Donegal GAA thread - 5 Like(s)
Replying To rorysboys: "You seem to care a lot about na Rossa. Enlighten me . We're you in croker lad . No doubt you were." RorysBoys you're never wrong! Anyone with an opinion is lambasted. You call this sub a farce yet you are the one keeping the farce alive. Maybe time to have a good hard look at yourself and re-read what you're writing. I'd say you're good craic to go for a pint with. People must be scared to say anything around you in case they get completely lambasted for having an opinion.
The majority opinion in this sub is that Bonner isn't getting the most out of this team. For having such an opinion is wrong and farcical for some reason.
Yes, Donegal have been unlucky with injuries this season but since 2018 Donegal haven't produced a performance when it mattered to qualify for a semi final. We are all judging Bonner on the performance of the team since 2018. Expectations are high in Donegal and especially with this squad of players, expectations should rightly be high because they are very talented.
Normally, if a team is under achieving there is often times a change in the management team. Yes, we have won 2 Ulster titles since Bonner took over which is great and would have been a dream come true back in the noughties but it's now 2022 and we have surpassed that point in Donegal GAA where settling for an Ulster title isn't good enough anymore. Whether you like it or not, it's the truth.
So go on now and lambast me for having an opinion which resonates with the majority of posters in this sub.
MurphBalls (National) - 22/03/2022 16:23:50
Football Championship 2021 - 5 Like(s)
Replying To meath1977: "no I say you would have won 0 the same as us .. as ye have got good hammerings off Dublin over the last 5 years .. so look at your own county first and with the players ye have why have ye underachieved" Define Hammerings? If we got hammered against them then I'd love to know how you describe the beatings that Meath have taken against them.
MurphBalls (National) - 30/06/2021 16:16:47
Sunday Game 2022 Fixtures Announced - 4 Like(s)
Replying To foreveryoung: "Florida is 5 hours behind Ireland. It sounds so ironic as we are so far ahead in so many other areas. So, quite often the late evening games, say 7 pm start don't suit me, as it's almost 2 am here by the time they end.
So, for me, it's far easier to get up at 7 am on a Sunday morning here and watch the game on Catch Up on GAAGo. GAAGo is good. I pay less for all their games than I would by going to one baseball game. It's probably the same if you go to Thurles or CP. By the time you account for gas, tickets, kids, etc. you've almost the cost of GAAGo spent.
I rarely watch Gaelic football. Hurling is the boyo though. I've been following hurling for nigh on 50 years now. And the game has never been better.
I've also been following Gaelic football for about the same length of time. Technically the the players are smarter, fitter and faster than their counterparts in the 70's and 80's. From
a players perspective the game is years ahead of what it used to be. But from my perspective, and I'm sure that many other spectators on here feel the same, the game has totally regressed. It's not just a hard sell. It's a bad sell.
Of course, I'd chew the head off a player if he easily gave possession away, were I a manager. However, it was that human error, the high ball in, the 50-50 ball that contributed so much to the excitement of the game in the bygone era. The percentage possession game has taken away all that excitement and also has diminished the kicking aspect of the game.
I could probably find about 9 elite American soldiers who have played basketball to a very competent level, and mix them in with 6 good inter-county standard kickers of the ball; train well for 6 months or so, and they'd probably hold their own with any inter-county team. 6 kickers is all you need nowadays in the game: a keeper, one in defense, one or two around the mid-field area and two strikers.
So, I for one, am delighted that it's 75% hurling. And better still, I hear that all of Limerick's four hurling games in Munster (where the hurling is really real) are gonna be shown." "I could probably find about 9 elite American soldiers who have played basketball to a very competent level, and mix them in with 6 good inter-county standard kickers of the ball; train well for 6 months or so, and they'd probably hold their own with any inter-county team. 6 kickers is all you need nowadays in the game: a keeper, one in defense, one or two around the mid-field area and two strikers."
^^^^^^
Is this real? Possibly one of the silliest things I will ever read.
MurphBalls (National) - 19/04/2022 12:03:51
Donegal GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Replying To rorysboys: "Where's this great talent that bonner and rochford were holding back last year.. not much noise from the armchair supporters now. I've followed Donegal all my life but I guarantee this if bonner and rochford were still in charge we would still be in division one and looking forward to the Ulster championship with a hope of winning it. ." Is this all you do everyday is sit on this website? No malice or anything, just an honest question?
MurphBalls (National) - 27/03/2023 09:15:23
Donegal GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Replying To rorysboys: "Your post is so anti bonner it's unreal. You mention beating Cavan and Fermanagh in Ulster finals as if they hadn't to beat teams like Tyrone to get there. You mention winning ulsters as if it's no big deal. Think big you say what planet are you on if we don't watch well be in the tailteann cup soon. It's fools like you we are where we are absolutely clueless about football won't support the team and think we're all Ireland material every year. . It must annoy you to know that I'm right again. Enjoy your day lad keep fantasising about All Irelands." It blows my mind that every time I go onto Hogan Stand to read some of these comments, you are always stuck in the middle of the conversation, boasting about how you are "right" every time. I struggle to see how you are "right". It's an opinion. It's clear to see that the team were starting to regress under Bonner. I posed this question yesterday to you, but where do you get all this time to talk about Donegal football. Do you have Netflix?
MurphBalls (National) - 28/03/2023 12:22:07
2021 Rankings So Far - 4 Like(s)
Replying To sourmilk93: "Nobody only a few fools believe Mayo had an easy run. Two boys giving it the big one from the most overrated county in the Country. They lost to flipping Cavan last year. Pipe down. The likes of Armagh and Monaghan were training away illegally and got the jump on us and Galway. On a level playing field we would never have went down to Armagh by such a score at least. We have beat them easily the two times previously. Monaghan who were caught by the Bol**x breaking the rules just about bet Galway.
The insecurity of the northies is laughable every year banging on about its so competitive and high quality when in truth its very little different than the rest just the winner is weaker. Kildare and Meath would hold their own in Ulster." hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha my god give me strength. I definitely believe I have become dumber after reading that comment.
MurphBalls (National) - 29/06/2021 12:06:19
Football Championship 2021 - 4 Like(s)
Replying To meath1977: "ye lost by 16 points in a super 8 game .. 4 points better then us well done congratulations" 16 points? I think you are dreaming sir. The only super 8 game we've played against Dublin was in 2018 and Dublin won by 5 points. I'm from Donegal not Roscommon.
MurphBalls (National) - 01/07/2021 09:18:49
The Donegal/Armagh Row - 4 Like(s)
Replying To credit_crunch: "Yes because Donegal set the row up and decided to not appeal it" It's fair because Donegal set the row up? Whether it was setup or not it doesn't justify the over turning of suspensions. I can imagine Bonner and Rochford sitting in a room coming up with a plan on how they can start a row with a team that is inferior to them. Catch yourself on will ya!
MurphBalls (National) - 20/04/2022 12:02:40
2021 Rankings So Far - 3 Like(s)
Replying To TheFlaker: "Armagh I see are suddenly one of the big boys? Listen Ulster is the most competitive but I would argue Galway and Roscommon are in the same ball park as Monaghan and Tyrone. And the point he is making is that Ulster teams are making no impact outside of the province. If all of these teams were at a high level they would be contesting semis and finals fairly often I would have thought." Disregard Jack. He's clearly only here to make friends by kissing ****.
Are they not contesting finals and semi finals recently? Tyrone made the semi final in 2019 and the final in 2018. Monaghan also made a semi final in 2018 by beating Kerry to get there. Armagh have to be regarded as a big boy now. They drew with Donegal and beat Monaghan and debatably should have beat Tyrone. They hockeyed roscommon. So yes, I would see them as a top 6/7 team in Ireland.
MurphBalls (National) - 29/06/2021 10:27:39
Replying To TheFlaker: "That's his whole point? Are you trying to tell me you didn't understand his point. Seriously the standard of posting here is gone to the dogs.
At this stage Donegal might beat Mayo if Murphy is fit and O Connor is out but jesus lads the posting from some of the Donegal men on here is comical." What are you even talking about? What's his whole point because it sounds like you are missing it. You along with other Mayo folk. Maybe it's the senile Mayo folk like Flaker that's turning this thread into a comedy arena saying that Mayo are a tier ahead of Donegal and Tyrone.
MurphBalls (National) - 28/06/2021 17:15:39
Replying To Tirchonaill1: "Mayo for sandwiches lad, they'll never see Sam. #Samsforthehills" It's a good thing we aren't ranking the teams based on Sam Maguires won since 1960. The Mayo lads would still find a way to have them ahead of the Ulster teams haha
MurphBalls (National) - 29/06/2021 11:43:46
The Donegal/Armagh Row - 3 Like(s)
Replying To ardmhacha: "It is just unbelievable reading these comments - open season on Armagh and a number of their players over a bit of a skirmish that happens (sadly and wrongly) all over the country. Donegal people are blaming Armagh, Armagh people are blaming Donegal etc etc. I'm sure there'll be a couple of suspensions either way and rightly so as this behaviour in general needs stamped out - but every team is at it!
To slate one team is just unbelievable - both were equally to blame for this incident.. eg.. a young, very talented Armagh forward randomly attacks a Donegal defender at the final whistle for no reason.. I don't think so. The lad just fell into the trap and will probably be suspended. Let's not talk about the battering he took from a high profile, veteran defender from Donegal who then left the pitch to a standing ovation!!
Look, there's no difference to Armagh, Donegal , Kerry, Dublin, Mayo etc etc! All capable of great football and all capable of the handbags.
Unfair to totally slate one team for it - a team that has been praised for their open attacking football over the last few years.
For the record, I felt Tyrone were unfairly treated and slated in the league match against us which was 50/50 in my opinion." Take what you will from it but I'm trying to be as unbiased as possible here - Most of us can only go by what we seen in the video footage. Other fans were at the game and seem to have some more to the story but personally from what I saw from the video footage does not look good from an Armagh point of view. I agree with you that it takes two to tango but I don't think you can argue that it looks worse for Armagh than it does Donegal. Again, I wasn't at the game so I can only speak for what I saw on the video.
Armagh is being slated because this is the second time in a matter of weeks that they've had a "scuffle" of this magnitude and I know I keep reiterating but if they are judging the suspensions off of CCCC video footage then Armagh should come off a hell of a lot worse than Donegal. What happens during the game is all gamesmanship but what happens after the game is nonsense and sometimes thuggery.
MurphBalls (National) - 30/03/2022 10:11:53
Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To MachaireConnacht: "Kerry came very close to knocking Dublin off their perch in 2019 and probably should have won it that year. They now have a more seasoned and proven manager working with that talent and should be stronger than they were then. That's not to say they are far ahead of everyone else but I would definitely put them down as favourites. I wouldn't rule out Dublin yet either. I can't see Donegal beating Dublin, Kerry or Mayo if they meet them in the latter stages. I agree that Donegal would be favourites to win if they played Galway or Roscommon but either of those teams are capable of turning Donegal over on their day." Look, we can sit here and say Donegal aren't good enough to overturn Mayo, Dublin, or Kerry but we all sat here last year saying the same thing about Tyrone and look what happened. Beat a good Kerry team and made mince meat of a Mayo team. Those three teams aren't as far ahead of everyone as most people think. I think there are 6 or 7 teams, that on their day, can win the All Ireland this year and I put Galway and Donegal as two of those teams. Roscommon haven't a hope no matter what way you look at it. I would give Cavan a better chance of overturning Donegal than Roscommon.
MurphBalls (National) - 19/05/2022 17:42:22
Replying To the_walls: "It's funny, I'd have thought Donegal were probably the most over rated team in the country at present. Consistently talked about as being a team capable of toppling the Dubs yet haven't been past the All Ireland Quarter Finals in 7 years and managed to get well beat last year by a team who now find themselves in Division 4. I don't get it but to each their own I suppose.
You are correct though to say that Mayo took a hammering against both Dublin in the 2019 semi final and Kerry in Killarney. Facts are facts and for Mayo lads to try and suggest otherwise is just silly. To say you haven't been sneering is beyond laughable though." Did you get your knickers in a twist today? I agree with you on Donegal. You couldn't have said a truer sentence. But the fact of the matter is that you may not see Sam set foot on Mayo soil in our lifetime. I'm happy enough. I've saw it twice in Donegal.
MurphBalls (National) - 21/06/2021 15:22:59
Replying To the_walls: "You're right, it may not happen for Mayo in my lifetime but look at the way you are presenting it again. It's just mean spirited, nasty one upmanship, making the point that you are happy, you've seen in twice for your county and taking delight in the fact that it hasn't ever happened for most people in Mayo. And while on the face of it you could deny this by saying that you are simply calling "a spade a spade", that argument doesn't hold any water as whether people in Mayo get to see Sam in their lifetime (as opposed to you who has seen it twice) has absolutely nothing to do with what was under discussion. Even if it did, pointing out that you have got to see it happen twice for Donegal in contrast to Mayo fans never seeing it and most likely never getting to, serves no purpose other than an attempt to rub salt into wounds. You know exactly what you are doing and to try and suggest otherwise is completely disingenuous. As I say, it's utterly pathetic. I'm also not sure how pointing out childish trolling is somehow getting my "knickers in a twist"?" Jees lad will you calm down. If you can't handle light banter then stay off the internet. A discussion about football. And you call me childish. Dun Na nGall Abu!!
MurphBalls (National) - 21/06/2021 16:09:11
Replying To sourmilk93: "No its actually not frustrating at all. I am a realist and am aware Roscommon will never win an All Ireland in the current format. So yes winning Connaught Championships and the odd League title at Division 2 , 3 even 4 are always welcomed by me anyway.
I understand by even doing so is a massive achievement given our low population, one of the oldest populations in the country and absolutely no employment in the county. Most players travel a couple of hours home from training.
Some regions in Dublin have bigger populations than Roscommon, Have one gaa club or very few and don't play senior club championship. What hope have the likes of us only getting big beatings.
Your own County have the exact same number of All Irelands as Roscommon so pipe down. Talking the talk the last few years but doing sweet F all to back it up. At least we know where we stand" But you're banging on about the winner of Ulster is weaker than the rest outside of Ulster. You just admitted yourself that Roscommon are never going to win an AI. Haven't Roscommon won Connaught twice in the last 4 years? Is that not telling you something?
Roscommon won the AI back in the 50s. A Connaught team have won the AI once this century, Galway in 2001. Ulster football, you could say were a dominant force in football at the beginning of the 90s and certainly the 00s.
Now, you're saying Donegal have done sweet F all to back it up. In the 00's, when Ulster dominated football across Ireland, Donegal made a number quarter final appearances and a semi final appearance where they lost by eventual winners Armagh. In the 2010s Donegal got to 3 AI semi finals and 2 AI finals, winning one of them. Donegal have had massive success in Ulster making the 9 of the last 10 Ulster finals, winning 5 of them all while beating teams like Monaghan and Tyrone (Consistent D1 teams). I'd say that alone is a lot to shout about and that's without mentioning the fact we won the AI in 2012 and got to the final in 2014.
When was the last time Roscommon even got to a semi final let alone a final outside of Connacht and Division 2?
Now for Connaught, Mayo got to so many finals I have actually lost count but have they won? No, they haven't. So, I would have to say that Connaught, as a collective, hasn't a lot to really shout about have they? Sport is generally pretty bad in Connaught. Must be a weak mentality.
MurphBalls (National) - 29/06/2021 13:27:12
Ulster Championship 2021 - 3 Like(s)
Replying To BreffniGael: "Cavan's league form last year also backed up even more, the view that they would do nothing in the Championship. This years league is really no gauge and Mickey doesn't seem to have much regard for the league anyway. This is something that is exercising Cavan fans greatly who want us to be competitive whether it's league or Championship but he has his reasons and is trying out some new young players. Last Saturday was actually encouraging. Derry are flying, much fitter and had tanked Fermanagh and Longford. They were the better team and deserved to win but could easily have been caught by Cavan who caused them bother when they put the squeeze on them - outscored them 1-6 to 0-1 at one point in the first half and got it back to a point from 7 down in the second half. We also had no Ciaran Brady, James Smith, Gerry Smith and Thomas the Tank only came on in the second half for his first run out. We will be a different animal against Tyrone who are still finding their feet and trying to change from the old system. In terms of pure talent Donegal are favourites but talent alone hasn't stopped them falling at hurdles they were expected to clear for the last few years - and none more so than Cavan last year. So they have a lot of questions to answer and who knows what harm the defeat last year will have caused - we might only find out the answer to that in an Ulster final when it is again tight with 5 minutes to go." To be honest, I don't think Cavan will lay a finger on Tyrone. Fair play to Cavan last year and they deserved to beat Donegal in the final but I think it was a 1 in 100 shot imho. Personally, I think Cavan are a division 3 team, possibly a division 2 team at best and last season was a sign of the times with both Tipp and Cavan getting to AI semi finals, both of whom are battling it out for Division 3 survival.
MurphBalls (National) - 01/06/2021 13:18:20
Donegal GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To rorysboys: "I've been called a narcissist what ever that means a clown and a saddo in the one post. Not nice lad maybe you should grow up a bit.. can't wait for all all the likes you'll get. I must be hitting a nerve among the anti Bonner brigade" You don't know what a narcissist means? Sounds like you're knowledgeable in all the wrong areas then ;p. You're not hitting a nerve at all. I don't think anyone has any hatred for Bonner I think it's just time he hands the reigns over and freshen up the team a bit more. The problem I'm trying to make you aware of is if someone has a difference of opinion to you, you should be able to have a respectful debate with them about why your opinion is different instead of just lambasting them. This forum is a place where people can come and voice your thoughts of the current state of Donegal football, and not to be hounded out of it by clowns like yourself trying to make themselves feel better by battering someone else's opinion. It's ok if you think Bonner should be given a chance but to lambast other people who think differently is just childish and cowardly hiding in behind a keyboard. If you are this vocal in public I'd say you've been on the receiving end of a few slaps in your time.
I'm leaving this sub now because I'm absolutely sick of you and you have taken the fun out of having a good old respectful debate.
Get a life champ!
MurphBalls (National) - 23/03/2022 12:55:27
Donegal GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To FoolsGold: "Cavan or Fermanagh didn't play Tyrone when they reached the Ulster finals." But he's always right so they must have beaten Tyrone!
MurphBalls (National) - 29/03/2023 09:15:36
2021 Rankings So Far - 2 Like(s)
Replying To MayoDan: "The quality in ulster is massively overrated. Since Donegal beat Dublin in 2014, no ulster side has had a significant win outside the province." Wow. Flaker get your boys under control. What a statement to come out with. Leinster have Dublin. Munster have Kerry. Connaught have Mayo and Ulster have Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan, and Armagh.
MurphBalls (National) - 29/06/2021 09:38:55