Meath should offer a replay

ontheroad, That is a load of guff you are posting. As I said in my previous post, other contributors from other counties are poating wrong accounts of Meath players and the management. There were countless frees awarded by the ref to Louth that were not frees and louth scored fromthe majority. If louth had won I can guarantee Meath would not be looking for a replay. The GAA need to comment and make a decision on this replay issue sooner rather than later and then let Louth make their decision. If they feel aggreived then let them pull out of All Ireland qualifiers. It is not up to the Meath County Board to make a call. As I have stated the rules are the rules and that is what we all as GAA people have to abide with. The referee has final say. This was all his doing.

MinorStar (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 12/07/2010 12:38:40    704909

While I would have no problem with a replay, Louth should suffer some form of punishment for the behaviour of a tiny minority of their fanatics. Lets face it, the crowd at Croke Park didn't have the TV replays like the viewers at home to analyse the goal several times over and be 100% sure of an injustice. But still behaved like thugs anyway in defeat. I suspect they would still have behaved like that had a perfect goal been scored, simply because it happened in injury time. Most of the Louth folk were day trippers (no harm in that, especially where families are concerned) but it also attracted some headbangers. Hotheads who are bad losers, regardless of actual events. More successful counties know (from bitter experience) they are wronged from time to time, but just get on with things. Because things usually balance out over time. Nobody like whingers. If other counties supporters can come to Croke Park or any GAA ground and behave themselves when things go against them, Louth should too or bear the consequences. So if this is what having Louth in the business end of the chamionship entails, I'm sure we are better off without them, even if it is a case of a tiny minority ruining it for the rest. It is up to the majority to weed out the bad apples and have some pride in who they represent. Irish soccer fans pride themselves on their behaviour abroad and wouldn't stand idly by if a small few stepped out of line. It is time for Louth to do likewise when they travel en mass.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 12/07/2010 12:48:11    704938

Very big of you Appleman to post offering a replay but unfortunately I believe a very poor Meath team have got out of jail today with a Leinster title so why would they offer it? Best of luck to both teams moving forward.

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 903 - 12/07/2010 12:53:32    704953

The County Board MUST NOT offer a replay. Why should they? We won the game. There were lots of other mistakes made by the ref during the game, including the one in the run up to the Louth goal. Like it or not, referrees make mistakes all the time but you don't see managers of a Junior D team or of an u-12 team calling for replays when decisions go against them. Just because it's the Leinster final and Louth haven't made one in 50 years they think its a special case. It's not.

With regard to those who assaulted the referree, well they should be brought before a court and punished, as well as receiving a life time ban from GAA stadia. And if that's true about Sean Boylan, it's an absolute disgrace. Those thugs have given Louth a bad name for good. All you anti-Meath begrudgers on here mouthing at us, perhaps you should direct some of your venom at those muppets and their county.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2019 - 12/07/2010 12:57:34    704966

ontheroad - What are Meath getting good at? Firstly: every game in football has a number of dubious decisions that have a huge impact on the result. When Meath were robbed a few years ago against Dublin (Alan Brogan square ball for a goal that was given and Graham Geraghty's perfectly valid goal that was not given) you did not hear any call from people for a replay. There is a general anti-Meath feeling out there for some reason. At the end of the day - Louth blew their chances yesterday - they had enough chances to win easily - a lot of these chances coming from so called frees that the referee gave them. There were at least two if not three Louth points that came from frees that were not frees. As I say this is all part of the game and if these decisions were reviewed every game you would never finish the Championship. I think the Meath county board have no reason to offer a replay - would any other county board do it? I know Louth wouldn't if the roles were reveresed and I can imagine most other county boards wouldnt. In a way I would like to see a replay - but even if Meath offer one they will always be abused and insulted by certain people in certain counties.

aodhanomaonaigh (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 12/07/2010 13:03:15    704982

Meath won - end of story. I will be disgusted if the county board offer to replay the match. If you think Louth would do it for us if the roles were reversed then you're dreaming.

rathkenny_rover (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 12/07/2010 13:06:21    704992

I think we SHOULD indeed offer them a replay it was a great injustice what happened yesterday Louth should have won .
But if we do offer the replay i cant see Meath playing that bad again , also on another note what horrible horrible things that happened after the game Louth supporters should be ashamed of themseves , they should be punished accordinly ! In fairness at the end of the day its not the Meath players or supporters are not to blame the ref and his officals are the one who are the bad one !! An Mhi Abu

john1980 (Meath) - Posts: 262 - 12/07/2010 13:21:56    705046

This wasnt the players fault and its not fair what people are saying about Joe and the meath team, so lets show them what we are really like and give them their replay. Meath are the better team and didnt show it out there yesterday. Lets give them a replay we dont want to win a Leinster Final like this. Lets be the bigger people here and give it to them and then show them what MEATH are really made of. Come On The Royals.

scuchymonkey (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 12/07/2010 13:46:06    705110

As it stands if Meath and Louth do not replay, Louth get this coming weekend off before their qualifier on the 24th. And then the AI quarter final the following weekend if successful. If we replay this coming weekend, the loser faces the above having playing two Sundays in a row beforehand. So potentially four matches in successive weeks. It is a pity Sunday's match was for silverware/a title, otherwise it might be in both counties interests to leave things stand. But as Meath would have more ambition than Louth going forwards, doubt the Wee county will see things from this perspective.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 12/07/2010 13:57:18    705158

As a Louth man in Croke Park, I was disappointed by the behaviour of a small element of our supporters. They should be named and shamed and it must be stressed these were in the extreme minority. Their behaviour has no place in civilised society and they let themselves and their county down. As I walked down to Croker from Quinns most Louth and Meath supporters were having the banter and the craic and apart from a few scumbags (no other words for them), it should have been a great day out. Those fans who ran on to the field should be ashamed and what they tried to do. I have no doubt that the Louth County Board will ensure that they will be named as most are easily identifiable. I am sure most people agree with this approach. The above issue dealt, there were a number of points need to be addessed:

1: Where were the Gardai and Stewards to ensure the referees safety off the field? They were very slow to get onto the field. Given the circumstances of the goal which I could see from 50m away was thrown, it was obviously very controversial so the ref should have got off the field instead of hanging around.

2: The umpires. Granted the referee was 30-40 metres back from play (even though on the Sunday game his view looked okay), the role of the umpires was crucial. In my experience at games, umpires can be very indecisive in terms of making decisions when it is not clear cut. Most see their job as waving wide, out for a 45 or for a score. Anything else such as infringements, square balls - they tend to shy away from these decisions and leave it to the referee to deal with. They do not have much experience of game defining moments. Umpires should be trained as to the rules and referees should rely on them more often as they are another 4 sets of eyes watching. The referee cannot see everything but he got the biggest decision wrong yesterday.

3: The referee did not cover himself in glory throughout the game. I thought he got a number of decisions wrong with soft frees being given on both sides (mostly to Louth) in cases and blatant fouls not being given in others. This is part and parcel of GAA refereeing unfortunately. After marking down the goal, the referee went to the umpire to ask him to raise his flag? As some posters have pointed out, Why did the umpire not raise the flag immediately after the goal went in? I suppose the answer is because at the very least he was uncertain on whether to give a goal. The umpire was then asked by the referee to raise his flag and not to consult one or both of the umpires. This decision lies firmly on the referees shoulders.

It is very hard to take a defeat like this when it was so clear cut. I understand people mention precedents etc and injustices but being such a mistake while being watched by 2 umpires. There are such fine lines between defeat and winning. Good referees generally get the big decisions right. At the very least he has to consult before making an informed decision.

I would expect that the referees report will be handed in today and he will state that he got the decision wrong. The only hope for a replay is if Meath offer one. This would be a very nobel gesture and I wouldn't be expecting you to do this - it is hard to ask a player to give up their Leinster medal however it was earned. I think no matter what way it goes both Meath and Louth lose. If Meath don't offer a replay then it will be 31 counties against them for the rest of the season. If they do, then Louth will be the canon fodder for giving into mob / thug rule and for the foreseeable future be associated with this.

Lose Lose as far as I see!!

Queen (Louth) - Posts: 58 - 12/07/2010 14:06:10    705189

Dont want replay, the gaa can stick the delaney cup up their incompotent ....

Good luck

Bad ref, nonexistent umpires and the gaa in a bad state after yesterday.

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1615 - 12/07/2010 14:14:06    705220

id let you just keep the cup ,,its a preety worthless acheivement at the moment. it will say in 2010 that you won it but its not what it will be remembered for. and when you do get knocked out i think it will raise the biggest cheer around. 31 counties will raise a glass to justice been done then.. it will only make meath look bad in everyones eyes

drogheda20 (Louth) - Posts: 405 - 12/07/2010 14:20:21    705242

we dont care, its been meath v the world years.

northwest (Meath) - Posts: 107 - 12/07/2010 14:39:08    705306

joej and drogheda20: I dont know what your problem is with Meath - we have done nothing wrong here. It was the officials fault and not ours! It is people like you drogheda20 that give a great county like Louth such a bad reputation. It is people like you and the "fans"/thugs who attacked the ref/stewards/gardaí yesterday that are not helping Louth football at all. Meath people would never want to win a Leinster title like this - with the majority of counties completely against us! If Meath offer a replay I can assure you that a different Meath team will turn up and there will be a lot more Meath fans to drown out Louth's booing!!

aodhanomaonaigh (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 12/07/2010 14:41:27    705312

drogheda20
County: Louth

705242 id let you just keep the cup ,,its a preety worthless acheivement at the moment. it will say in 2010 that you won it but its not what it will be remembered for. and when you do get knocked out i think it will raise the biggest cheer around. 31 counties will raise a glass to justice been done then.. it will only make meath look bad in everyones eyes

In those 31 counties, only uninformed people like yourself will "raise a glass" when we are knocked out. Most people will acknowledge that it was the referree who was at fault by allowing the goal and not the Meath team.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2019 - 12/07/2010 14:42:01    705315

maybe son.. but it will reach another level after this. meath should offer the reply which will gain the respect of the country and then let the cccc pull the plug. nobody could say anything bout meath then

drogheda20 (Louth) - Posts: 405 - 12/07/2010 14:45:49    705326

we shudnt offer a replay cos we did nothing wrong

meath1234 (Meath) - Posts: 203 - 12/07/2010 14:51:14    705334

who cares bout the other 31 counties thoughts of meath.

louth had the fear... and should be blaming no-one else

Tara_Kings (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 12/07/2010 15:07:44    705381

sam1996

i cant understand any meath fan saying it should be replayed if roles were reversed louth would not dream of giving us a replay show some loyalty to your county

This is not a question of blind, empty-headed loyalty to county, but a much more important matter than that: it is a matter of honour and a matter of sporting integrity. There is an opportunity here to leave a great sporting legacy to the future, which is that when the officials get it so badly wrong, it is up to the players to stand up and be counted, and to show that they want to PROVE to everyone in a replay that they are worthy of the title of Leinster champions, and to earn on the field of play honours that certainly did not earn yesterday.

I think that Trevor Giles, who knows the honour of winning and of truly deserving it, has been magnificent today in coming out and calling for a replay. There can be no pleasure or pride for anyone associated with Meath football in the manner and outcome of yesterday's game, and it is for Meath's own good that they stand up as men, and not just offer Louth this replay, but that they insist upon it. If they let this moment pass, then in the years to come the players and management will have to live with this tainted so-called "victory", and they will know in their heart of hearts that in truth they won nothing yesterday. What sort of a legacy is that to the future of Meath football? Are we so desperate for a little success, a little silverware, that we are collectively willing to pretend to ourselves that Meath football achieved something yesterday, when it so painfully did not?

Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 12/07/2010 15:39:52    705460

first of all i feel so sorry for louth yesterday but lads get over it mistakes are going to be made all the time by the officals, do you think it was unfair on galway on sat when the ref gave a penalty for a guy falling over himself you dont see galway cryin for a replay, or waterford looking for the cup yesterday when o'connors, free went wide that was given waterford would be munster champions. If sherdian did that against dublin he be a national hero and no one would be calling for a replay

dugie (Limerick) - Posts: 43 - 12/07/2010 15:39:52    705461