Hurley league

rebel yell

IN relation to ur comment i found it funny how shamrocks have played the most games this year!!! That will shut a few people up.. there still nt doing great though

hydrated (Down) - Posts: 39 - 02/07/2010 09:16:55    693902

Looking at the D1 table i see we our two points for the win over Ballyvarly hasn't been registered.

Tom.Mull (Down) - Posts: 108 - 03/07/2010 12:52:43    694910

Hurling Division 1
Team 1 Team 2 Venue Date Time Referee Comment
Bredagh Kilclief Bredagh 05/07/2010 19:30 Stephan Mc Greevy
Liatroim Shamrocks Liatroim 06/07/2010 19:30 Dominic Kearns Round 14
*Ballela Portaferry Ballela 07/07/2010 19:30 *TBC Round 14
Ballygalget Ballycran Ballygalget 07/07/2010 19:30 TBC Round 14
Warrenpoint Bredagh Warrenpoint 07/07/2010 19:30 David Carr Round 14
Kilclief Ballyvarley Kilclief 07/07/2010 19:30 Laim Quinn Round 14
Hurling Division 2
Team 1 Team 2 Venue Date Time Referee Comment
Carryduff Ballycran Carryduff 07/07/2010 19:30 Stephan Mc Greevy Round 14
*Portaferry Ballygalget Portaferry 07/07/2010 19:30 *TBC Round 14
Clonduff Castlewellan Clonduff 07/07/2010 19:30 Kieran Mc Guinness Round 14
Bredagh Warrenpoint Bredagh 07/07/2010 19:30 Sean Fitzsimons Round 14

rebelyell (Down) - Posts: 38 - 05/07/2010 09:18:51    696239

From the county web site - Bredagh 3-13 0-10 Kilclief.

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 06/07/2010 10:09:00    697675

does any 1 no the score of p'ferry and b'galget or was it not played in div 2

Carryduff_Abu (Down) - Posts: 206 - 08/07/2010 13:28:49    700289

Probably not played. There were Antrim league matches last night.

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 08/07/2010 13:45:38    700322

League started back last night. Any results?

Portaferry beat Laitroim handy enough. 4-16 to 1-7. Liatoim arrived late an didnt get warmed up where as our lads had been on the pitch for half an hour and hit them hard at the start.

Seannie Og (Down) - Posts: 952 - 29/07/2010 08:10:36    727782

has the hurlin in Down finished now. Dont c n e div1 or 2 games fixtured lately. its probably on the back foot now with all the hype about the "big ball" no championship games? no betsy grey? No McCrickard? any 1 no?

cahill (None) - Posts: 2567 - 04/08/2010 14:50:06    735746

went on 2 the official Down web site clicked on 2 fixture and results, then club to check the championship draws. thought I'd check the foball first and low and be hold, senior fixtures dates and refs given, intermediate fixtures dates and refs given, junior fixtures dates and refs given, (looks promising). clicked onto the hurling championship intermediate fixtures, wated 4 it to come up and waited and waited.............ah there mus b somhin rong with the page! clicked onto the junior championship fixtures and waited and waited and waitttttttttted.......... there must b a logical answer, all the fooball championship fixtures r posted so the hurlin pages must b broke down. surely that can b the only reason.

cahill (None) - Posts: 2567 - 04/08/2010 15:07:23    735775

If anything the success of the footballers should help the running off of the hurling fixtures as all the football fixtures will be on hold. The likes of Newry and Liatroim should be bursting to get games as their dual players won't be playing football.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 04/08/2010 16:34:15    735903

Get you warm coats out again lads these fixtures are heading towards october/ november and as i recall over countless years the county board will just say sort it out between ye. Sad

leoboyle (Down) - Posts: 159 - 04/08/2010 17:00:07    735963

Cran III's beat Carryduff up in McKenna last night

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 05/08/2010 09:09:56    736428

I see Bredagh won Div 4A of the Antrim League and gained promotion last night beating St Galls seconds, seems to be steady progression up in Bredagh, fair play.

ancamanmor (Down) - Posts: 30 - 05/08/2010 09:49:39    736452

How do Bredagh field teams in Antrim 4A, Down Div 1 and Div 2? Have they 3 adult teams?

They really have come from nowhere to being a good hurling club in 3 or 4 years. How did they do it and can other clubs copy there approach?

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 05/08/2010 12:17:18    736641

Frank, Bredagh have the 2 Adult teams and as you have stated play in Antrim and 2 Down divisions. The seconds play in Down div 2 and have just started. Its great to see the way hurling has taken off in South Belfast over the last number of years, this is down to the dedication and committment of a lot of hard working people within the club.

Square ball (None) - Posts: 62 - 05/08/2010 12:53:15    736687

I was up at Bredagh one Saturday in June with our u12s. The number of kids they have playing hurling and camogie is unbelievable! There were hundreds of them from u6 to u16. Cherryvale was full of kids, coaches and parents. I actually thought there was a couple of clubs training that day but they told me its the same every week.

There's no real secret to what they are doing - they have some really good coaches and with good PR and hard work theyve convinced all the local kids that hurley is "cool". Theyve work hard with a couple of teams that have talent and with a bit of under age success it attacts more kids and so they continue to grow.

The same approach could work in places with a big population like Newry, Downpatrick & Carryduff if they had a strong committee to make it happen.

Seannie Og (Down) - Posts: 952 - 05/08/2010 13:25:00    736737

there's no secrets to Bredagh, well organised and work hard at the youth. Get them plenty of games and they'll be happy. It'll take them another 5 to 10 years of the same to compete at senior level but they'll get there and stay there.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 05/08/2010 13:56:05    736795

Youse make it sound simple. If it was that simple others would have done it long ago!

For a start if youve hunderds of kids wantin to hurl you'll need about 30-40 good coaches to look after them. How did a club with no hurling tradition suddently get all these great hurley coaches?

Theres something goin on. We're not been told the hole story.

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 05/08/2010 14:26:16    736869

I suppose they'd a bit of help from lads now living in the area who are originally from hurling area's such as Ballycastle, Ballycran and the likes who got heavily involved but that'd take away from the way they've organised themselves particularly at juvenile level.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 05/08/2010 16:16:04    737085

we have coaches from "Hurling Areas" but we are training our own and we have senior players also now coaching. we have a well structered and dedicated committee who work very hard to promote the game. we have no magic formula, just hard work and kids that want to play the game.

Square ball (None) - Posts: 62 - 06/08/2010 12:39:10    737947