Meath V Dublin - 16 Like(s)
Replying To royaldunne: "Ahh we have a lot of sore other counties that still fixated on Meath. Which is very strange. Shows maybe why Dublin have such a stranglehold on championship, most counties only care about Meath. A team that won't win a all ire in the near future." ''Most counties only care about Meath''
You have just hit a new level of delusion royaldunne...which i didn't think was possible
ConnollyDub (National) - 07/07/2021 10:32:58
Tyrone Team For Eurovision - 15 Like(s)
He should be apologising to his players for apologising in the first place...
What the hell has he got to apologise for??
I mean this is the orange order we are talking about here, a group of sectarians/anti-irish cathloic that sing stuff like "up to our neck in fenian blood" while marching through Catholic areas trying to antagonise people...
ConnollyDub (National) - 09/07/2019 22:53:26
All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry - 9 Like(s)
And let's not forget Pat Spillane putting pressure on the Gaa to ban Dermot Connolly with his fake "outrage" of the "assault" on the ref which got Connolly a 12 week ban and ultimately was an early career ender for one of the best footballers to ever play the game.
ConnollyDub (National) - 19/07/2023 10:03:08
Can Success Be Bought With Money? - 9 Like(s)
Incoming bitter Kerrymen in 3....2....1...
ConnollyDub (National) - 12/10/2020 12:50:31
Kerry V Dublin - 9 Like(s)
First time on HS since before the final as I've been partying hard for days. But i just said Id come on here and offer my commiserations to you. Them two games were a brilliant advertisement of our games and Ive no doubt this Kerry team will win Sam in the not too distant future.
To the usual suspects KingdomFan, TheHermit, legendz, etc etc. I see your still spouting the same tripe. It is beyond an obsession at this stage, get help lads...honestly Id say the true Kerry gaels on here are embarrassed by your constant excuses....
Winter well...
ConnollyDub (Kerry) - 18/09/2019 16:21:17
38 In-A-Row - 9 Like(s)
Replying To legendzxix: "Ballymacarbry completed an astonishing 38-in-a-row of Waterford senior ladies football titles yesterday when they came from behind to beat Comeragh Rangers by 1-14 to 0-14 in Leamybrien.
The Dublin footballers' five-in-a-row pales into significance when compared to Ballymac's incredible winning streak. Their long reign looked to be coming to an end when Comeragh led by 0-7 to 0-1 after 21 minutes, but a goal from captain and player of the match Sinead Ryan left it 1-3 to 0-9 at the break, and the holders kicked on in the second half to secure another county title thanks to late points from Ryan, Brigita Valuntaite and Aileen Wall.
When Ballymacarbry - which is a small village situated between Clonmel and Dungarvan - won the first of their county titles in 1981, they were managed by current former Waterford and Westmeath hurling manager Michael Ryan, who guided them to numerous county, Munster and All-Ireland successes thereafter. His daughters Michelle, Louise and Sinead have been mainstays of the team, with Sinead accounting for 1-9 of their tally yesterday." split ballymacarby in 4
ConnollyDub (National) - 24/09/2019 09:37:41
Cork's Commemorate Jersey - 8 Like(s)
Replying To suckvalleypaddy: "Cork are the rebel county, they say, so FairPlay. Every county has them. I wonder would the GAA allow the Hunger Strikers on jerseys? 40th Anniversary coming up? I'm fine with it." brilliant idea.
ConnollyDub (National) - 21/02/2020 14:08:42
Rose Tinted Glasses. - 7 Like(s)
Does anyone even listen to KingdomBoy anymore?
I mean we are all guilty of having our judgement clouded by bias, but his/her judgement is clouded by bitterness.
Seriously it cant be just us Dubs that notice this... its plain for all to see!!! The obsession is incredible
ConnollyDub (National) - 24/06/2021 10:44:53
Best Of This Generation - 7 Like(s)
Replying To TheHermit: "[quote=ConnollyDub: "My god your like a broken record.
Lads i think were all fed up of the Kerry lads ruining threads. So.. instead of having the same argument over and over again and going around in circles., I'm proposing we just respond to them with this simple reply: "5INAROW;)''" If highlighting and articulating relevant points is "ruining a thread" then maybe you guys need to seriously think about what the point of an internet forum like this is.
But you go ahead and use your childish hastags if it makes you feel better."]5INAROW;)
ConnollyDub (National) - 09/10/2020 14:00:34
Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 7 Like(s)
Meath lads trying to make out that they have the same chance of an upset against the dubs as donegal would.
Gas craic altogether.
Let me tell you lads us Dublin supporters know the difference.
We play Donegal, the nerves would be at us. Although id still fancy us to win, we know in a one off game Donegal are very capable of causing an upset. Any team with the likes of Michael Murphy, Paddy McBrearty and Ryan McHugh deserves respect. Some of the best footballers in the country. All Ireland Medals in their back pocket.
We play Meath, no nerves, no excitement. A forgone conclusion. A dublin win, no if, buts or maybes....
ConnollyDub (National) - 20/06/2019 10:02:23
HS Readers' Football Team Of The Decade - Goalkeeper - 7 Like(s)
Have to a laugh at all the Kerry posters voting Clarke. No disrespect to Clarke, great goalie. But come on, GK of the decade!!!!!! No chance!!!!
Them Kerry boys sure are hurting badly.
Winter well lads!
ConnollyDub (National) - 05/12/2019 14:34:44
MONEY - 6 Like(s)
Replying To traleegerry: "Right all you real Gaa buffs. Can we have a serious discussion on the money Dublin Gaa receive I can accept that as per head of population there is nothing wrong with the amount they receive as every other county receives the same per head of population so no prob there. Where the problem lies is and being honest I will tell you what people think in our 32 county Gaa world they are asking them self's does the Dublin goal keeper S. C GET OUT OF BED EVERY MORNING AND GO TO HIS PLACE OF Work I. E a lecturer in DCU I think and give lectures. If the Dubs want to quash these constant jibes about money let some body come out yes he does go to his place of work and lecture and do let us the last time at the very when he did and the same applies to the rest of the Dublin squad or is it that the squad are being paid as full time professionals and do not go to work at all. That is what people think that is where the funds are going to keep these guys as full time pros for 6 months of the year. No other county can afford this so it it is not a level playing field for all. I have done my research here in kerry and have done some research in Cork as well and the majority of the players are going to work and training. Would some in Dublin clear it up and it will stop the snipping. Tell the truth and if you do not know research it and confirm what is true" Oh dear
another ridiculous thread about Dublin set up by a Kerryman
Those lads are really hurting my god
ConnollyDub (National) - 24/09/2019 11:04:15
Kieran Donaghy Wants GAA To Shut Down GAA Forums - 6 Like(s)
I agree with him to a point.. But i think the main issue hands down is social media. People that haven't a clue about our games spouting rubbish and attacking individual players. Most people that join GAA forums like this one and others are GENERALLY more knowledgeable and a share a love of Gaelic Games.
ConnollyDub (National) - 19/02/2020 11:56:07
Kerry V Tyrone. - 6 Like(s)
Replying To Aibrean: "Surely, an 'expansive creative team' like Dublin would have no bother hammering a 'blanket defensive outfit' like Kerry every time??" Maybe not hammering you lot every time, but make no mistake about it, we have no bother beating you when it matters every single time ;)
ConnollyDub (National) - 10/02/2020 16:57:02
The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices - 6 Like(s)
I know this topic has been done to death but this is an article the owl lad wrote so just thought I'd throw it on here...
The Dubs, The Monies and the Prejudices.
The Dublin football team's quest for five in a row is causing a lot of angst among commentators and journalists alike. Fearing that no team can stop them they are getting their retaliation in first before their worst nightmares are realised.
The Sunday Game programme last Sunday provided the live coverage of the Leinster football final between Dublin and Meath. The programme opened up with a 'Prime Time Special' which could have been titled "Oh My God, How Has It Come To This" in relation to Dublin's football success. It honed in on the amount of monies that Dublin GAA receive from headquarters to run their business and one was left in no doubt that it was this factor that was the real reason for Dublin's success. Back to the studio and despite Ciaran Whelan's gallant protestations that this present Dublin team could in no way be impacted by Dublin's general increase in funding and that they and their Manager are of exceptional talent, the host, Joanne Cantwell kept coming back with "But what about the money?"
The hope, seemingly, is that if you keep throwing the mud, it will stick..
Is it plausible that in any other sport across the world when TV coverage of the final of a competition between two teams that it would include the finances of one of those teams for nearly half of that match's playing time?
And before we lose all reality altogether, all these players are amateurs!!
Other commentators and journalists alike play to their base by acting the bull in the Dublin football china shop.
Diarmuid Connolly was one of the finest pieces of china around. He is gone now. Before the false narrative of the money came into play he filled their column inches and us Dubs feel that a genuine injustice was done to an amateur genius like him.
-But what about the money?
If you are going to equate funding and Dublin GAA success well let's just have a closer look.
In 2016, Mayo were the biggest spenders on their Inter county teams with €1.6m followed by Dublin, Cork, Galway, Tipperary and Roscommon respectively as those having spent over €1million.
In 2017 Cork were the biggest spenders on their intercounty teams with €1.7m expended followed by Dublin, Mayo, Galway, Limerick, Tipperary and Kerry respectively as those having expended over €1million.
While not having the breakdown for 2018 it is Galway who top the list with €1.8m
Kerry was going for five in a row in 1982. In their first final in 1979 they beat Dublin by 17 pts. In the following finals they beat Dublin again, by 11 pts, Roscommon by 3 pts and Offaly by 7 pts respectively, before succumbing to that famous last minute goal by Offaly's Seamus Darby in the 1982 final.
Dublin's present quest for five in a row started in 2015 when they beat Kerry by 3pts, Mayo by 1pt in 2016 (after a replay), Mayo again by 1pt in 2017 and Tyrone by 6pts in 2018. In the four finals combined Kerry won their finals by a collective margin of 38pts as against Dublin's 11pts.. Was there a collective scratching of heads as to what could be done about Kerry's dominance.. Was there an inquest into the type of grass that was growing in Kerry?, into what type of eggs that the Kerry hens were laying?
My recollection of that time is that all the talk was of how good this Kerry team and their Manager, Mick O'Dwyer were.
But what about the money?
Now let us look at some other facts that eh.. sort of exposes the not so extraordinary success of Dublin GAA.
In hurling, Kilkenny have won 11 senior Hurling titles since 2000. Was there an inquest into the type of magic that cats in Kilkenny were casting on their players? How many titles have Dublin Hurlers won in that period? How many finals have they competed in during that period.. The answer, sadly, is none to both of those questions. In fact it is 1938 since Dublin last won a senior hurling title. 81 long years and do you know what folks, there was only one Dublin man, Jim Byrne in the team.
Dublin have won one Minor football All Ireland since 1984. Kerry have won seven, including five in a row that they completed last year.. and it could go on.
Dublin last won a Minor Hurling All Ireland in 1965. Since then Kilkenny have won 14 titles, Galway 12, Cork 11 and Tipperary 8.
Dublin Camogie haven't won an All Ireland since 1984.
In the period since then Cork have won 14 titles, Kilkenny have won 9, Tipperary 5 and Wexford 4.
Dublin has not even contested a final since then.
- But what about the money?
Between 2005 and 2016 Cork ladies football, have won 11 all Ireland titles, 5 in a row (2005 -2009) and 6 in a row (2011-2016) with only Dublin stopping them in 2010 from winning.. TWELVE IN A ROW.
- But what about the money?
Dublin GAA has many problems. Large Dublin areas have no GAA at all in them. Finglas, with a bigger population than Leitrim has only one GAA club, Erins Isle. Clondalkin, with a population of nearly 50,000 also has only one GAA club, Round Towers, the Club of Jim Gavin. Neither clubs have competed at the top level of Dublin GAA for many years now. GAA in all working class areas of Dublin is seriously under threat and it seems that the powers that be are silent on this and are prepared to concede these heavily populated areas to soccer. Over the years both Gaelic Games and Soccer have done a decent job in deprived areas of Dublin. For areas like these to lose an established body like the GAA will lead to serious social consequences for those same areas down the road.
These areas could do with massive GAA investment.. ah but you know yourself..
So what about the money?
Definitely look again at the distribution of monies but don't base it on the Dublin model because the Dublin model, if you were to base it on money, success, participation and retention has failed dramatically. No doubt, the investment deficits that I have outlined above in Dublin are badly needed across all counties.
And please Mr.& Mrs Croke Park when you are adding up your projected income for next year and beyond please drop the Sky package so that the 60 year-old man or woman all across Ireland who have probably spent all their lives looking after GAA teams can watch their county team play through the TV licence money that they pay to the National Broadcaster.
And finally back to this great Dublin Football team.
As the then club manager of Clanna Gael Fontenoy GAA club in Ringsend I witnessed first-hand the changes that were introduced in 2010 after Meath had beaten them in the Leinster semi-final and put five goals past them in doing so. They were so unlucky to lose out to Cork in the All Ireland semi-final later that summer. In the winter months that followed they gathered in our clubhouse at 8.00pm each Sunday night. Sunday night!!.. Down at the back pitch beside the beach and as cold a wind that would test the Russian Ice Hockey team, blowing in from the Irish Sea. When everyone else was winding down and heading for the leaba to prepare for the week ahead these guys were testing out the changes that Pat Gilroy and Mickey Whelan were trying to implement in an A v B match. This was probably their 5th or 6th gathering of the week. It was very much stop start. Mickey Whelan played bad Cop, screaming at players if they got it wrong and Pat Gilroy, the good Cop, putting a consoling hand on the offending player's back and whispering to him what he did wrong in the game plan..
I kicked the ball back to Stephen Cluxton a few times from behind the goal. Little did I know then that he was to change the face of Gaelic Football forever.
They usually pulled out of our Car Park at 10.00 each Sunday night. It was nights like these, I believe, as they tried to incorporate a defensive strategy , that the basis for the success of this football team's era was laid and by getting over that long 16 year wait the following September.
In came Jim Gavin and with all the polishing cloths of a Dublin nanny doing her brasses years ago, put the finishing shines to a steely exterior.
And running parallel to all of this were the likes of a man named Paddy Christie who with others and against all the odds were producing players from Ballymun, one of Dublin's most socially deprived areas. Ballymun Kickhams have produced the backbone of players throughout this reign and incredibly their players hold 26 All Ireland medals between them since 2011. What some of these players achieved in the face of such adversity is nothing short of incredible. Absolute Heroes!!
This achievement alone lays folly the notion that money is a contributor to this wonderful, incredible, fantastic and exhilarating Dublin Football team.
If other counties believe the fake news well then it will be longer still before they break their dominance.
Deep down they know what has to be done, and they know it has nothing to do with money.
Suck it up folks!!!!!
Shay Connolly
ConnollyDub (National) - 27/06/2019 15:31:22
Why Mayo Cant Win An All-Ireland - 6 Like(s)
I never understand the mayo fans constantly praising the mayo team for being "gallant losers". "Ah sure it just wasn't our day" bla blah blah... until you lose this attitude you will win nothing. There comes a point where you just have to say ah here lads enough is enough. You should be outraged. Outraged at the team for not giving it their best shot AGAIN. Outraged at management for making poor decisions AGAIN. Outraged that Tyrone looked like the team that wanted it more. Just like the games with Dublin in 16 & 17, when the game was in the melting pot, Dublin refused to be beaten and just wanted it more. How the hell could any team want it more than mayo after all they've been through. I'm sorry lads but the time for taps on the back is over..... it's not good enough. The mayo team has consistently let you lot as fans down. It's time to be outraged. Less praise more outrage. The mayo team has become too comfortable with losing, and the fans congratulating them on losing doesn't help. 11 finals 0 wins in 30 years. There is not another sport in the world you will see a record even remotely close to that.
ConnollyDub (National) - 12/09/2021 12:39:32
The Laois Rising. - 6 Like(s)
Congrats to laois. I was super confident of a Dublin win and I make no apologies for it. I just couldn't see laois troubling us, how wrong was I...
Absolutely devastated..
As for a dub coming on here straight away and saying he's "delighted" for laois. Embarrassing stuff. And you can give me all the "I'm only a football fan" malarkey all you want. Respect lost for you wayno.
Maybe it's just me but I could never support anyone over my own county... NEVER
ConnollyDub (National) - 07/07/2019 17:57:55
Boycott Leinster Championship 2020 - 5 Like(s)
Replying To jimbodub: "Meath bottle it in final, kicking ludicrous wides, missing sitter free kicks, tactically inept, daft positional decisions from sideline. They let themselves down.
= Boycott Leinster
Eamon Callaghan wasn't calling for a boycott when Kildare lost against Carlow or Wicklow this decade or recently taken to a replay against Longford
Kildare are going through a very poor run at senior level. They've had a lot of impressive success at underage, why hasn't that berm brought forward.
Why won't Flynn play this season?
How about being hammered at home by Tyrone recently? How about getting embarrassed by Kerry last year!
All the same applies for Meath...
Both traditional counties are nowhere near the level to win major competitions
"Once great competition"
Dublin has always dominated Leinster. Only 2-3 teams have won the vast bulk of titles, Dublin owning the overwhelming chunk.
Across the 00's (A record equalling low seen in Dublin GAA history)
A poor enough Dublin side were numerous deficiencies were still good enough to win multiple titles in a row in Leinster and then couldn't beat anyone outside of Leinster!
Won multiple titles with ease and then weren't up to the standard outside it.
Leinster was described as the reason for Dublin's collapses, not enough competition, easy route, unprepared for battle, Croke Park was touted as a disadvantage etc
This was before all the perceived advantages.
A poor Dublin team was still good enough.
Leinster's problems go way back!
Yes it's gone very poor now but that's taking away the progress that Longford, Carlow and Westmeath have gained against traditional counties like Meath, Kildare, Offaly
Now I do agree that the Leinster council haven't helped at all and the introduction of the season ticket and the large uptake allocated has limited the options of where Dublin games can be played. They have no doubt picked €€€ over substance. This though has nothing to do with Dublin.
I would 100% be in favour of Dublin playing more games outside of HQ and if that means less revenue generated then so be it.
But what can be done? It's all been democratically voted in to keep it the way it is.
Hats off to Donegal for putting forward the idea of getting Dublin to play their game outside of HQ in Super 8's
But they were left in the cold by almost every other county
Dublin having such a large population will always receive more funding. That's not going to stop, it'll be reduced as has been happening in the last few years, it's dropped and it'll drop further but that's not going to impact much.
I'm telling you now.. the poor enough 00's Dub team would still be winning multiple titles this decade. They'd be more than good enough to beat the likes of Kildare and Meath considering they haven't been good enough this decade to beat Wicklow, Carlow, Longford and Westmeath
They'd have still been easily good enough to win multiple titles in a row just like they did in the 00's
So boycott all you want. You'll still get hammered outside of Leinster by the best teams who are equally miles ahead
The All Ireland series has been hugely competitive this decade.
Unfortunately Leinster hasn't. It hasn't been for for a long time." Jimbo you've hit the nail on the head there.
Sums it up perfectly.
Its much easier to blame Dublin for your own shortcomings than admitting that you've been a woeful side for donkeys years now
Everyone should have a read of this
ConnollyDub (National) - 02/07/2019 10:50:22
Best Of This Generation - 5 Like(s)
Replying To jimbodub: "Kerrygold is indeed a beautiful butter
Just a brand name picked from many options
A brand created by Tony O'Reilly
A Northside Dublin man from Griffith Avenue, Drumcondra, my neck of the woods.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/business/agribusiness-and-food/kerrygold-becomes-ireland-s-first-billion-euro-food-brand-1.3876158%3fmode=amp
The brand was originally created by Sir Anthony O'Reilly in 1962, when he was chief executive of, what was then called An Bord Bainne, later the Irish Dairy Board, and more recently Ornua, as a means to market Irish dairy produce globally.
The Kerrygold brand name was chosen from a list of 60 suggestions, which included Buttercup, Tub-o-Gold and Leprechaun, and first launched in the UK. Its global success has had a lot to do with slick marketing and advertising campaigns over the years." ah jaysus them poor kerry lads cant catch a break.
First we took their record away of 4 Sams in a row by winning 5 in a row.... And now your telling me the Famous Kerrygold actually belongs to us!!!!!
Come on Jimbo less of that. Let them have the butter they've had a tough couple of years
ConnollyDub (National) - 08/10/2020 11:46:36
MONEY - 5 Like(s)
Replying To TheUsername: "There seems to be something sinister to my mind particularly in the Kerry mindset and probably some individuals in other counties that they think its ok to pry into someones private life.
We saw it with David Gough, where he worked, where he lived, where his family of origin lived, where he was involved with his club.
Now we have lads googling where Dublin players work, what gives people the right to think that is ok, lads play football at an amateur level and have civil rights in regards to privacy and safety for both themselves and their families.
Its a really sinister aspect that is creeping into the game and its actually quite concerning. Why do people feel they have the right to cross the boundary into someones personal life? Why are Kerry fans at the vanguard finding out all this information, what right do they have to do this?
This comes on foot of comments by Paul Flynn today saying inter county lads have missed work of a Monday morning over abuse they have received on Social Media.
Its wrong and dangerous and you really have to question the mindset of some asking these questions, more worryingly the potential for safety if any of this information becomes well known in the public domain.
Wont be long until someone takes a data protection case, with the new GDPR legislation," Between attacks on David Gough, Dublin players and just all round begrudging , never ending excuses for losing and constant bitterness....i feel its left a bad taste in everyone's mouth...and not just Dubs
IMO the Kerry lads have really really let themselves down the last few weeks.
the mask has slipped
ConnollyDub (National) - 24/09/2019 12:41:33