Have you ever marked a county player?

beer baron

358831 thumper

358752 paudi

358503 big lads Gallagher must a been one a them i think he was close to 7 ft dnt no other boy. Could it be Cillian Sheridan. I was a big lad but only played a fw games. was on bench against cootehill once. think we always beat ye.

Gallagher was one alright 6 8" 17 stone a monster! i'd say the other was big 'o' kelleher, Cillian sheridan would of been two young for that age group

Sheridan was there think he was only about 16 and i was 18 or close to it,we had Barry watters as our young prodigy but sheridan totally out shone him.had soccer trials with him the same year.Never thought he'd make it as far as he has.

He got it from his relations ;)....Probably was him i would of been out of school at that time! Fair play to him he's givin it a right go... had a drink or two with him last time he was home and still as down to earth as ever! We could do with him coming back!!

thumper (None) - Posts: 95 - 23/07/2009 17:07:05    358889

Your probably right paudi.... i am indeed a bboro man! Moynalty or mullagh yourself??

thumper (None) - Posts: 95 - 23/07/2009 17:09:15    358890

kilmainhamwood. jesus god thank god i aint moynalty

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 23/07/2009 17:14:09    358905

that was harsh of me paudi..... accept my full apologies for such an insult!

thumper (None) - Posts: 95 - 23/07/2009 17:17:07    358913

Not exactly it took 3 of us to mark him, Micheal Ryan who won an all-ireland for tipp in 2001 now plays for Portuma.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 23/07/2009 17:17:11    358914

apology taken.

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 23/07/2009 17:19:18    358918

admin is from our area too i think. well between kells n bboro . am i right admin?

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 23/07/2009 17:21:36    358925

marked several donegal hurlers if that counts..haha

The_todd (Donegal) - Posts: 31 - 23/07/2009 17:23:53    358929

Stephen Lucey - absolutely cleaned me. I won a free tho !!!

Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 23/07/2009 17:25:38    358935

paudi

358905 kilmainhamwood. jesus god thank god i aint moynalty

Ah the land of the russell twins.

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 23/07/2009 17:34:37    358960

Usually in county games.

But as I was usually in goals, not that often.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 23/07/2009 18:10:43    359035

I just remembered i have marked parsons and pierce Hanley aswell!!.......... I was delighted that i had done all those goalposts to goalposts in Jan/feb!!!

Just a pity they was often 100yards of them!!!...Exceptional players!!!

Hanley would be another huge player for mayo this year!! The style they play at the moment would really suit him!!!

clubstar09 (Mayo) - Posts: 463 - 24/07/2009 02:14:57    359596

Yeah the home of them alright yh. sound lads

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 24/07/2009 09:04:21    359657

Indeed they are.

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 24/07/2009 09:55:53    359712

They could be posting on this too i think well they used to anyway. u go fundalk wiv em

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 24/07/2009 10:09:01    359724

Yeah fundalk,always had desperate trouble making out which was which.

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 24/07/2009 10:23:50    359744

its easy ones better than the other at gaelic lol

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 24/07/2009 10:30:49    359762

My club in Galway had a great underage rivalry with Killanin and I often ended up marking Kevin Walsh at under-14 and under-16 level. He was almost as big then as he is now so he was a fearsome sight. I once caught the ball straight from the throw-in and I remember being completely shocked that I had outjumped him. I marked Tomas Mannion in a county minor semi-final (which we won) - he was the toughest player I've ever marked. In Canada I have occasionally come up against players that have a bit of inter-county experience but no household names.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1034 - 27/07/2009 18:18:49    364739