Waterford match

Great result for the Royals on Saturday night against one of the superpowers.

Keep at it, you're on the right track.

Angle Grinder (Louth) - Posts: 121 - 06/07/2009 09:42:06    333472

Saturday's display was probably nothing more than adequate. In fairness to Waterford they came to try and play football and John Kiely and his team deserve some credit for sticking to their principles and didn't revert to any negative stuff.
We won't go far if the full forward line performs as poorly from play again. Wardy was non existant from play, Farrell has got to learn to secure possesion first and not be worrying how close the full back is to him (full forward not his position) and debutant David Bray didn't show any signs of being up to the pace as indicated when he caught a short kick out and basically hadn't the speed to dispatch the ball and was pulled for overcarrying. Moyles didn't look interested but has been carrying an injury and was maybe looking after himself. Again young O'Rourke tried the short kick out to disasterous affect when gifting Waterford their second point. He kicked the resulting kick-out to the opposite 45m line where Joe collected and scored. One of his attributes is his long kick out, the further the ball is away from the goals the harder it is for the opposition to score. Backs do look suspect when the opposition run at them and some of the efforts to tackle were woefull with lads diving at the player and taking themselves out of the game. Stay on your feet and even if the player passes you by you still have a chance of getting back to assist those behind you. If your lying on your A*^e on the ground then you're no help to your colleagues. Roll on Westmeath, Mullingar will probably be packed and I'm looking forward to it. There was a good crowd in Navan on Sat so hopefully all will be out again to support next sat in Mullingar.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1210 - 06/07/2009 10:32:50    333529

Wouldnt say Tipp are a superpower either but yis managed to loose to them!! Wheres the tommy murphy cup when louth need it?? always nexy year!

mickey fluther (Meath) - Posts: 94 - 06/07/2009 12:02:03    333680

anyone else annoyed at the coverage of the game by LMFM ???? rediculously biased in favour of the louth game, hardly heard 10 mins of the meath game. ah well, at least it wont happen again this year!

Lad (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 07/07/2009 13:51:34    335588

LMFM did announce on sat afternoon that if either game was tight then they would stay with that game and go to the other game for updates. Wasn't much chance of them staying for too long at the game in Navan it was so one sided.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1210 - 07/07/2009 22:39:19    336452