Poor minor team! Plenty of running ! Passing ball work very poor!lots of shouting from Fintan on sidelines ,but not words of encouragement.why do we have 5-6 coaches on sideline.Was in stand Monaghan had plenty of people watching the game from above taking notes. mlee (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 07/04/2013 08:39:53 1362134 Link 0 |
A lot of good players not on panel? Have to ask yourself why? I know one player who won Player of the Year (Junior B's) with his club for last year while only 16 and currently is on his Senior team (Div 1B) and he is still only 17? Another excellent player is playing Minors (Div 4) but will never get 'noticed' because his team is in Div 4 and they are a small club and he is playing with mostly 15 year olds as they have no true Minors. Should county managers select players the old fashioned way by going to matches and watching players play for their clubs? mardon (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 07/04/2013 14:57:09 1362268 Link 0 |
can agree more!!! i have been involved with teams in the lower divisions for years& county management very poor at attending games in lower division. but this year they don't seem to attending any club games not even game in division 1. why???? madaboutgaa (Cavan) - Posts: 120 - 07/04/2013 17:26:38 1362350 Link 0 |
can agree more!!! i have been involved with teams in the lower divisions for years& county management very poor at attending games in lower division. but this year they don't seem to attending any club games not even game in division 1. why???? madaboutgaa (Cavan) - Posts: 120 - 07/04/2013 17:26:38 1362351 Link 0 |
A member of the management team is a fellow clubman of mine and i have never once seen him attend any of the minor matches of his own club. They seem to be pretty content with working with the players they already selected from the trials, but after recent performances its obvious that those players aren't enough. You cannot know how a player will perform just from trials as it is a totally different scenario. Everyone at trials is trying to impress whereas club players just want to work together to achieve victory which is what the county team needs. prittstick (Cavan) - Posts: 43 - 07/04/2013 19:23:33 1362532 Link 0 |
THAT WHAT WRONG WITH FOOTBALL IN CAVAN jfkcavan (Cavan) - Posts: 315 - 07/04/2013 19:51:48 1362568 Link 0 |
mardon dickchicken (Cavan) - Posts: 144 - 07/04/2013 20:00:25 1362581 Link 0 |
MICKEY GRAHAM MINOR MANAGER 3 YRS AGO DID NOT SELECT ENDA REILLY, NEED I SAY ANY MORE ? jfkcavan (Cavan) - Posts: 315 - 07/04/2013 20:27:43 1362616 Link 0 |
There are a lot of great footballers on panel but evident that they r not used to playing with each other.Ball work needs attention & m/ f no pace & rarely catch a ball from kickouts.with a panel of 34 has to have other options t.galligan & d.ruddrford both have pace & height & play m/f for clubs.Management have to take the blame for poor performances. There is postives no cavan minors do well in league & they couldnt play any worse. eastcavan12 (Cavan) - Posts: 88 - 08/04/2013 09:50:37 1362811 Link 0 |
People writing guff like this on a website is the sortta stuff that makes Cavan laughable to other counties. The boys writing on this about whos in and whos not are fairly obviously begrudgers. They'd be better fit keeping their mouths shut and supporting the team. Dont judge this group til after the first round of the Championship, there's not much use hammering everyone in the league and showing your hand, nows the time to experiment. Ye were probaably the same boys writing of the U21s after the Hastings cup, believe and keep schtum! trickdaddy (Cavan) - Posts: 1 - 11/04/2013 10:46:07 1365432 Link 0 |
Completely agree with trickdaddy,no other recent Cavan team got anywhere at league level , like i said good bunch of talent in this years panel they just need to be fine tuned.Chris Conroy & Jack Brady came from County Minor panels that won nothing. eastcavan12 (Cavan) - Posts: 88 - 11/04/2013 11:26:15 1365476 Link 0 |
Embarrassing reading the stuff that was posted on here. Agree with the last 2 posters. Cavan haven't had a full strength team in any of the games in the Minor League. FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2936 - 11/04/2013 12:03:22 1365529 Link 0 |
What's next for minors! Agree with person saying management not going to lower division matches .was at division 3 game lavey v blackwater Gaels great game just by chance .friends son playing .Lavey midfield real strong .gilchrest /ruderford ran show. They have some pace!ruderford didn't score but work really hard. mlee (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 17/04/2013 19:56:32 1369410 Link 0 |
Agree with some of the more sensible posts. These lads are minors and don't need to be reading a load of thrash from know nothing about Ulster minor league games. Its clear this league is being used like trials and once we get a look at the players they will get down to the nitty gritty. fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 17/04/2013 21:08:54 1369444 Link 0 |
Any news on our County Minors? How did we do in the Minor League? I thought we looked very good for the first 20mins last year against Donegal but then seemed to fall apart. We need to keep the stream of talent coming every year and winning an Ulster Minor title like 2011 would be a great boost. It would give us great confidence going into the 4 in a row u21 next year. Who are the main men on the team this year?? Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 01/05/2013 09:40:55 1376832 Link 0 |
They finished last .Antrim bet them by 19 points,they brought in seven new players but let them go.They play a challenge game against Offaly last Sunday lost by five .I hate to say it but they look a weak team.Midfield to slow every game .Armagh I think will be to strong, when they played them in league Armagh was missing Five players. eastcavan12 (Cavan) - Posts: 88 - 01/05/2013 10:46:52 1376882 Link 0 |
too many players from lower divisions on the panel!! there seems to be alot of lads under 17 on the team too? EastCavan (Cavan) - Posts: 183 - 01/05/2013 15:21:43 1377136 Link 0 |
19 point loss to Antrim?? Woeful stuff. 3 weeks before Championship and Gary Donohoe is still experimenting.. He keeps talking about trying out lads, is that not what the development squads are for!? Begs the question why we have a poor club manager from Leitrim in charge of our County Minors. As soon as we go out of Ulster he needs to be shown the door. If he can turn things around at this stage it'll be a small miracle. Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 01/05/2013 19:38:20 1377298 Link 0 |
JonSmith Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 02/05/2013 09:18:39 1377410 Link 0 |
They aren't a bad panel of lads but I think the management is way off the mark.Certain players in the squad no matter how they play .Two lads carried injuries right throughh the hard trainning & league & suddeningly are fit for Championship amazing .Why is there so many underage players on panel ? When there are lads out there playing senior club div 1 football every weekend the likes of Ryan Egan Castlerahan, Dean Ruderford , Paul Gilcreest Lavey .All I cam say is county minors must have some super players if these lads r being overlooked. eastcavan12 (Cavan) - Posts: 88 - 02/05/2013 10:54:30 1377481 Link 0 |