Well done Lads, Delighted for yous. Fantastic performance. Superb character. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 19/05/2013 17:05:20 1386629 Link 0 |
Well done fair play can't argue with that. shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 19/05/2013 17:07:52 1386631 Link 0 |
Well done to both cavan teams, brill day. blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 19/05/2013 17:11:56 1386636 Link 0 |
Well done to Cavan on two great wins today. Lets hope we can get a bit of a run in the ulster championship. The county needs a lift. marita (None) - Posts: 469 - 19/05/2013 17:19:28 1386645 Link 0 |
some good performances over the field. damian o reilly, flanagan, mcenroe, mackey. martin O reilly's introduction was timely, he made some great runs and laid off good balls at a time when armagh were on the up. i feel we got themb rub of the green with the refs decisions and a few players were lucky to stay on the pitch but it was a very good performance. everyone put in a serious effort. keating was immense. dunne was clinical after a few bad misses early on. s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 19/05/2013 17:44:17 1386674 Link 0 |
Well done to both teams today, proud to be a Cavan man. It's going to be a long wait till the 16th of June though. BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 278 - 19/05/2013 17:46:42 1386678 Link 0 |
Two great results today, its been a long time coming but feels great.In the minor game young Fortune and Connolly were absolutely immense and there were good workmanlike performances from others.The senior match surprised everyone that Cavan could beat Armagh with relative ease ,missing Gearoid and with our midfield not performing at all.There were great performances from Ronan Flanagan,James McEnroe,Fergal Flanagan,Eugene Keating and Martin Dunne while Gilsenan was fantastic under high ball.Niall Mc Dermott won countless ball and supplied keating very well in the first half.Mackey did very well for the goal and worked very hard all day.Overall it is great to win championship matches.Where is the Fermanagh game. celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 19/05/2013 18:06:32 1386698 Link 0 |
Good win today for yas lads, the negativity pushers were proved wrong with their unjustified pessimism,but every county has them. Keating and Dunne were super,was surpirsed though that Armagh left them with so much space and didnt drop sweeper in. Cavan defended well,although Armagh did kick some poor wides. Great boost for the county after under 21s success and Im sure yas will be confident facing Fermanagh on June 16th macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1224 - 19/05/2013 18:29:38 1386729 Link 0 |
Great to get the win Hold my hands up Hyland and co set up well but Armagh were very poor. up4t (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 19/05/2013 18:45:32 1386744 Link 0 |
WELL DONE TO BOTH TEAMS TODAY,THE SENIOR GAME EVERY MAN THAT STARTED DESERVED THEIR PLACES AND WHAT ABOUT THE TWO MAKING THEIR DEBUTS WHAT A GREAT DECISION BY TERRY BOTH GILSENAN AND DUNNE WERE OUTSTANDING AND SHOWED THEY DESERVED THEIR CALL UP EVERY MAN ON THE FIELD DONE THEIR BEST TODAY A REAL PROUD DAY FOR ALL CONCERNED KEEP IT GOING BOYS WE ARE ALL RIGHT BEHIND YIS UP CAVAN cavan.wanderer (Cavan) - Posts: 82 - 19/05/2013 18:49:52 1386749 Link 0 |
Wasn't happy with the selection, and still feel better players were left out, but can't fault the gutsy performance, so well done to them all. Word of caution to the I told you so brigade, this Armagh defence was poor. The space we had to day be be harder to create the next day. The early direct ball worked well today and Dunne and Keating used it very well. Very impressed with Dunne's response to missing the easy free. Flanagan's pass to Mackey for the goal run was a key moment for me. Great to have done a double as well. ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 19/05/2013 19:12:46 1386770 Link 0 |
Well done to the lads.. Would have to say i didn't fully agree with the original selection but the lads stood tall. A real mark of the team was when Armagh got within a point the lads had another gear.. this has been the mark of of the u21's and its a sign of not panicking and confidence in the team. Mackey had a great first half but tired in the second and i just thought the subs could have come a little earlier. Lots of work to do as Armagh were very poor. Rather than the game being a physical battle this was a war of attrition and Cavan ran the legs of themselves but more importantly Armagh. ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 606 - 19/05/2013 19:40:12 1386783 Link 0 |
Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 19/05/2013 19:51:18 1386795 Link 0 |
As a neutral living in Cavan I would like to say well done to a good performance but dont get carried away. You can only play the team that is in front of you but Armagh were simply awful. You only have to hear the pundits comments on RTE to realize that Armagh were a disgrace and are a team in a complete mess. They looked like a bunch of kids playing football for the first time. This win should give Cavan a huge boost in confidence and they have the belief that could take them all the way! Well done and good luck against Fermanagh! mardon (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 19/05/2013 19:55:40 1386799 Link 0 |
yes well done to cavan they kept to there plan great workrate ,some fantastic deliverys into the forwards ,and the subs seemed to be brought in at the right time ,when armagh started to push us up our own end of the field ,martin reilly just drove through them instaed of taking the option of passing it back the way ,which armagh was hoping we would do,so i was very impressed overall,we kept clarke quite enough too .some experance for these players .well done to all involved. bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 19/05/2013 20:38:37 1386839 Link 0 |
heard a comment on radio that all bar 3 of cavan's players have under-21 medals. I think only 7 of the starting 15 have under-21 medals. correct me if i'm wrong please. s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 19/05/2013 21:13:07 1386877 Link 0 |
James McEnroe doesn't, u21 in 2010. Other 6 do FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2936 - 19/05/2013 21:21:46 1386887 Link 0 |
today once again shows the need for a good solid consistent free taker. haven't won a title since carolan was scoring 8 or 9 points from placed balls every game wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 19/05/2013 21:26:29 1386893 Link 0 |
Mardon potnorwindow (Cavan) - Posts: 363 - 19/05/2013 21:30:13 1386895 Link 0 |
Well done great result. It might however be worth taking on board this was only the preliminary round and I don't expect Fermanagh in Enniskillen to do what Armagh did yesterday allowing only one back man on man with M Dunne I feel this is the last time this campaign he will score as he did for the shackles will be well and truly put on him. theforgottenman (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 20/05/2013 08:41:32 1386951 Link 0 |