Meath team v Laois

Keeps the opposition guessing i supose.. maybe a bit of psychologcal tactics on EOB's part..!

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 19/03/2010 13:49:07    592487

it's gone beyond a joke now. Always the same. Are those lads answerable to nobody?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 19/03/2010 13:57:28    592494

Meath (SF v Laois): P O'Rourke; C O'Connor, N McKeigue, E Harrington; M Burke, C McGuinness, A Moyles; N Crawford, M Ward; S Kenny, J Sheridan, O Lewis; C Ward, J Queeney, S Bray.

Meath2010 (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 19/03/2010 17:18:26    592797

that would be shocking if he got dropped off the panel..

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 19/03/2010 18:35:31    592912

Jinxie your totally right .if meath played anything like they did in the macht last night they wont get any where in the championship they need to lift there game

SeanR0716 (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 19/03/2010 18:52:53    592930

well lads i am heading up to the match in navan and i expect the 2 points to be heading in our direction i think we are on the up what do you lads think?

QuickMick (Laois) - Posts: 176 - 19/03/2010 19:40:20    592978

i dont know if thats the team for tomorrow night or not meath2010?but if it is and o brien and his management team play niall mckeague at full back then im convinced that man o brien hasnt a clue,ive been to all games this year and im getting more annoyed and frustrated as the league gos on,seamus kenny is NOT a forward!! hes our most consistant defenderwhen hes left there,mickey burke is not good enough,yet o brien plays him in the half back line ahead of kenny,mark ward is not mobile enough to get around at this level and fowls constantly,meath havnt had a scoring half foward line in years and ollie lewis is not going to change that,on paper we look to have some great players so whats wrong?whats wrong is this management team !!eammon o brien and this team as no direction,there is no tactics or no game planin any of the games ive seen this year and now i see there going to portugal for a training camp " bulls***."

royalwarrior (Meath) - Posts: 33 - 19/03/2010 19:56:32    592992

i am nearly 100% sure thats the team. I copied and pasted from a article on the main hoganstand page. The article said something like " McGuiness returns for royals".

Meath2010 (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 20/03/2010 11:54:26    593254

Ye that is the offical team.I am just worried about the full back and Midfield.I would have liked to have seen Moyles on the bench and Kenny at Rigth have back and Burke at Left half back,Brian Meade at Midfield and Shane O'Rourke at Right half forward.But it still is an alright team.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 20/03/2010 14:01:02    593368

Seamus Kenny played some great stuff in the half-forwards last year, he's not expected to be a free-scoring corner-forward when he's picked at 10, though neither is Joe McMahon or Donncha Walsh. Kenny drops deep, recycles the ball and get's Meath moving again. We really need a player who can keep the team ticking over right now. He's also very effective spoiling opposition kick-outs here.

This could be an ugly game. Laois like to get a lot of men behind the ball but they don't seem to have the tightest marking defence around so if the lads bring their shooting boots I reckon it will be two much needed points in the bag.

I've never been crazy about any of O'Brien's selections but assuming that the team lines out like that I think the only real worry is the full-back line, especially if they isolate McKeigue against a nippy forward in front of the square. Our half-forward line's lacking a bit of guile aswell with Brayser moving into the corner, Joe will have to be sharp on the ball. Still though, looking at the middle eight, Burke, McGuinness, Kenny and Ollie Lewis will likely win us the lion's share of posession, it's what we do with it that counts.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 20/03/2010 17:34:16    593499

Meath 0-13 Laois 1-09

The performance was better than last week but still alot of work to do !!!

Stillsenior (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 20/03/2010 21:05:42    593635

...and the Dubs lost :D

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 20/03/2010 21:30:09    593665

As regards the goalkeepers position.
The lad who wrote that the 'keepers position is not that important hasn't a scooby.
It gets my goat time after time to see teams, especially club teams, play someone in goal because he can kick the ball out eighty yards.
If you take that argument to it's logical conclusion you could pick Usaiah Bolt as corner forward because he is a bit nippy.
A 'keepers primary task is to keep the ball out of the net. a huge kickout is a bonus, no more no less.
Paddy O'Rourke will be a very good 'keeper, but as of yet he is a long way off the finished article.
I mentioned here last year that O'Rourke and the reserve 'keeper from Trim had received no specialist coaching until two weeks before the Dubs match.
That is nowhere near good enough.
Shane Supple has been brought into the Dublin squad, as much I suspect for passing on coaching tips he picked up at Ipswich as anything else.
Murphy could do the same for us.
I personally think Murphy should be the first choice 'keeper for us, in fact being honest I believe he is the best and most natural goalkeeper I have EVER seen play for Meath.
But if EOB decides to go with O'Rourke then fairy nuff as they say.but giove the chap some proper coaching as God knows he needs it, he told me as much himself.
It is a specialist position and the day when 'keepers were warmed up by putting them in nets and having lads belt shots at them shoud be long gone.
EOB played his football in the seventies and eighties and it seems like his thinking is mired back in those decades as well, especially regarding goalkeepers.
Overall it doesn't look great for us this year but we are the Royals so who deaf huck knows where we will end up.

BoynesideBlue (Meath) - Posts: 130 - 20/03/2010 21:50:32    593700

Anthony Moyles was brilliant! C Ward and S Bray were poor!!

omahonys_man (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 20/03/2010 21:53:02    593707

Good result, regardless of performance... onwards and upwards hopefully....

MyGeneration (Meath) - Posts: 124 - 20/03/2010 21:58:38    593719

Poor performance, some good performances, McKeigue, Lewis and O'Connor were the stand out players. Looks like O Brien was right not to play Brian Sheridan, he came on and look tired----. Now I know thats not Brian Sheridans form and that he's a better player than that but I think its like an earlier poster said he's played a lot of football already this year so a break mightn't be the worst thing. Thought that maybe O'Brein would have done some work with Paddy O Rourke under the high ball but evidently he hasn't. I'm with the side who think we should stick with O Rourke in goals but these wingmirrors have to be removed. On the positive Shane O Rourke showed well tonight, dropped an awful lot of ball and doesn't look near 100% fit but you could still see the class shining through.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 310 - 21/03/2010 08:49:05    593734

hootervillian,

Brian sheridan looked tired?? The lad pulled up with a hamstring injury about a minute after he came on and the management looked on while he couldnt run properly. The lad probably should have known better and put his hand up to come off but he's not had too many chances and wanted to carry on. everyone there could see he was struggling to walk and the decision not to take him off nearly cost us the game. Not sure what you saw in shane O rouke, granted he showed well for the ball but its not acceptable to drop that many balls, at chest height. How joe was taken off was amazing. He just kicked a sideline from the 14 yard line....right that it your gone!!

Very little positive out of the game except for McKeigue, kenny and lewis

clubm (Meath) - Posts: 87 - 21/03/2010 12:35:55    593839

i taught ollie lewis played a stormer last nite showed well , strong on the ball and well able to take a score . shane o rourke needs more match practice in my eyes played well and took his scores well , paddy in goals is still extremly poor under the high ball?? anyways onwards and upwards An mHI Abu !!

john1980 (Meath) - Posts: 262 - 21/03/2010 12:45:40    593843

in all fairness mckeigue looked well cause kingston was very poor so to say he played well is goin over board

Royal_son (Meath) - Posts: 300 - 21/03/2010 13:07:59    593852

RE:Clubm

I did say that O Rourke dropped a lot of ball but thats part and parcel of not playing matches, that'll all come back very quickly if he stays fit. I'm not here to slate Brian Sheridan, who I think is a fine club player and definitely one for the future, but it was while giving away his third ball in a row that he pulled up with the hamstring so he was poor before the injury.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 310 - 21/03/2010 15:29:53    593923