Cavan V Armagh

Well, we have plenty of injury problems mounting up, but we need a win here to stay in the competition. Bear in mind of course that we play these lads in the first round of Ulster. We're well capable of beating them if we put in a performance with the same effort as the Down match. Anyone travelling up to it?

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 09/01/2013 21:23:57    1316075

you can watch the game live on here: armagh v cavan live

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 11/01/2013 14:25:11    1316934

James Reilly.
Oisin Minagh, Killian Brady, Damian Barkey.
Padraic Reilly, Alan Clarke, John McCutcheon.
Tomas Corr, Gearoid McKiernan.
Damien O'Reilly, Declan McKiernan, Mark McKeever.
Cian Mackey, Martin Dunne, Niall McDermott

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 11/01/2013 21:47:46    1317180

sheva7

James Reilly.
Oisin Minagh, Killian Brady, Damian Barkey.
Padraic Reilly, Alan Clarke, John McCutcheon.
Tomas Corr, Gearoid McKiernan.
Damien O'Reilly, Declan McKiernan, Mark McKeever.
Cian Mackey, Martin Dunne, Niall McDermott

Is that the team for tonite? Not many changes apart from James and Barkey!! Pity as I would like to have seen a few more lads tried out before the Lge. These are the games to try them and settle on your best 15 or so. There were a few weaknesses evident on last Sun and I am not a believer in naming unchanged teams. It only covers up cracks or weaknesses. Hopefully we will get a win and who knows we might make the S/final. I suppose with the injured players and the college lads the panel is probably stretched!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 12/01/2013 13:11:15    1317241

Half time Cavan 2-05 Armagh 1-05

Cavan made a great start and were 6 points up at one stage, conceded a soft goal and let Armagh right back into it. All to play for in the second half.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 12/01/2013 19:41:47    1317391

Full time

cavan 3-09 armagh 1-11

good win, some strong performances, armagh were wasteful in front of goal while we were a bit more clinical at times, team seems to be improving

scorers inluded

martin dunne 2-02
gearoid mckiernan 0-03

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5251 - 12/01/2013 20:37:58    1317414

cavan for sam..

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1732 - 12/01/2013 20:41:04    1317417

Well done Cavan. Good display, in particular McKiernan, Dunne and Mackey. And well done Armagh tv for the live streaming. Other county boards please note, in this time of renewed emigration.

delaad (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 12/01/2013 20:59:59    1317431

McKiernan kicked some serious long range scores, it's great to have a free scoring midfielder, fair play to the lad, hopefully he can continue this level of form and even step it up. Dunne did very well for the second game running, our forward line should be built around him and Keating when he returns. Mossy Corr worked hard around the middle, Mackey kept himself busy.

Full back line lost concentration once or twice, that would be the only issue I'd have. They could not deal with Stefan Forker at all, who ended up MOTM. He needs to be watched very carefully in the Championship.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 12/01/2013 21:37:22    1317443

Stefan forker was well marshelled by james Morris in the u21s last year . we're lucky our forwards are playing well because with so many missing there is no decent forward to come on and a change the game. Thought mossy,mckeever,mackay,dj and Dec mckiernan worked very hard.some great scores by gearoid and dunne, James reilly was very solid in goals.good to see both seniors and u21s tackling from 15 out.

hoy (Cavan) - Posts: 307 - 13/01/2013 11:35:03    1317487

geroid 4 pts

jfkcavan (Cavan) - Posts: 315 - 13/01/2013 12:04:48    1317496

Well done Cavan, very good result, players worked very hard, game was played at a good pace for mckenna game. Geroid mckiernan is becoming some midfielder
cant wait to have rory dunne, david givney and eugene keating back.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 13/01/2013 13:59:57    1317526

well done cavan hopefully now down will beat armagh

Mounty (Cavan) - Posts: 32 - 13/01/2013 14:33:48    1317533

Be waiting a while blueman. Givney is after breaking leg.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 13/01/2013 14:50:13    1317538

doratheexplorer

Be waiting a while blueman. Givney is after breaking leg.

Awful news, hope he has a speedy recovery. What game was that in?

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 13/01/2013 14:54:12    1317542

Hit by a taxi on bike according to hinself on twitter.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 13/01/2013 15:04:18    1317547

Wish him well in recovery. On a brighter note it is finally great to see some progress with Cavan seniors. Even the older players are giving more such as Mackey and Corr. Long may it continue. Credit must be given to Terry and his team.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 13/01/2013 15:11:12    1317549

Panic over. Turns out someone on his account. Damn social networking.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 13/01/2013 15:52:49    1317571

Just seen that Dora, thank God for that. A small county like us can't afford any injuries to key players.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 13/01/2013 16:05:26    1317583

whats the story with the semi finals. are we in it if armagh beat down by a point or 2?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5251 - 13/01/2013 18:44:38    1317717