6.Paddy Smyth(Senior)Navan O'Mahonys
7.John Donegan(Senior) Rathkenny
8.Marrice Kennedy(Senior)Summerhill
9.Brian Clarke(Senior)Senchalstown
10.Aidan Tuite(Senior)Skryne

What do you theink?

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 14/07/2009 23:33:27    346351

Brian Clarke is a lovely football, & deadly accurate, but dunno if hes strong enough for county. seems very light.
Could be wrong tho..

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6346 - 14/07/2009 23:42:41    346371

4 5 and 6 would be the only 3 of them there that are up to it. What about the likes of Henry Finnegan(NOM) Stephen O'Toole(NOM) Podge Howard(Duleek) Tadgh Brosnan(Blackhall)?

mightymen08 (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 15/07/2009 03:44:30    346497

What about last year's minors? You would have thought Tommy Johnson and Andrew Tormey would be the sorts to have made the step up to the senior panel?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 15/07/2009 11:21:30    346700

Haven't seen too many senior matches this year so I can't say, but I seen a good few Intermediate matches and I was impressed with:

Brian Hanlon (Gaeil Colmcille)
Ciaran Lynch (St. Michaels)
Benji Smith (Ballinlough)

and a lad by the name of Graham Geraghty looked fairly handy for Clann na Gael against Oldcastle!!

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 468 - 15/07/2009 11:58:04    346738

12royal Drumconrath are not senior, they are intermediate.
Terry Skelly should be on the panel. Other players like Daithi Regan of St Michaels, Wayne Reilly formerly of Drums, Ronan Farrelly of Oldcastle should have been given a run also.

bennyblanco (Meath) - Posts: 579 - 15/07/2009 12:01:30    346748

12 royal, ye there some good footballers there alright but would ask questions about some of them, but if you put any of these on the panal and played them in the backs they would be all better then S Sheridian, who is on the panal, dont think heno and sot from NOM should be called up, if anything NOM players should be dropped like N Mck, M Ward any maybe B Regan, i feel if any of these players were dropped would they be really missed honestly, we didnt miss M ward in the last game and himself and regan came on just to keep them interested, their good club men

SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 15/07/2009 12:28:52    346789

Alan Fox (tones)

theblindassasin (Meath) - Posts: 915 - 15/07/2009 13:22:22    346864

Surely there has to be some decent playerrs playing at St. Pats Senior club that keeps beating top teams in championship?????

They must have a few players that are up there as looking at their results in Championship they have bet Senchalstown and Donaghmore Ashbourne and always seem to come out of group stage.

Just wondering why this club never seems to get any recognition.

Watched them play Senchalstown and they had some guy in the centre field that gave an exhibition of fielding and scored some great points.... by far the best player on view. Anyone shed any light on who this is and why he not mentioned in any of these forums

viduka1 (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 15/07/2009 14:41:13    346980

alan fox of the tones and benji smith of the lough should without a doubt be given a run with meath. Both men have performed consistently well for there clubs for the last 2-3 years and for the life of me i cant understand why they havent been given a chance!!!!

seanied (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 15/07/2009 15:29:27    347066

Viduka, the player you are talking about is Niall Mooney. He was on the Meath panel for the league last year and was then dropped by Colm Coyle. Dont thnk he got a look in this year. A brilliant club footballer with a great all round game. Maybe just lacks a little physically for the county game. I have discussed him with a few former Meath stars and they are all of the opinion that he just lacks the little bit extra needed at the highest level. Anyone else who impressed you for the Pats would be probably too old to be considered as most of thier best players are 30 or more. The likes of Daithi White, Cormac Sullivan Ronan Kearns and a few more are still flying at club level but any ideas of them playing county football are long gone.

qprmeath (None) - Posts: 434 - 15/07/2009 15:56:37    347134

Tommy O'Connor is turning out some performances for Dunboyne since his return this year, also Gary Watters has been one of Dunboyne's most consistent players at Wing Back for the past 4 years now also.

Aside from that, Taghdh Brosnan has had plenty of cracks of the whip, just never happened at InterCounty Level for him, a bit like Ray McGee.

Some excellent club players out there playing at all levels but its the step up in class in all levels (physical, fitness and mental) that make it difficult for a lot of players to reach the next level. Its not always the most talented that reach the heights.

D (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 15/07/2009 16:33:01    347198

That a boy Tuite. About time he got some recognition.

Smithwicks (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 15/07/2009 21:10:12    347574

I agree seanied my only concern is that they are both very small but I do think they would be worth a try at least...Fox has been good any time I seen him with the Tones, I seen Smith playing for Ballinlough against Cortown last year in the IFC semi-final and he was brilliant...he cleaned-out the corner forward who went on to make the Meath junior panel this year!! Both players were very good at underage level for Meath.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 468 - 15/07/2009 21:58:19    347617

lads, we have top be looking more at the players from the 'bigger' clubs, especially in the south of the county... the likes of Blackhall, Dunshaughlin, Ashbourne and Dunboyne... its very understandable having a few from the dominant club of o'mathonys but i think its a farse that in the last number of years, maybe up to 5, there has only been one Dunshaughlin player on the panel... Caoimhin King... this is a mystery to me as Dunshaughlin have had a strong and successful juvenile set up in the last ten years... along with Ashbourne...

So, i call on there to be more focus on getting a few more players on the county panel from the likes of Dunshaughlin and Ashbourne who deserve their chance especially over the next couple of years!!

anmhi4sam (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 16/07/2009 11:33:33    348092

Mickey Brennan from Simonstown, very handy player, ridiculous he has not been called in already!

Triple H (Meath) - Posts: 551 - 16/07/2009 11:51:20    348125

I was very disappointed to hear David Morgan was injured on a recent trip to Ashbourne. From what I have seen of him mainly at intermediate the lad has the potential to break through to the county scene. I wish him a speedy recovery

Big Dave (Meath) - Posts: 172 - 16/07/2009 15:26:53    348525

Your having a laugh now lads with some of these guys from Curraha. I do agree that Dunshaughlin Dunboyne and Ashbourne should have bigger representations along with us and Simonstown

James T (Meath) - Posts: 611 - 16/07/2009 15:42:23    348550

Have to agree with jamesT come on lads lets be realistic.

Curraghaspy (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 16/07/2009 16:43:31    348687

What passes for humour on these boards never ceases to amaze me.

qprmeath (None) - Posts: 434 - 16/07/2009 16:59:49    348723