Louth V Laois - On-Line commentary

Smoooooth RLF. You get accused of not actually being there so ya pin it on me. I only gave the detail cos the lads were startin to wet themselves wondering how on earth I achieved this miracle of bilocation but Im afraid for you that its all true so youll have to start inventing fool-proof alibis. I tell ya what, send me ur address and Il post you my return bus ticket down from Belfast. Or maybe the fact that I live in Belfast and so wouldnt have been able to get radio coverage of the match yet still managed to give a surprisingly accurate account of it despite its not being televised til 9.35 pm should be evidence enough that I, unlike you, was present. Weeeell. Ok, I did tell a lie...I actually prefer Cheese & Ham toasties for tea but there ya go, Im usually a man of my word!!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/06/2009 22:42:05    311197

14/06/2009 22:42:05
spudenator
County: Laois

311197 Smoooooth RLF.

You get accused of not actually being there so ya pin it on me. I only gave the detail cos the lads were startin to wet themselves wondering how on earth I achieved this miracle of bilocation but Im afraid for you that its all true so youll have to start inventing fool-proof alibis. I tell ya what, send me ur address and Il post you my return bus ticket down from Belfast. Or maybe the fact that I live in Belfast and so wouldnt have been able to get radio coverage of the match yet still managed to give a surprisingly accurate account of it despite its not being televised til 9.35 pm should be evidence enough that I, unlike you, was present.

Weeeell. Ok, I did tell a lie...I actually prefer Cheese & Ham toasties for tea but there ya go, Im usually a man of my word!!

Had I known you had those problems I never would have engaged you. My apologies and YES YOU CAN BEAT KILDARE!!! Take it easy lad.

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 14/06/2009 22:47:11    311199

spudenator
County: Laois

311178 LILLYS V WEXFORD

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 14/06/2009 22:50:08    311204

Also I dont think corkcelt was trying to say I was pathetic...he was just asking a question! Haha!! Its a lonely creature who creates allies for himself in an argument. RLF, you are not right in the noggin boy...not right! But hey...windups are a good pastime when your a football fan from a county bereft of any possibility of success. Enjoy the outting or two ye get in a few weeks time... Sucks I know, but with Kerry, Meath, Donegal, Armagh, Monaghan, Fermamagh and hey, even Wicklow in there with ye in the draw, ye could find it pretty tough making it past the first round!! Nite nite!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/06/2009 22:50:33    311206

Problems, breaking off the engagement??... No no no you have me all wrong. I dont lie... The cheese toastie thing was a joke! Oh please RALF, Ill even call you that if you like it...dont leave me, I shant return the ring. I do like Louth; The Corrs, mythical bulls and smuggled Vodka - yer greatest exports...I love them all!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/06/2009 22:55:54    311214

Apologies tomaoo7. Well spotted!! Ive watched so many games today on the ole iplayer Ill be seeing Demot Earley in an Antrim jersey in my sleep.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/06/2009 22:58:34    311217

Dont worry spud good win today

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 14/06/2009 23:04:00    311233

I take it all back spudman you are right in the head. What was I thinking of :-0. Such obvious articulation puts me in my place.

I suppose its easy to get confused when you have just won your first Leinster title in about 1000 years or maybe it's the complete absence of All-Ireland senior football titles in Laois. When you win a few of those you can talk and not a minute before. But it will be a while and we will meet sooner than you think should you last the pace. But what a pity you couldn't jsut join in the fun and accept the narrow victory and criticism and get on with it but it must be tough for you up there all alone eh?

But hush my mouth, I too am a fan of Laois and the exports that have forced upon us. Albeit none are so gifted as the musical and literary Louth exports you mentioned. I'm thinking of those classic exports like Tom Parlon of the PDs and Odlums flour... Not that's character building and somehting to be proud of. :D :D Now which would you rather :D :D

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 14/06/2009 23:24:00    311251

14/06/2009 23:04:00
tomaoo7

311233 Dont worry spud good win today

You're right tom that's the approach to take...

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 14/06/2009 23:24:58    311252

Well, Tom Parlon was an Offaly-based TD when elected here and I think hes originally from outside the constituency, but definitely not from Laois and the PDs no longer exist...sooooo... Our actual exports include news/weather presenters (Claire Byrne, Lisa Burke and the queen of them all Eileen Dunne), Darina Allen, one the most unsung Irish revolutionaries James Fintan Lalor and Fionn MacCumhaill (which beats ye on the whole Brown Bull thing) ... Oh and most importantly, a whole bunch of Gaelic footballers whove actually one some silverwear as well as All Stars in this millenium which may not be much but It could be worse, our county could be famous more for its lack of geographical area than anything thats come out of it, thatd be kinda sad! Then again ye did have Love Is the Drug. Whyd RTE not mke another series of that? I really liked that! But oh I digress...still no medals in about a gazillion years.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/06/2009 23:48:27    311273

squidword
County: Louth

311104 Question for RALF. Did you see any tv cameras at the game in Parnell Park.

There were TV cameras there, hence the coverage last night

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/06/2009 11:34:05    311533

14/06/2009 23:48:27 spudenator County: Laois Posts: 893 311273 Well, Tom Parlon was an Offaly-based TD when elected here and I think hes originally from outside the constituency, but definitely not from Laois and the PDs no longer exist...sooooo... Our actual exports include news/weather presenters (Claire Byrne, Lisa Burke and the queen of them all Eileen Dunne), Darina Allen, one the most unsung Irish revolutionaries James Fintan Lalor and Fionn MacCumhaill (which beats ye on the whole Brown Bull thing) ... Oh and most importantly, a whole bunch of Gaelic footballers whove actually one some silverwear as well as All Stars in this millenium which may not be much but It could be worse, our county could be famous more for its lack of geographical area than anything thats come out of it, thatd be kinda sad! Then again ye did have Love Is the Drug. Whyd RTE not mke another series of that? I really liked that! But oh I digress...still no medals in about a gazillion years. Lisa Burke, absolutely well done on her. I will admit that she would almost beat the Corrs for looks. Maybe not as attractive as them but that smile does it for me. Love is the Drug was somewhat of a comedy but watchable nonetheless. What was the Laois one, was it called pure horse or something like that :D. Maybe that's comedy in the midlands!! It wasn't too bad though if you could tolerate or even understand the accent. But each to their own. But I suppose you get that attitude when you haven't ever won All-Ireland senior glory!! But seriously boss (see I can speak Laois) let's put all this nonsense behind us and get on with other matters?

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 15/06/2009 15:24:41    311989

No lets not... Im having too much fun exploiting your confusion of two key things: Offaly (the setting for Pure Mule and home of Tom Parlon) and Laois and also, the 21st Century (the one we currently live in and in which Laois had some moderate football success & Louth won zilch) and the first 57 years of the 20th Century (in which Louth won a few All Irelands, Iran was called Persia and Tommy Murphy of Graiguecullen Co. Laois was one of the eras best footballers, acknowledged by his inclusion in the team of the millenium along with this many Louth players - Zero)

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 15/06/2009 16:01:53    312099

anyone else wondering when will these two hip cat's stop skirting around it and just get together??

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 15/06/2009 16:27:27    312154

Rhodejim
County: Offaly

312154 anyone else wondering when will these two hip cat's stop skirting around it and just get together??

LOL Htaem doesn't seem to be about so I'll take his place, light a candle and sing -

I've been really tryin , baby
Tryin to hold back these feelings for so long
And if you feel, like I feel baby
Come on, oh come on,

Let's get it on
Lets get it on
Let's get it on

We're all sensitive people
With so much love to give, understand me sugar
Since we got to be
Lets say, I love you

There's nothin wrong with me
Lovin you--- And givin yourself to me can never be wrong
If the love is true

Don't you know how sweet and wonderful, life can be
I'm askin you baby, to get it on with me
I aint gonna worry, I aint gonna push
So come on, come on, come on, come on baby
Stop beatin round the bush....

Let's get it on

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 15/06/2009 16:42:48    312184

Rhodejim

312154 anyone else wondering when will these two hip cat's stop skirting around it and just get together??

I'm just waiting for him to ask!! :D

I thought he would have read between the lines by now. Oh wwhhaat does a girl have to do...

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 15/06/2009 17:18:09    312267

RLF. Ehh...will ya come to the pictures with me? XOX Miss you!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 15/06/2009 19:52:13    312489

I've been watching you alalalalalong alalalalalonglongleelonglonglong Come on alalalalalong alalalalalonglongleelonglonglong Standing across the room I saw you smile Said I wanna talk to you for a little while But before I make my move My emotions start running wild My tongue gets tied And thats no lie Im looking in your eyes Im looking in your big brown eyes (ooh yeah and Ive got this to say to you heeey) SPUD I want to make you sweat Sweat till you cant sweat no more And if you cry, ill Im gonna push it some mo-o-ore SPUD I want to make you sweat Sweat till you cant sweat no more And if you cry, ill Im gonna push it, push it push it some more alalalalalong alalalalalonglongleelonglonglong (come on) alalalalalong alalalalalonglongleelonglonglong So I say to myself if he loves me or not But the dread I know that love is here together I put a little bit of this and a little bit of that the lyrics goes on the attack my tongue gets tied and thats no lie Im looking in your eyes Im looking in your big brown eyes (ooh SPUD Ive got to say to you) Hey ! SPUD I want to make you sweat Sweat till you cant sweat no more And if you cry, ill Im gonna push it some mo-o-ore SPUD I want to make you sweat Sweat till you cant sweat no more And if you cry, ill Im gonna push it, push it push it some more alalalalalong alalalalalonglongleelonglonglong (ooh yeah) alalalalalong alalalalalonglongleelonglonglong (one more time) alalalalalong alalalalalonglongleelonglonglong (sing it) alalalalalong alalalalalonglongleelonglonglong (hey oohooh weee yeah) eyes , im looking in your brown eyes you guys are so sweet...peace and love

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 17/06/2009 12:08:19    314536

17/06/2009 12:08:19
Rhodejim

you guys are so sweet...peace and love

Not too many words I that one jimmy so can't say I'm fond of but it will suit the spud lad. Would it go with a banjo just to make him feel at home?

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 17/06/2009 12:13:16    314544