Cavan v Armagh SFC

wishfulthinkin

so the county board classes a challenge game as more important than club games.....

With two weeks to go until we face a huge game against Armagh I would agree with them. These are league club games. Not championship. In Meath they often play league games in the same weekend as the inter county league.

We allow the clubs far too much say compared to other counties.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 06/05/2013 09:12:29    1379306

wishfulthinkin

so the county board classes a challenge game as more important than club games.....

With two weeks to go until we face a huge game against Armagh I would agree with them. These are league club games. Not championship. In Meath they often play league games in the same weekend as the inter county league.

We allow the clubs far too much say compared to other counties.

That is a terrible attitude towards clubs that need their county players to win games. You are suggesting the league is meaningless ?? You refer to Meath - didn't they excuse players with club games from playing the county challenge match the other night?? When we start to challenge for ulsters and all-Ireland's we can start to think about protecting county players, until then they need all the competitive club games they can get. Very unfair on clubs to be without players for games.

finea3 (Longford) - Posts: 63 - 06/05/2013 10:24:56    1379339

That is a terrible attitude towards clubs that need their county players to win games. You are suggesting the league is meaningless ?? You refer to Meath - didn't they excuse players with club games from playing the county challenge match the other night?? When we start to challenge for ulsters and all-Ireland's we can start to think about protecting county players, until then they need all the competitive club games they can get. Very unfair on clubs to be without players for games.

No Meath didn't. They used their full panel. They even played championship the weekend they were in a league final. Would that happen in Cavan? No, our clubs get league cancelled if they have one player sitting on Ulster's bench.

It's a 15 man squad game. Clubs shouldn't be relying solely on their county lads. Will the whole country know if the Gaels or Ballinagh win at the weekend? No but they'll know if we beat Armagh in 2 weeks. As a county our standard is rated by our county senior team. The clubs need to realise that.

Perhaps if we did protect county players we might be challenging for honours, instead of playing them in club games where the opposition kick lumps out of them. We've all seen team's target county players for a good kicking in club games.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 06/05/2013 12:59:49    1379421

Kevin Reilly, B Farrell, Newman and Stephen Bray were all playing club championship matches on Friday night when we played you in the challenge. Others weren't there because of exams.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 06/05/2013 13:19:04    1379430

Thanks classapart, so Meath DO allow players put club before county. When you allow clubs to play without county players you are essentially closing the county panel for the year, you can't judge a player in a club game if he's not playing against county standard players and don't tell me that he would be in for trials, trials are a complete joke, half paced games with no challenges to dent the cotton wool the players are wrapped in. Players can pull muscles just as easy at county training as they can in a club game. You cannot convince me that giving fringe panel players NO football over a weekend is going to take the county any further. The same players are then going back to play with clubs facing relegation to a lower division, poorer standard, again not helping develop their game. The only way is to have players play with their clubs until 2 weeks before a champ game and if a county players is injured so be it, as you say yourself it's more than a 15 man game, it's a panel effort. Keep the county panel open and on their toes.

finea3 (Longford) - Posts: 63 - 06/05/2013 14:30:45    1379467

Thanks classapart, so Meath DO allow players put club before county. When you allow clubs to play without county players you are essentially closing the county panel for the year, you can't judge a player in a club game if he's not playing against county standard players and don't tell me that he would be in for trials, trials are a complete joke, half paced games with no challenges to dent the cotton wool the players are wrapped in. Players can pull muscles just as easy at county training as they can in a club game. You cannot convince me that giving fringe panel players NO football over a weekend is going to take the county any further. The same players are then going back to play with clubs facing relegation to a lower division, poorer standard, again not helping develop their game. The only way is to have players play with their clubs until 2 weeks before a champ game and if a county players is injured so be it, as you say yourself it's more than a 15 man game, it's a panel effort. Keep the county panel open and on their toes.

How have they no football over the weekend? Most of them had games today and all players were used Friday night. The Meath lads had championship games. The league is meaningless. Sure the county board let teams pick what level they wanted to be in it practically! You're being a bit sensationalist. I hardly said don't play them. I said the county team should come first. There are plenty of other weeks for the lads to play for their clubs.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 06/05/2013 19:39:10    1379624

I have forever being saying that players should all be playing with their clubs up to two weeks before a championship match it has always fallen on deaf ears however and I expect it will alway's be the same.
Best fitness off all is match fitness and the door should always be open to bring in a player that is performing well for his club and might be our missing link at County level.
Challenge matches mean sod all for they never give an accurate assessment of any player other than your goal keeper.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 07/05/2013 08:37:09    1379734

Anyone know what is the story with Mossy Corr and Jack Brady , are they definitely out for the Armagh game and how long they are out for ? Huge blow for us coupled with the loss of McKiernan .
I was quietly confident before this , now not so .
Also , is Declan McKiernan ok? Noticed he was not involved in the Meath game either .
Here is my second attempt on team to face Armagh based on the panel available for the Meath game .

G.K James Reilly
Joshua Hayes Rory Dunne Jason McLoughlin
Fergal Flanagan/John McCutcheon Alan Clarke Damien O'Reilly
Killian Clarke David Givney
Martin Reilly Mark McKeever Barry Reilly
Cian Mackey Eugene Keating Martin Dunne/Niall McDermott

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 07/05/2013 14:06:43    1379948

Jack Brady played at the weekend for Ramor.

Jamie Clarke returned from his travels and was put in for 35 minutes in a challenge match against Louth and hit the net 3 times

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 475 - 07/05/2013 14:41:26    1379981

Hardtimes, that's pretty close to my own preferred selection, assuming Alan O'Mara is still injured. Turloc Mooney played well at FB against Meath and might be in the frame. Hope they start Josh Hayes on Clarke. I don't see any tighter / fitter options. Don't thing either of the Flanagans should make the start although Terry seems to like both. McCutheon scored two goals from midfield when on trial against Meath, so I'd expect him to be held as cover for Givney and Clarke.

G.K James Reilly
Joshua Hayes Rory Dunne Jason McLoughlin
Turloc MooneyAlan Clarke Damien O'Reilly
Killian Clarke David Givney
Martin Reilly Cian Mackey Barry Reilly
Jack Brady / Mark McKeever /DarraghMcVitty Eugene Keating Martin Dunn

With Jack Brady / McKeever / McVitty playing as a sweeper (in that order if available)

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 07/05/2013 14:44:46    1379984

BreffniGuide obviously Meath let players out for club games during the week so much so I didn't recognize more than half the team that played yous Friday night... saying they don't let their players out for club games is just daft.

tic_for_tac (Meath) - Posts: 151 - 07/05/2013 15:38:28    1380030

is killian clarke strong enough yet?

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 07/05/2013 16:21:32    1380063

sammaguire1

is killian clarke strong enough yet?

Armagh would be a very physical side, its hard to know.

On a separate note though, I notice Mattie Donnelly is playing serious stuff for Tyrone in the half back line this year. He was playing in the Ulster final in 2011 against us.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 07/05/2013 17:11:46    1380107

Following Meath challenge Clarke looked well at CHB and Mc Loughlin and Hayes looked strongest in corner back position, was very impressed with Mooney he has massive presence in full back position. Clarke looked comfortable in midfield and if he plays as he did when moved there for the 21s he could partner Givney well there. Givney took time to settle but he has proven himself with Ulster and DIT. Martin Dunne was excellent and Keating layed the ball off well makes him look very slick. In the absence of Brady to play sweeper my choice would be Mc Keever and his experience would be very benificial to our relatively young defence, Mc Veety just doesn't have the presence yet to play sweeper at this level. Thought Conroy looked well too and should play parter as well as Barry and Martin Reilly in half forward. Wing backs? I don't know, Damien Reilly plus either Mc Keever, Rory Dunne or Hayes , he is good there but I prefer him in corner back for his marking ability so probably McCutcheon either .Is Corr injured? Big loss if he is ou. If Mc Keever played wing back Rory Dunne would be a capable sweeper. Hyland has developed a big panel and that should stand to him. Fair play I thought the lads looked good and played some nice football, we might get another crack at Fermanagh and this time we will be smarter.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 07/05/2013 18:29:48    1380150

As a Celtics clubman I say our man Mc Cutcheon has to get a run. He played great stuff in midfield against Crosserlough and Gowna for us in the last 2 league games. Hayes is doin well too plays sweeper for the club and theres no stoppin him. I know am biased but its time players from the weaker clubs got recognised for there work and our club for bringin the players on and then have to play without them We played Redhills Gowna Drumlane and Crosserlough and our 2 county men were the stand out players as well as young Mooney in Redhills and Madden in Gowna. So up the Celtics and up Cavan.

cavancharlie (Cavan) - Posts: 4 - 07/05/2013 19:33:53    1380202

MaCutchen didnt stand out too well against redhills. his man caught most of the ball, kept him scoreless and scored himself

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 07/05/2013 21:53:10    1380295

jack brady t corr d mckiernan all training a o'mera will not play for the next 8 weeks so the goalkeeper will be reilly or gilsenan

theforgottenman (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 08/05/2013 11:02:00    1380390

martin dunne out for two months,injured ankle playing with club over weekend

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 08/05/2013 14:11:33    1380576

Terrible news that about Dunnie, he has had a terrific year for the county so far and was ourost impressive forward in the league. Jack Brady is a capable replacement however I feel we have lost our main scoring threat.

fxhvg (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 08/05/2013 14:20:15    1380587

when did this injury happen to m dunne ???

theforgottenman (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 08/05/2013 15:10:04    1380636