What Cavan Senior Team needs.

Cavan senior team is at a low ebb, never was it known before that Monaghan and Fermanagh would be playing better football than Cavan. What we need is for the Cavan Gaels to sit down at an open forum and decide what direction Cavan football is going to take in the next 5 years. Our previous big county producers like St Pats are not producing players. It is time to sit down before Chicago three becomes Chicago fiftteen. If super teams or Divisional teams are the way to go so be it.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4086 - 07/04/2008 09:46:58    3812

A new Manager is waht is required to aid the fortunes of the Cavan team....

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 07/04/2008 11:55:27    3923

If Donal Keogan resigns in the morning would Cavan football be any better off? I say Donal stay on you are there for the long hall, dont do like the Ros manager. Dont be hounded out of office.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4086 - 07/04/2008 15:38:06    4148

I was at the westmeath match,and i dont belive donal could of done anything else to salvage a better result,1.sean johnston was haven an off day and was marked tightly,2.all the media coverage about him just made him a target,3.tight wind across the field -nobody could judge it and all shots "went left and wide"4.last week against cork -first half mc cabe kicked most the ball into the forward line,second half lyng ran at defence to passed the ball in,this wasnt an option,and anyway ya cant take away from the fact the westmeath halfbacks and backs were good,our fist passing and link play was way better than westmeaths.we have rosscommen and a challange game against sligo,i hope we use these games to prepare for the championship.

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 07/04/2008 19:11:36    4346

In reply to Tom Smith st pats arnt producing players for 2 reasons 1.The county board have sent in a man to coach them.I have been told by a reliable source he does hurling drills in football training and fails to get the players full support eg st pats not having a mac rory team this year. 2.Not enough being said about the games after the college games for the club or even training.

Loose cannon (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 07/04/2008 20:22:54    4379

Ah here, this county has been run by Cavan Gaels for too long, now you want them to take over altogether????? Cavan is not good enough, managemant is unable to see the problems on the field and seems to be afraid to OFFEND the STARS and take them off when they need to come off!!!

areyouserious (Cavan) - Posts: 1 - 08/04/2008 11:11:36    4613

What cavan needs is this team to play. James Reilly, Eamonn Reilly, Darren Rabbitte, Michael Hannon, Podge Reilly, Anthony Gaynor, Paul Prady, Dermot McCabe, Pierse McKenna, Mark McKeever, Micheal Lyng, Raymond Cullivan, Seanie Johnstone, Gerald Pierson, Larry Reilly. I truely believe that is the best team in the county at the minute, i understand some of these players arent even on the panel, but i believe they arent on it because of the management and the lax attitude that is being taken by the panel in general. Some people might think some of those players are past it but i think if we could get all those players together for one year and if they were fit we could win a few games in the championship/a bit of a run in the qualifiers. The only chance of some of those players coming into the panel is if we had a decent management team in place who would incourage them back in. Yes i know people are goin to say, Rabbite isnt up to it, McKenna is past it, Larry finished, Gaynor suspended etc, but if they were all together we would win a few games.

Brefni Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 107 - 08/04/2008 11:58:11    4656

I agree with your team brefni lad however mine would be James Reilly, Eamonn Reilly, Darren Rabbitte, Michael Hannon, Podge Reilly, Anthony Gaynor, Paul Prady, Dermot McCabe, Pierse McKenna, Mark McKeever, Micheal Lyng, Raymond Cullivan, Seanie Johnstone, Gerald Pierson, Larry Reilly

Raging Denn (None) - Posts: 33 - 08/04/2008 17:30:08    4943

Raging Denn..... All u done was copy and pasted Breffni lads team!!!! fool

jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 08/04/2008 17:40:18    4950

are yous mad.its a joke dat ronan flanagan isnt in your teams!he is a quality footballer and was nearly d only lad 2 play well against westmeath on sunday

cavan man (Cavan) - Posts: 141 - 08/04/2008 21:05:23    5015

What I did say it was time for Cavan Gaels (County Cavan Folk) to sit down and see what direction Cavan football is going in the next few years.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4086 - 09/04/2008 18:02:15    5455

What is happening is that St Pats and |Aidens Cootehill are not producing good footballers like of old.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4086 - 13/04/2008 21:35:13    6708

st aidans cootehill arent producing good players??watters,hannon,mc cutcheon,fannin,mick mc donald,james reilly(i think) have all gone through

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 14/04/2008 17:12:56    7072

the man in training st pats is brendan sweenry ! the reason st pats however is not enterring a mc rory team is because the players are a year younger than those in the north so fear of injurees is a major factor however with the introduction of transition year this could change

mclovinxx (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 14/04/2008 18:59:45    7129

What is needed now is that a big club like Cavan Gaels come good and that all the small clubs would have to upped the standard to be able to come near them.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4086 - 28/04/2008 12:45:31    12718

What Cavan need's is simple-Belief! but in order to have belief you must have confidence in your manager and in my opinion the players dont, and who could blame them. Afterall they are playing under a manager who has no real managerial experience bar with the county minors. What is mysterious about Keogans reign is the absence of some of the best players in Cavan. where in the name of god is- 1) Anthony Gaynor? 2) Eamonn Reilly? 3) Trevor Crowe? 4) Larry Reilly? There are also numerous quality players out there who are up to the standard for county-they just need to be given the chance. Fercom, Mccormack and gaffney from drumalee, McInerney and mc dermott from Ballinagh, Pauric Cahill and Declan Gallen from Killygarry, the list could go on!

mystic meg (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 30/04/2008 18:31:17    14083

Well Mystic meg a good few of them players that you named have been tried and tested. It is ok to shine at a poor standard of football but Donal Keogan is looking ahead and what he needs is a player that will deliver on th e big day.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4086 - 07/05/2008 22:45:04    16315

Chicago's a gr8 spot. We should all go.

Except tom smith. annoyin he is.

Joust about time twas said - joust!!!!

Joust about (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 09/05/2008 20:23:03    17226

we need help, we need harry

intheknow08 (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 09/05/2008 22:56:07    17256

Donal I wish you well against Antrim, I know that great number of people are against you. As the standard of football in Cavan is at a record low I beg of you to do the best you can with what you have. Look at the big club providers of the past Mullahorn, Cavan Gaels, Kingscourt, Ramour, Lavey all these teams are now playing a fairly medicore level of football. I ask one question of those that are against Donal, who in the county has not been tried

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4086 - 12/05/2008 12:01:12    17912