Waterford match

Its important to get by the first couple of rounds and it gives time for the less fit players to have games and get upto inter county speed. Lets just hope its not another Limerick!

Triple H (Meath) - Posts: 551 - 24/06/2009 15:54:14    321907

If King is named at FF I predict the lowest attended championship match in memory.

trim1 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 24/06/2009 21:45:56    322233

king should not be at fullforward its highly unfair on the lad,though i think most people recognise its not his fault that hes up there.a strong proper team,fixing the issues from the dubs match should be put out and let them have a game together as its the best way to work on tactics.waterford will be fired up for this,i think they felt a bit disappointed in themselves after the cork game

stamullenman (Meath) - Posts: 392 - 25/06/2009 16:59:23    323083

Heard this was the Team v. Down in challenge Tuesday night: O'Rourke; O'Connor, Reilly, Harrington; King, B. Sheridan, McGuinness; Moyles, Crawford; McAnarney, J. Sheridan, Kenny; C. Ward, M. Ward, Farrell. Wouldn't look too bad if that was actually it!

HurricaneFly (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 25/06/2009 17:42:43    323134

re hurricane fly

are ye serious about brian sheridan being played at CHB against Down?

Now i mean disrespect to the lad at all but he's an inside forward, and a good one too, but playing him there would be a huge mistake. I know EOB enjoys playing backs in the forwards, but that seems like a bit of a joke. We tried this before, anyone remember David Crimmins at CHB v Dublin in 2004 i think!!!! Oh the nightmares!!!!!

Two half backs in the half forward line, i understand the tactic but it'll deprive us of scoring forwards....

And M Ward at FF, oh plese god no... as bad as King is at FF at least he can kick acrurately and score (again no disrespect to either lad in saying that, they're just not score takersof the caliber of O'Rourke, Stafford or Flynn. What we could do with just one of them in this current team)

As a 15 that team might work but not in those positions

i'd go with

O'R
CO'C-KR-EH
SK-CMG-CK
MW-NC
SMA-AM-BS
BF-JS-CW

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1998 - 25/06/2009 17:58:44    323150

The Brian Sheridan one looked a tad strange alright, heard Mark Ward scored 1-3.

HurricaneFly (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 25/06/2009 21:39:02    323282

Lads I wouldnt mind seeing B Sherindan there at all. Ive gone to a couple of Senchalstown games this year & seeing him playing at midfield & other deep positions & was very impressed by him. He also has great distribution, which is vital from there, & theres not too many of the other options that are better passers of the ball than him.

Id much rather him there than N McK again.

Overall that wasnt a bad team at all, woud actually like to see that on the 4th.

Anyone able to confirm anymore from this game?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 25/06/2009 23:35:13    323432

Does anybody have an idea where and when the challenge game against Armagh will take place? It is supposed to be today Friday.....

Green_and_Gold (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 26/06/2009 13:17:38    323874

Lads im not sure if Mark Ward at FF and Brian Sherdian at CHB are good moves...it would seem a strange time to be trying players in positions they are not used to, and both positions are vital to the overall team. Has either player ever played in these positions for club or county before? I always thought Sherdian was a natural forward I never would have seen a CHB in him, don't know if he would have the aggresion in him for this position.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 483 - 26/06/2009 16:52:57    324173

I see what your saying thunder, but, would you not agree that he would have superb distibution & vision which is also vital for the position?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 29/06/2009 22:57:39    327113

Fair point Jinxie; maybe I am a bit old fashioned but I would rather an intimidating CHB whose primary instinct is to defend; someone in the Liam Harnan mould. This is not to say that BSherdian is not good enough to be on the team because I think he is a great prospect but my fear would be that if he plays well against Waterford everyone will say he is a great CHB but when we play a decent team he will get found out.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 483 - 02/07/2009 19:13:46    330282

In regards to Brian Sheridan playing CHB - I really dont think its a good selection.
The benchmarks for this position are Conor Gormley / Graham Canty / Aidan O'Mahony / dare I say it .. Brian Cullen or Ger Brennan - each of these are specialist CHBs - powerful, athletic, spikey, skilful, etc...

From what I have seen of Brian Sheridan he is an up and coming, silken skilled, deadly accurate forward.
He is not in the mould, or mindest of any of the names above.
The current management team should be looking at how they can harnass his attacking talent into the current team,
with a view to himself, and perhaps Shane (sicknote) O'Rourke leading the Meath attack for seasons to come.

Dropping Brian into his 1st senior Championship start for Meath, into an unfamiliar position,
regardless of the allegedly weak opposition,
could be both detrimental to the team, and to the young lad's confidence himself.
Give him a run as CF, maybe let him at a few frees, and he will do well.

I would have Moyles at CHB myself.

Here's hoping for 4 busy Saturdays this July ....

Jinxy (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 02/07/2009 23:08:19    330568

Ye could talk about this all day and all night lads but there's only one way that Meath will beat Waterford and its really obvious.

Meath will have to score more than Waterford.

Any views?

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 03/07/2009 00:01:22    330633

Ah, so Squid is really Kenny Dalgleish............

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 03/07/2009 15:23:50    331201

That's the plan Meath need to adopt if they want to be successful. All right Jinxie

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 03/07/2009 16:55:24    331334

if only all people in louth(especially the players) thought like squidy, maybe then they wouldn't be so ****

an_mhi (Meath) - Posts: 154 - 03/07/2009 20:59:26    331505

Cant beleive the cockiness here. Meath supporters really dissapointed with the draw because it wont do the team any good, and not turning up because its pointless? I agree with Loyal2Royal that you can only beat whats put in front of you thats the way the draw has worked out and yeve got a 'handy passage' to the next round. Ye should treat this game the same way as any other game and go about it in a professional manner. Who cares what people say whether ye win easy or just by a few points, once you get the win thats what matters. Cant beleive the amount of crap being posted by Meath supporters. Last year ye were kicked off the field by bothe Limerick and Wexford(both predominantly hurlin counties). I seen both these games and thought ye were extremely poor and ye should worry about getting over Waterford first before ye start talking about 'resting players' ect.

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 04/07/2009 11:28:20    331790

what r u on bout? Where did we mention resting players with d exception of 2 injured players? It's far from cockyness here, but if we were to hype up Waterford he would be accusing us of making a big thing out of a game we r expected to win. I can assure u that no genuine Meath fans mean any disrespect towards Waterford.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 04/07/2009 13:04:26    331879

What!!!!!!!!!!

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 04/07/2009 13:10:23    331883

Whats the score lads?something came up down the country So I couldn't go o navan,worse still can't get lmfm..Disaster!

keep_the_faith (Meath) - Posts: 400 - 04/07/2009 20:34:31    332166