their time away from their families for the love of the game and we should show them some respect. navanshoegal (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 12/07/2010 20:44:13 706179 Link 0 |
I have attended many matches in my life and never have I heard such booing as I did yesterday during the match from the Louth supporters. It appered as if this was pre arranged by them. Everytime Cian Ward was taking his free kicks he was booed. This was disgraceful carry on by them and that along with their carry on after the final whistle leaves a lot to be desired. If the referee's decision is to be questioned then all his dicisions during the game would have to be examined and I do not think An Lú would be too happy about that, as most of the decisions favoured them. Some of the Louth players lacked any real sportmanship, so they and their supporters have a lot to learn when they are on the BIG STAGE. nighabhanna (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 12/07/2010 21:12:07 706229 Link 0 |