Team to Topple Tir Connaill.

cfsm2012

1176764 better players on the bench, the management threw in the towel. The two flanagans , Maloney Derham, Clarke , Brady and Mc loughlin were all out of their depth in my opinion, substitutions too

Clarke and mc loughlin and Brady good players but yesterday out of their depth , Maloney Derham and Fergal and Ronan Flanagan not senior inter county standard in my opinion. Hyland had better more experienced players at his disposal yesterday and did not use them eg. Fit Cullivan for unfit mc Kiernan, mc dermott and mc clarey and smith far superior to either Brady tierney , or Maloney Derham , Corr, Hayes , Fannon, McKiernan vastly superior to Clarke ,Mc Loughlin, P. Reilly and flanagans

So yes I was at game and observed a display by the management which was informed by favouritism, belief in its own hype a fundamental belief that cavan could not win and that if we didn't it really did not matter. In my opinion the management and indeed the county board and indeed the minor management are egocentric in their thinking and until they mature into a more visionary and empowering force Cavan football will continue in its downward spiral. Hope that answers any questions out there about my thinking on Cavan football, we are good enough we have been hijacked by mediocrity.

And with that post, goes with it all the credibility of your future posts.

galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 21/05/2012 10:04:52    1176826

Thought provoking and insightful analysis there RHF, on Cavan County Board is clearly where your visionary talents will be at home.

cfsm2012 (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 21/05/2012 10:10:24    1176836

Very painfull to watch this display.Was sitting beside a supporters who came down from Dublin and had to pay E25 plus Toll money to watch a poor Donegal team devour us In Breffni/Kingspan park.
I do hope we get some weaker county in the back door draw

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 21/05/2012 10:13:51    1176839

cfsm2012,
Totally disagree with you. Agree with galopping gazele. Typical negativity here. Mc Loughlin had a great game, Brady was involved in most of the scores in the game, both 19 years old, they were trying to cover men that more experienced players were not bothering to mark. Lacey did serious damage, seemed to be allowed to roam freely. A one man forward line was never going to work, we played too defensively at times too. I could hear people roaring at players to kick the ball in, but to where?? Bud was very unlucky, hit the post twice and kicked a wide. Think the penalty was the turning point, (both penalties dubious). County Board will seriously have to talk about objecting to playing under that ref again, he didn't beat us, but there were a few decisions that came at crucial moments of the game. WE should have got a few frees, we didn't get, and why not issue a yellow card when we got our penalty? Podge and Givneyy had good spells
At the end of the day lessons will be learned, and management will have a task to lift the mood. We were never going to dethrone the Ulster champions, we held them till the 21st minute, so lets take the positives. Cavan need time to build a team , success doesn't come overnight.

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 278 - 21/05/2012 10:45:30    1176873

totally agree breffnie blue

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 21/05/2012 10:58:57    1176888

I watched the highlights back on BBC2 yesterday evening and Oisin McConville said Cavan should have been awarded several frees in front of the posts, particularly in the second half. There are clearly issues with Cormac Reilly's refereeing, and he should not be given another Cavan game. Having said that, he was not the reason we lost yesterday, but he was the reason we lost the U21 semi final.

I think there are a few positives we can take from the game though. Lets look at facts here, we had a team which was little more than an U21 team out, with 5 debutantes. We were up against a side which contested an AI semi final last year, and which plays Div1 football. We narrowly avoided relegation to Div4. This game had a 9-15 point stuffing written all over it.

Also, Donegal are the most difficult team to play against in the country, and we scored 1-10 against them. I have no doubt, that the only difference between the teams yesterday was experience and physicality. We had teenagers lining out in defence up against the likes of Colm McFadden. So with time and experience, these lads will flourish.

I thought the management made a poor call leaving McKiernan on for the whole game. He wasn't fit (maybe the ankle injury had something to do with it) and should not have been let stay on the field if that was the case.

I think a lot of people are being very pessimistic. A six point defeat to arguably one of the top 5 sides in Ireland is no disgrace.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 21/05/2012 11:59:20    1176969

Sergeant_Slash

+1

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 21/05/2012 12:25:30    1177004

I actually think coming from such a low base as we are, it wasnt all doom and gloom as it is protrayed here. I unlike many of the whingers on here was at ALL of the league games, i witnessed some dreadful performances against offaly and antrim and yesterday in comparison was a marked improvement. Big keating was very good on one of the best full backs in the country. We have some fine indivudal footballers no doubt about it but our team at the minute are just not of the quality that is needed at this level, but they are very young and will improve with more coaching and more experience at this level under the guidance of the current mgt set-up. Take out the goalie and mckeever and in five,six,seven years time the exact same team could be playing again thats how young they are. I quite fancy us to do well in the qualifiers.

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 21/05/2012 12:27:59    1177008

how much time Sergant..all this was said last year and the year before that. And mcConville said that cavan missed frees in front of the post's..

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 21/05/2012 12:28:38    1177009

I watched the full match yesterday and I try to watch it with the blinkers off. There was no question about the Donegal Penalty he got the Cavan one wrong watch the replay the foul was committed outside the 13 mtrs line and followed in but the initial contact was made the wrong side of the 13 to be a penalty, having said that I feel you are being unfair to the referee he in my opinion a reasonable game and he showed no favouritism towards either side. I did however think he had left his cards in the refs room for he should have dished out a few in the first 20 minuets.
You talk about the Donegal kick outs well their goal keeper was able to kick the ball 40 mtrs no problem so it just did not matter.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 21/05/2012 12:29:26    1177010

jack brady got a yellow card for a high tackle and two of our players were tackled round the neck and no yellow was produced

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 21/05/2012 12:51:18    1177055

seanorinn

I watched the full match yesterday and I try to watch it with the blinkers off. There was no question about the Donegal Penalty he got the Cavan one wrong watch the replay the foul was committed outside the 13 mtrs line and followed in but the initial contact was made the wrong side of the 13 to be a penalty, having said that I feel you are being unfair to the referee he in my opinion a reasonable game and he showed no favouritism towards either side. I did however think he had left his cards in the refs room for he should have dished out a few in the first 20 minuets.
You talk about the Donegal kick outs well their goal keeper was able to kick the ball 40 mtrs no problem so it just did not matter.

even though the foul on the cavan player was commited outside the area initially , the ref let play continue, the Donegal player continued to foul the forward inside the area so a penalty was the correct decision. The ref could have awarded a free in for the initial challenge but chose to let play continue. if the back had then let go it would have been no penalty but he didn't and there was a foul committed inside the area. also there was at least 2 other blatant fouls on Cavan players that he ignored... if you have it taped watch it again. However as others have said the ref didn't beat us. What are McKeirnan's instructions I wonder or does he just get the ball and try to run as far as he can with it and hope he gets into a position where he can shoot. This can work at underage level when you are bigger and stronger than everyone else but at senior level it doesn't work. he needs to look up and pick a pass . How the management left him on for so long is bewildering. he was literally on his knees.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 21/05/2012 19:34:19    1177555

3 Forwards scored and one of them was a sub. As i said the best forward in the County sitting in a house in Kildare because that manager wants him to prove himself!. Well there plenty there today that need to prove themselves including the manager and his 1970s tactics. Really was the worst display i ever saw from a Cavan team

The best forward in the county is Eugene Keating. Johnston was living off past glories when he went. Its one thing scoring 6 points in 35 minutes against a Division 4 team. Its another giving an All-Star full back a torrid game despite getting little or no tactics.

Worst display you saw? Strange your location is the UK and you didn't post until after 7 when BBC were showing the game in full at 7. You've worn out your welcome on this forum.

holluc (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 21/05/2012 20:18:20    1177608

even though the foul on the cavan player was commited outside the area initially , the ref let play continue, the Donegal player continued to foul the forward inside the area so a penalty was the correct decision. The ref could have awarded a free in for the initial challenge but chose to let play continue. if the back had then let go it would have been no penalty but he didn't and there was a foul committed inside the area. also there was at least 2 other blatant fouls on Cavan players that he ignored... if you have it taped watch it again. However as others have said the ref didn't beat us. What are McKeirnan's instructions I wonder or does he just get the ball and try to run as far as he can with it and hope he gets into a position where he can shoot. This can work at underage level when you are bigger and stronger than everyone else but at senior level it doesn't work. he needs to look up and pick a pass . How the management left him on for so long is bewildering. he was literally on his knees.
s goldrick , 21/05/2012 at 19:34

No he did not allow play to continue he blew the whistle right away he got it wrong no penalty. I call it as I see it no favouritism from my quarters

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 21/05/2012 21:41:54    1177711

donegal make football bad the "extraman" was saying it was the worst game he had ever seen ,every game donegal takes part in is bad sick or puke isnt the right word more like vomet ,i dont care they won ,they played bad against an u21 team yea yea yous hit 1-16 the school boys hit 1-10 against donegal (",) im 100% when i say this cavan did not make that game look bad ,the best scores came from a cavan man , we were forced to play in donegals style of sheep hearding football .good luck to yas expect pleanty more comments from other countys as yous play them .

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 21/05/2012 21:42:25    1177713

Donegal have a great system, it may not be pretty but, as they say beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Forwards marking up and helping out the defence and breaking at speed is an effective method for Donegal.

Having said this, and more luck to them, the big difference between us last Sunday was physique, we have to build our young Players up and physically compete with other teams. We have a talented bunch of players who will be competing for honours in the next couple of years.

Donegal went for years without winning an Ulster championship game but adopted a style and ethos which is being perfected by Jim McGuinness. We have build the foundations, we must persevere and take over from the current Ulster champions, we're on the way back and Sunday was another step in the journey!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 22/05/2012 08:45:59    1177745

@ochonlir. Well said. At last someone typing a bit of sense, without a bag of chips on their shoulder, unlike a lot of posters on here. We don"t care less if we are slated because of our style of football. We got the same last year from the Kildare fans after the quarter final.Why?Because they thought they were the fittest team on the planet and they were falling like flies in extra-time. We went through 20 barren years so believe me, a little bit of begrudgery will hardly worry Jim or the lads and certainly not the supporters.

joseywales (Donegal) - Posts: 199 - 22/05/2012 10:03:10    1177792

Good luck to Cavan in the qualifiers, nice people and have some great young players!

HowManyStepsRef (Donegal) - Posts: 314 - 22/05/2012 11:58:21    1177907

I see you still have your knife in Johnston. What did he do to you Lemlin that you have a personal gripe ? !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/05/2012 19:31:55    1179147