Meath should offer a replay

i would say the great sean boylan meath teams of the past would offer a replay

spy_in_the_sky (Antrim) - Posts: 273 - 12/07/2010 15:41:49    705465

fair enough it was an illegal goal but is up to the officals to make the call and i dont think it will be forever rememberd as meath cheating or that they didnt desere the leinster title, meath were the best team in leinster this year, i doubt louth could have beaten dublin and maybe not laois and i am delighted to see them win it. i think meath could be serious contenders for the all ireland with there unbelievable forwards they have everything all the desireable attributes in gealic football.

also disapointed for louth but they wil stil feel that there unbeaten this year and if there determined enough there hurt will spur them on even more in there next game. In general i think the standard in leinster hurling and football is improoving, with meath dublin louth kildare wexford all going well then laois offaly westmeath wicklow ya have 9 very competitve sides there, and the longfords and the carlows are slowly but surly improoving. i think leinster is the strongest footballing province again.

ThePhonk (Carlow) - Posts: 111 - 12/07/2010 15:47:45    705482

I hope Meath don't offer a replay. You've done nothing wrong.

In contrast the behaviour of the Louth fans, even before the "goal", was a disgrace.

The only result of the investigation into this should be Louth being thrown out of the qualifiers.

Anything else would promote chaos at our games.

Let the Louth fans go back to the Dundalk or Drogheda soccer games I suspect they normally attend.

spiritof1991 (Down) - Posts: 693 - 12/07/2010 15:48:59    705490

look,lads how many wrong decisions do we see in every game in all honesty come on get over it jesus christ like weather its for a push in the back or a ball across the goal line mistakes are gonna happen and we cant start replaying games

reallyreilly (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 12/07/2010 15:52:34    705499

i'm a louth man and to be fair you's robbed us wit the goal but there was other decisions through out the game that went against you's which resulted in about 3 pointed frees. I wouldnt expect a replay at all

GMR (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 12/07/2010 15:52:42    705500

Very well said Dugie.One thing that nobody has picked up on or mentioned,and this is in defense of Martin Sludden(who i thought was quite poor yesterday before the incident),i think he acually played advantage for the goal.He may well have thought that Joe was fouled as he was trying to kick the ball to the net,then just allowed the goal to stand.That can be the only reason why he didnt consult with his umpires.If you look at it closely,when the ref approached the umpire,the umpire asked twice "are you sure,are you sure" and obviously the ref said yes.Yes,he was still wrong to give the goal no matter what.Another point that nobody has mentioned,and this is in defense of Joe Sheridan,is that when Joe was lying on the ground on the goal line,he threw the ball towards his right foot in an attempt to kick the ball home.Obviously,he didnt connect with his foot so it was still a throw,but it was clear that he lifted his foot to try and kick it.i dont believe for one second that he tried to cheat.The way some people are talking on here,you would think that Joe woke up on Sunday morning and decided "right,im gonna do my utmost to con Louth out of the Leinster championship today by throwing the ball to the net in the last minute of injury time".Cop on lads will ye.

ruben2 (Sligo) - Posts: 54 - 12/07/2010 16:07:35    705543

ruthless
County: Monaghan

703566 Why should there be a replay Louth won the game fair and square

Exactly - Louth should be awarded the game and bring their case to the high court if the GAA dont do it. Louth will never be treated fair again by any ref so agreeing to a replay would be silly.

maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 12/07/2010 16:18:30    705588

This has to be the biggest mess in gaa history! FIRSTLY i would like to point out as a die hard meath fan that NO IT WASNT A GOAL and louth can feel aggrieved and rightfully so but to call for a replay smacks of desperation, If that incident gets reviewd so should every free louth scored by, in first half louth scored once from play and four frees, two of which were iffy and at least 3 in second half which were poor desicions, should these be overturned? GAA willknow this can only open a can of worms over every desicion, whats to stop galway demanding a replay for the wrong penalty if louth get one? ITs a shame the ref could see his own feet in front of him but unfortunatly thast the game.

Meath in 2007 played dublin, during this game Geraghty had a perfectly good goal ruled out and a clear peno not given and alan brogan scored a goal from the most blatent square ball, did we look for a replay no we just got one with it, a goal is worth 3 points in the 3rd or 70th min and we didn look for replays, the timing of the "goal" is the main issue. I remind meath lads spillane made no calls for a replay after that match after 3 wrongs being done on me, the man should be shamed with this footage he truely has the biggest grudge vs meath ive ever seen. Last year vs Mayo meath scored a goal from a sideline ball that should have gone to mayo but not even our bitter rivals looked for a replay.

Despite all this and i know im not the only fan who feels like this i would relish a chance to go out in a replay and beat yas fair and square, Meath have earned a leinster title throught 5 matches and to have it written off because of a referring error is a scandal, Go out next weekend and destroy louth would be my choice even though ye shouldn get another chance, espec after the antics of your fans, ye sit may only be a handfull but that handfull has given ye a bad name and a ban from the championship would be one punishment striking opposition players and the referee cannot be tolerated

again hard luck ye were the better team on the day espec second half you played real football but result will stand

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 12/07/2010 16:22:02    705601

and fair play ruben2 spot on lad

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 12/07/2010 16:23:21    705602

bring it to the high court are you for real??sure the european court of human rights might help.seriously admin how are you letting silly posts like that up there

stamullenman (Meath) - Posts: 392 - 12/07/2010 16:23:27    705603

get the u.n involved stamullen only way ha

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 12/07/2010 16:31:22    705630

Probably been said already,but the idea of a replay is laughable.While there is loads of mention of the bad call against Louth at the end,there is no talk whatsoever of the blatant bad calls against Meath during the game.Included in these bad calls where the 2 "pick off the grounds" given against Meath backs during the game,when there was clear daylight under the ball each time.Also the Louth free on the edge of the square where Kevin Reilly picked up his yellow card,even though he clearly touched the ball out of Shane Lennons hands fairly.People should think about these decisions when spouting out rubbish about a replay.There are many bad decisions during most games,where do you draw the line.Do you look for a replay for each one of them??
On a seperate note,how many times have Meath had crucial bad calls against them in the past?Even there about 3 years ago,think it was the drawn game with Dublin,Graham Geraghy scored a perfectly good goal which was disallowed for no reason.If it were Louth that got the dodgy goal at the end of the game yesterday,there would be no talk of a replay at all.Pure and utter nonsense.

lyoto.machida (Meath) - Posts: 343 - 12/07/2010 16:39:34    705658

If Rooney hadnt hoofed the ball away TWICE during the injury time I reckon the game would have been blown up before Reilly lofted that ball into the square. Was never a goal but Louth contributed to the timing issue...

Proximo (None) - Posts: 13 - 12/07/2010 16:46:05    705674

Can all the people who posted their anger at Meath and the goal that never was etc comment on this. I have just found out that the great Sean Boylan was attacked by Louth supporters in the stand yesterday.

Now Louth supporters, where is your defence there. You should be thrown out of the championship, never mind get a replay

MinorStar (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 12/07/2010 16:52:53    705698

GIVE THEM A REPLAY!

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 12/07/2010 16:56:13    705709

The real truth of it is if it was any other county team there would be nothing said about this, Meath have got back their never say die attitude and their abilitys to pull the finger out in the last dying seconds of the match. Its up to the gaa to offer a replay i wouldnt mind seeing one as in my view we would go out and destroy Louth, people are quick to forget that meath earned their place in that final. COME ON THE ROYAL!!! p.s. is it true that sean boylan got a box in the premium stand off a louth fan and had to go to hospital?

backdoormyarse (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 12/07/2010 16:59:16    705720

facts... not hysteria as created by pat spillane declaring as a louth supporter he was demanding a replay. look very closely at the replay and also the still photos from to-days star newspaper it clear to see the louth number ten ankle taps joe sheridan and the louth number three is clearly pulling joe to the ground follow on the pics and you will see the louth number eight finishes joe to the net.The referee was about to blow for a penalty but instead gave the advantage and that is the referees privelige.The first pitch invasion is by none other than the louth manager where he is interogating the referee that then started the invasion by the louth louts.No replay Meath are worthy Leinster champions.

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 12/07/2010 17:01:05    705723

How do Meath supporters feel about this hanging round their necks for years to come? Most Dublin fans are praying that Meath choose to hold onto the title, due to the amount of ammo it will provide them with. Colm O'Rourke won't be able to get a word in edgways with Brolly ripping him apart on the Sunday game and a proud footballing county will be the victim of unwarranted anti Meath bias for the next few years. It's a tainted title and I feel for the Meath players. What a horrible position to be in. I'd say Meath would likely win if a replay were to take place.

BTW - I noticed there were no drive-by slaggings in the East Cavan towns last night and that tells a story in itself :)

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 12/07/2010 17:01:42    705724

I spoke to 2 louth men this morning on seperate accasions and while they were dissappointed with the way the game ended they both said if happened for Louth they would have no hesitation is bringing the cup back down the M1 and certainly wouldn't be offering a replay to Meath or anyone else either. It would have been 53 years since they had won it before and the wouldn't be giving it back.
We now have the scenario of posters commenting on how tainted the win was yesterday, it would be just as tainted if Louth were to win a replay (if they get one) as they would be seen as not accepting the decisions on the day be they right or wrong.
Can Louth be magnanamous in defeat and accept what happened on the day as against just calling for a replay because the ref made a mistake?

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 12/07/2010 17:02:49    705727

backdoormyarse. Yes I heard that this afternoon about Sean Boylan. It is an utter disgrace that any supporter would react like this, but to Sean Boylan who was our National Manager in the compromise rule and also a true legend of the game. He is reveered throughout the land. I am a Limerick man saying this. But when I heard this it made my blood boil. Louth have really let themselves down and the association down. If any of this happened on the streets of Drogheda on Sunday they would have been arrested and sentenced.

MinorStar (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 12/07/2010 17:05:49    705734