Cavan Gaels appoint Canavan..

Tomsmith here

It was with great joy that the news filtered from Terry Coyle park that the Gaels of Cavan Town had appointed Peter the great Cavanagh and we wish him and the Gaels well.
Cavan Gaels the greatest Club in Cavan and indeed a club that has not delivered to its potential over the years were in a position that the general feeling was that Joe o Connor had taken them as far as he could.
It is felt that the Gaels should / and will deliver the goods in 2014 provided that all players row in behind Mr Cavanagh.
Again on behalf of the ordinary folk of Cavan town who the Cavan Gaels Club has given so much pleasure to over a long number of years we wish you the Club and players well in 2014 and we do hope that Cavan County will recognize the true worth of a lot of the Gaels players and bring them into the Cavan Senior panel.
Because we do need quality players for the Cavan Senior team, and the Gaels do have them

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4089 - 12/12/2013 10:21:02    1522859

didnt know cavanagh had entered into management. He will be busy now juggling tyrone as well :)

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 12/12/2013 11:11:28    1522889

sammaguire1

didnt know cavanagh had entered into management. He will be busy now juggling tyrone as well :)

And after him been made captain as well for 2014!! he is some operator!

Just as we thought the gales could not get anymore cynical in their play, the master of it is now in charge of them! The black card will be busy when these guys are playing now under this philosophy.

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 12/12/2013 11:26:04    1522898

Was there any any need for a new thread to be created for this?

EatMyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 205 - 12/12/2013 11:27:28    1522901

Its very generous of peter to give his time to the gaels. As we all know gaa managers do not get paid so his interest in the game has to be commended that he would travel from tyrone up to three times a week for the love of the game !!!!!

In my opinion he brought fermanagh to a new level of cynicism over the past two years and the gaels bench was noisy and indimidating without adding a cynical nature on the field. Maybe its just as well that the black card is being introduced. The previous manager brought them as far as he could - he sure did but i think he realised you cant make a silk purse from a sows ear.
And as for the baggage the gaels have, it will be interesting to see how peter deals with that. but being from the wee north he will have a great knowledge of politics !!!

Tom is confused about who the manager really is. To clarify.. Peter Canavan was a great tyrone player with a cynical side and Cavanagh is a great tyrone player with...oh wait .. I can see why he's confused !!!

lehitinwudya (Cavan) - Posts: 48 - 12/12/2013 12:02:12    1522923

poor old Tom's a little confused

CavanAgain (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 12/12/2013 12:06:56    1522927

so it's the dream team then, Canavan and Cavanagh, a bit like O'Neill and Keane. Best of luck to them both. the question is
Can Cavan, Canavan/Cavanagh work together.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 12/12/2013 14:08:17    1523015

We are all well aware of the levels of cynicism that exists in football and it has been on the up since HQ has been sanitising the game. No team or county is fully blameless but I would like to think that it is not a particularly prominent feature of the sport in Cavan.This appointment may well change that.

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 12/12/2013 14:37:44    1523039

Of course cynicism will increase. As will sideline intimidation, ref intimidation and general unsavoury behaviour. Of course a zero tolerance from officials at games would help stamp this out. Although.....can it possibly be true that Breifne college played TWO NO 15 players the other night and none of the officials noticed!??? Probably a wind up.

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 278 - 12/12/2013 16:32:38    1523110

ITS VERY disapointing to see a club like Cavav Gaels have again gone outside the county for management an appointment no doubt could be very COSTLY. If you look at the clubs who were successful this year Castlerahan, Ballinagh, Killeshandra management all local people and less costly on their clubs.Our success at underage, management yes iam afraid so all local people.This appointment means one thing Cavan Gaels will be hot favourites for the championship and leauge next year, anything less will be considered a disapointment could be a COSTLY appointment, the pressure on.

ulster40 (USA) - Posts: 79 - 13/12/2013 13:19:19    1523402

ulster40
County: USA

ITS VERY disapointing to see a club like Cavav Gaels have again gone outside the county for management an appointment no doubt could be very COSTLY. If you look at the clubs who were successful this year Castlerahan, Ballinagh, Killeshandra management all local people and less costly on their clubs.Our success at underage, management yes iam afraid so all local people.This appointment means one thing Cavan Gaels will be hot favourites for the championship and leauge next year, anything less will be considered a disapointment could be a COSTLY appointment, the pressure on.

ulster40 Cavan gaels have stayed within the county and their own club for the last two managers.All their success since 2003 came with outside managers hence reverting back to what worked.I dont know about been favourites with amalgamations coming into play next year.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 13/12/2013 14:53:12    1523450

hows CAVANAGH GONNA PLAY FOR TYRONE AND MANAGE THE GAELS TOM,

ulster40 (USA) - Posts: 79 - 13/12/2013 18:04:29    1523542

Team Manager: Peter Canavan
Asst. Manager : Ciaran Donnelly.

Whats the rubbish being spouted about Cavanagh for?

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 13/12/2013 20:09:39    1523587

Cavanagh will be good asset to the Gaels.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 887 - 14/12/2013 12:38:38    1523649

looks like Tom has not noticed his typo error yet ""CAVANAGH"

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 14/12/2013 15:50:58    1523707

Lads. Ye are the fools. Do you not realise Tom intentionally puts rubbish in his post to wind yis all up and yis buy it every time. Do not feed the troll.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 14/12/2013 17:34:58    1523731

you actually think Tom's that smart Fred?!

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1737 - 14/12/2013 20:31:14    1523781

Well its not exactly Einstein stuff is it?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 14/12/2013 21:26:56    1523790

Tomsmith here

I am delighted to report to you that some Cavan Gaels explayers held an informal Club meeting recently where the recent appointment was discussed. and the following points emerged.

No 1 That the Cavan Gaels Club would like to add to the clubs success over the past 10 years
No 2 That to progress in Ulster competition the Gaels will require better internal competition within Cavan.
No 3 That no transfers should be allowed into the club (however much sough) unless the player is being lost to the GAA.
No 4 That all players should support the County team where possible, by making themselves available for selection.
No 5 That Terry Coyle park should house more Championship games

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4089 - 02/01/2014 10:08:10    1526776

NO.3 IN WRITING PLEASE TOM ?

jfkcavan (Cavan) - Posts: 315 - 02/01/2014 11:41:42    1526794