Who will win 2009 senior championship?

its a mixed message because its tough to call.
it depends when they meet. glenties nearly always rise their game for eunans so i think they could shock them.

winger (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 15/01/2009 16:23:05    181409

I think its funny people stating that attitude is one of the main reasons for Eunans being installed as early county champions favourites, when 2/3 years ago people were saying they had the best players but didnt have the attitude, commitment or the bottle.
What has changed?
I think Michael McGeehan will be a huge loss to Eunans this year, now that he has joined the county set up.

There was more the him with eunans credit must go to O Boyle he had a very big part to play, he was their manager and even if mcgeehan did coach the team i heard he was not always their as he works away alot. Also i here from some of the county players the mcgeehan is not giving up coaching eunans he is staying on with them as well.

underthebar (Donegal) - Posts: 41 - 15/01/2009 16:26:45    181412

ardara are set as underdogs this year and will be quietly confident.nobody here giving them a chance even though they got closest to beating eunans in a big game this year??lot of good young players now coming through

fullforward (Donegal) - Posts: 14 - 15/01/2009 20:36:24    181759

Guys without a shadow of doubt,the black and amber will romp the champ and league again this year and prob quite easily too..The players just go through the motions in games against poor opposition from within the county but when its put up to them, then they really step up to the mark big time and play pure football in the right spirit(unlike filth from Glenties) and can destroy teams quite easily.. McGeehan at the head..Any coach could win things with that bunch of talented,determined,successful and commited players.... He is stayin as coach to o boyle next year.. Bring on 09 and the challenge from within...

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1698 - 16/01/2009 22:56:41    182770

eunans are not going to win champ this year for the last two years they have come up against two team that played well coming to the final and when they got there then you would think they forgot how to play football. glenswilly would of won in 07 if they played anything but sadly was not ment to be hopefuly some day but. i think that eunans are not hard to beat in some ways for the year we won the champ in 06 it was said that we had no hope and after the we had a draw the frist day papers had said we miss the boat but we(noamh conaill) came on the picth and went at the them eunans did not know what to do best day ever seen the cup coming throw the town. if any team this year put a game to eunans and keep donkey harren quite its any ones champ still i think...... noamh conaill ( every one back fit hard to beat) gweedore ( play lower div so going to be well rested) glenswilly ( staying up this year is going to boost them)

jethro (Donegal) - Posts: 13 - 17/01/2009 04:56:40    182887

what do you mean filth from glenties?.
mabye eunans4ever should start ringing people to try and get a few supporters for the up nd coming season.
when eunans won the league there was more glenties players on the field than eunans supporters.
Eunans dont know what its like to have a decent homecoming as no1 would go out to welcome them home. when glenties won the championship in 2005 it changed glenties football.
the reason it looks so bad on the glenties behalf is because they out number every1 else.
dont be jealous of glenties and stop making pointless remarks when you cant back them up.!

winger (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 19/01/2009 22:30:05    184361

this topic was posted to findout peoples opinions on this years championship . not for insulting glenties ;like eunans4ever with his fowlmouth outburst . so winger i suggest u dont even dignify it with an answer.he s probably from SLIAGO or WESTMEATH not even letterkenny; as you pointed out thay dont have meny true supporters.

manager2 (Donegal) - Posts: 208 - 20/01/2009 19:20:27    185314

thanks manager2.
nice to see som1 else with a the same point of view.

winger (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 20/01/2009 22:04:07    185494

It's hard to look past Eunan's. Team with the best panel and also the panel that puts in the most effort throughout the year. However if Gweedore, Glenties or Kilcar could put in the same application week in week out then they have the players to challenge them but it remains to be seen.

pauliewalnuts (Donegal) - Posts: 78 - 21/01/2009 10:48:38    185832

Haha winger what is there to be jealous about? That yous Havent won a county title in a few years?

ayeboy (Donegal) - Posts: 33 - 21/01/2009 16:59:42    186185

jealous of our loyal supporters that some clubs only dream of having.
read manger2s comment he verified that eunans have no support.
jealous of the fact that we won 3 u21 titles in a row and were only missing 3 players for next year. one other club in the county has acheived this in the 70s and the underage structure in the club is one of the best..

answer your question?!

winger (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 21/01/2009 17:52:52    186288

well said winger at least when we get to a final we dont have to lay on any free busses to get our supporters to mccumhaill park

tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 21/01/2009 18:30:59    186334

To be honest with the glenties lads here they prob have as much talent and potential as Eunans, if not more. But the 2005 final was a brutal game of football and they played some horrible negative football. If I was a glenties man I wouldnt open my mouth to the Eunans lads until you start putting it up to them on a regular basis at senior level.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 22/01/2009 09:13:26    186789

Here here Seaniesense, very apt name you have there. Glenties talent is undoubted but too fond of the oul chat. Eunans do their talking on the field. Naomh Conaill (seniors) take note.

vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 22/01/2009 13:20:18    186956

the comments of the glenties supporters were all answered on the topic not so long ago.. why keep bringing it up? its the only thing people can find wrong with glenties.. grow up theres nothin wrong with supportin your team in a heartfull manner. glenties supporters just care about their team

winger (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 22/01/2009 16:45:16    187239

hey winger you should start say the clubs name not the place the feild is the club is called noamh conaill NOT glenties and to every one else yes we are going to be up for champ this year and the more ye go on about everything else the more it shows that ye know that we are a team to be scared of this year

jethro (Donegal) - Posts: 13 - 23/01/2009 07:34:59    187697

What are you on about winger?! You don't see any other fans from big clubs coming on here saying they are going to do this and do that. What have glenties done in the championship since '05 and did they are not even an established Div1A side compared to some of the others! It probably hurts me more than it hurts you to say it but we are after coming through a year where Eunans were far and away the best club in the county. And I know you keep bringing up the 3 U-21s ina row and its a great achievement, but come on its a competition scattered across the year that no team really takes seriously unless they find themselves in the semi's come Nov.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 23/01/2009 09:18:53    187727

i am sorry if i offended you jethro but i meant no harm by it.
i know that eunans were the team to beat and i never said different.
the statement i answered was when NAOMH CONAILL were accused of playing like filth..

winger (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 23/01/2009 20:51:55    188381

As a Eunans person I would like to congratulate Naomh Conaill on winning three in a row U.21 championships its a great achievement to win any three in a row championships. I would also like to clarify to Mr Tidytown that as a mentor with St.Eunans Minor Bord that the supporters he refers to as being bused to the co.final are our underage players from u.14 down mainly and I must compliment the adult club members who supervise and travel along with them so its a club thing Mr Tidytowns man and not a gather up.Also I would like to point out that traditionally the bulk of St.Eunans suppoerters stand on the terrace of McCumhaill Park and behind the goals on either end if they were to all sit in the stand then there would be very little room for the opposition support and the large number of A.O.B.s that turn up hoping to see Eunans beat every year but I suppose thats the way all of us are we all like to see the underdog winning.As a GAA person I wish Naomh Conaill all the best in the future in my opinion they will be serious contenders this year in Donegal as they like Eunans have put a lot into their developement and as one former 92 player said its up to the rest of the clubs in the county to do the same.

Pointer (Donegal) - Posts: 1200 - 24/01/2009 11:35:37    188567

i thought this was about who will win the championship not abusing other clubs and their fans (eunans4ever) but comments like that do not say much 4 u as asupporter.eunans are probably favs but could be upset by naomh conaill if they can carry on and improve a bit by bringing in more of their u21s to add to an already reasonably strong team

ncultra (Donegal) - Posts: 27 - 24/01/2009 15:18:48    188671