Meath should offer a replay

AS a loyal Meath Supporter i think the Meath co.board should offer Louth a reply and put it back on the gaa to say no to one because this what will happen the gaa will not and can not let a reply take even if is the right thing if they allow this Galway should look for a replay because it was not a penalty against them on saturday .we should not let the last minute be the only talking point of this refs poor display he was a disgrace untill the last incedient he done his best to rob meath ,some of his decisions were outrageous i feel sorry for louth but it is about time the gaa got their refs and rules in order and untill then nobody should wast their money and pay into another disaster. Offer louth the replay and let the gaa so called leaders say no to louth

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 307 - 12/07/2010 10:20:00    704576

To correct all the injustices, a replay should be offered, and staged in Pairc Tailteann..but no Louth fans allowed attend :)

But seriously; a game can't be replayed becuase of one bad decision. It's ludicrous to think or suggest otherwise.
And it was a bad decision.
But if that had happened after 5 minutes, there wouldn't be such a reaction.
It's the timing that has caused the problems.

On the fans reaction - that was downright wrong.
I saw one young Louth fan holding his ear near the tunnel with his father/guardian.
He obviosuly got hit in the commotion. seriously, what responsible adult brings a child into that situation? Shame.

turtle (Wexford) - Posts: 242 - 12/07/2010 10:22:37    704582

turtle is right u cant replay a game on the back of one decison

meath1234 (Meath) - Posts: 203 - 12/07/2010 10:30:43    704600

If ye value yourselves as a county, ye will do the decent thing and offer a replay.

Joe_Don (Louth) - Posts: 247 - 12/07/2010 10:37:30    704618

AnFearBeag: I agree with most of what is being said here:
I agree that the the disgraceful behaviour of a small number of Louth "supporters" sgould not be rewarded with a second game.
I agree that referees are only human and make mistakes and we have to put up with that and get on with things.
I agree that he made so many poor decisions yesterday that cost Meath 2-3 points so the poor decisions probably evened themselves out.
I agree that Louth would never in a million years offer a replay if the roles were reversed.
I agree that very few other counties would do either.

And yet I would still like to see the county board come out this evening and offer to replay the game. Cant really explain why - just think its the right thing to do.

Well said. I think your assessment is absolutely correct and a credit to you. I think Sludden had an appalling game during which he largely refereed Meath out of of it and that Meath did not deserve to lose because due to a litany of inexcusably poor decisions.

BUT, and this is only point really worth making in all of this: there is still room for pride and honour and a sense of fair play in amateur sport, of which the GAA still represents one of the finest traditions in any country or any games, and one would hope that a county of Meath's immense pedigree in Gaelic Football would rather win or lose a title on unequivocal merit, than have it tainted or questioned for reasons not of their making. You would hope that the players' themselves would rather know for certain in their own minds that they REALLY deserved to win. This is something that they will carry with them as players and men for the rest of their lives.

You could not have said any better AnFearBeag. There is the opportunity to do something special, noble and uplifting in the interest of sport and fair play out of respect to the game and to your fellow competitors, and it is my fervent hope that Meath will rise above the petty and the stupid in all this, and offer Louth the replay and let the truly best team win, unhindered and unaided by referees or umpires mistakes.

Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 12/07/2010 10:39:04    704622

the louth fans were terrible even during the match they were booing every time we took a free and everything, they were actually alot worse than dublin fans and people say they are bad. then after the match was disgraceful. you do not go on and attack the ref and a meath player was also hit(mark ward). that was just not exceptible but i do think meath should offer them a replay so we can beat them fairly and show everyone that we are decent even though louth would not offer us a replay if they were in our situation.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 12/07/2010 10:51:31    704651

simple fact meath won louth didnt louth wudnt be offerin a replay if it was the other way

meath1234 (Meath) - Posts: 203 - 12/07/2010 10:58:27    704667

We have a great change to do the right thing

Appleman (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 12/07/2010 11:02:07    704678

Im livid with local radio station LOUTH/LOUTH FM...so biaesed the comments,i plaayed with Meath up to u-21, and felt sorry for Louth yesterday, but after hearing the tripe from Louth fans on radio with barely a mention of their supporters assaulting the ref, is unreal.
I went on the pitch yesterday, with my kids,and actually saw stewards having to break up fights among Louth supporters, fighting amongst themselves!!..if Louth had won the match like that yesterday, would they offer a replay?.. not a chance.. so roll on Meath..get over it Louth!

maco (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 12/07/2010 11:02:56    704685

Meath should offer a Replay!
But the CCCC should only Grant the replay if the so called Louth GAA Suporters who Assalted the Ref, Assalted a Meath Player Mark Ward, Assalted Sean Boylan, and Threw Bottles on to the Pitch come forward to accept a Life Ban from GAA (they can go back to following Soccer!!)
Following your County at GAA venues across the country is a Family day out and we can not let the Ugly Abhorent scenes at the end of the game (and the whistleing & Booing during Free taking) become part of the GAA

Up The Royals!!

ABD09 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 12/07/2010 11:03:36    704686

the right thing louth got most of the decisions rooneys goal shudnt hav happened cos it wasnt a free so shud louth have offered a replay?

meath1234 (Meath) - Posts: 203 - 12/07/2010 11:04:02    704689

Louth have only themselves to blame, with the chances they missed,Sheridan didnt do anything a Louth forward wouldnt have done,Fitzpatrick is a credit to himself and Louth by the way he handled himself yesterday, but Louth fans, especially the people who assaulted the referee, should be banned for life!

maco (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 12/07/2010 11:09:44    704701

Lads i there is a replay i hope every person in the county gets to croke park next Sunday and cheer on the boys in green and lets kick the s*** into these whingers.

Come on the Royal County!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 12/07/2010 11:21:52    704729

There wont be a replay, if there was, we would be having replays everytime a club/county felt hard done by..maybe just as well Louth never progress to far in championship games, it would be too hard listening to the constant crying on Louth/Louth FM... oh and Meath wont care when they are collecting their Leinster medals at Xmas

maco (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 12/07/2010 11:28:02    704744

Lads, I feel as sick for Louth as every other person who posted a message here. But lets be honest. The Meath county board or the Meath playing and Management should not be backed into a corner to replay this game, and this is what is happening. The call has to be made by the CCCC or by the President, Mr Cooney. We cannot penalise the players in this situation, the rules are just that, The rules. I also believe the emotions are running higher as a result of the scandalous behaviour of a very small few Louth supporters. It was not fair, but to get a real understanding read what Nigel Crawford said after the game on this. You have to look at the bigger picture on this. Are Waterford allowed to have the Munster Final awarded to them on the basis that Ben O Connors free was awarded unfairly. It opens a huge can of trouble. Unfair as it is, we are bound by the rules. With this precedent set how would this affect club games.

MinorStar (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 12/07/2010 11:47:01    704791

well said minor star

meath1234 (Meath) - Posts: 203 - 12/07/2010 11:56:12    704812

i cant understand any meath fan saying it should be replayed if roles were reversed louth would not dream of giving us a replay show some loyalty to your county

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 12/07/2010 11:56:28    704813

Meath are getting good at this. Last year v Mayo the "officals" cost mayo two goals with their display. Because it was mayo nothing was done. Sunday we had more poor officiating. Louth are a good news story and Meath have pushed their luck once too often.

ontheroad (None) - Posts: 530 - 12/07/2010 12:01:41    704823

ontheroad how did we push our look against mayo??

meath1234 (Meath) - Posts: 203 - 12/07/2010 12:03:24    704829

Apart for the fact that the goal was not a goal, there were alot of wrong calls from the ref yesterday. I am a meath fanatic and sorry i think the goal shouldn't have stood. i think a replay should be offered. moreover i am horrified by the antics of the Louth supporters post match, i saw a ban garda being attacked by grown men. I think those scum that were captured abusing the ref after the match yesterday should be banned from every sporting event, these antics are unheard of GAA. It wasnt a proud day to be Irish looking at that.

gazDgreat1 (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 12/07/2010 12:09:11    704852