Team to Topple Tir Connaill.

Who was top scorer from play Richie? You have no credibility on here anymore.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 20/05/2012 20:27:03    1176601

Sry that is aimed to Bisto Kid

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 192 - 20/05/2012 20:28:15    1176604

Goodies , bad management? Sums up the day today , they selected wrong, they left better players on the bench, the management threw in the towel. The two flanagans , Maloney Derham, Clarke , Brady and Mc loughlin were all out of their depth in my opinion, substitutions too late and ineffective, did they think tierney was going to get them a goal from the half forward line? As a Cavan supporter I was embarrassed at the complete ineptitude of the management at both senior and minor level. The minor management were far to lax , the senior management, absent! I can safely say I won't be rushing down to breffne again, 4 years we are going to have to look at this, more building and more blaming, the players are not the problem.

cfsm2012 (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 20/05/2012 20:28:46    1176605

letterkennyGuy
were are you going with your 8 posts ,tough luck get used to people slating donegals play ,cavan had to play like that and anyway there was only six points in it and yous played an u21 team ,enjoy it ,and ps yous know all about shutting doors

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 20/05/2012 20:35:08    1176612

cfsm2012 - you haven't got a clue have you? Were you even at the match?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 20/05/2012 21:04:49    1176653

Ok lads i am going to be honest here and i have to say its not pretty. That is the worst performance i have seen i the ulster championship by any team in a long while. I am not here to rub it in or anything like that but my god the future of cavan football looks very bleak. Remember that ulster football is not at its strongest at the moment. Lads a good club side would have went close to beating yous today. As i say it gives me no pleasure to say it but that was dreadfull performance.

THE EXTRAMAN (Donegal) - Posts: 554 - 20/05/2012 21:14:52    1176665

whole half forward line were a disgrace.dunno why bud was taken off and them left on..

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 20/05/2012 21:19:09    1176670

Clarke and McLoughlin performed excellently I thought!

I posted before that I thought they were too young to be brought in now, but was proven wrong, they both played very well today. And considering the age of the two lads, I think the poster cfm12 or whatever, needs to cop on! Definitely two lads that can have a big impact in the future for us.

I cant say I was happy after the game, but it was an improvement from last year. Anyone who is criticising because we didnt win hasnt a clue. Players like McBrearty, McFadden and Lacey are some of the best in IRELAND , nevermind Ulster. We dont have that level of player.

7 managers in 9 years, commentators were laughing at it today. Maybe, just maybe we should give this one time.

Anyone that thinks we have the players to beat Donegal, tell me when was the last time you seen a club game in Cavan of decent quality between both teams. Look at the club league in recent years, embarrassingly poor. If the players are there to beat Donegal, Tyrone and Dublin, they are doing a damn good job of hiding!!!

And thats no disrespect to the players we do have, its just to expect to beat the likes of Donegal at present is delusional, but typical from certain sections of Cavan support.

jacknoff (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 20/05/2012 21:27:15    1176680

The extraman

I'll take it you missed the game against Donegal last year, because it was the worst game I've ever seen, with thanks to Donegals puke football.
Regardless today was a stark improvement from Cavan. Its telling we have Donegal supporters here trying to rub it in. They can dance around with glee over us if they want.

Would you see the big counties like Tyrone, Dublin, Kerry, Cork etc trying to wind up supporters of an average Division 3 side. No, because they have bigger fish to fry.

Donegal will be knocked out by Tyrone/Armagh in the semi finals. Then by the first good qualifier team. So you probably should make the most of your win today I suppose.

jacknoff (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 20/05/2012 21:33:26    1176690

Well many on here got what they wanted that was to get rid of Val Andrews well tell me you people would you say that the correct changes were made who would you have left on and who would you have taken off? One person on the pitch was dead on his feet did any off you notice he was left on for the whole match ???

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 20/05/2012 21:35:49    1176695

3 Forwards scored and one of them was a sub. As i said the best forward in the County sitting in a house in Kildare because that manager wants him to prove himself!. Well there plenty there today that need to prove themselves including the manager and his 1970s tactics. Really was the worst display i ever saw from a Cavan team

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 20/05/2012 21:40:37    1176705

why was bud taken off, anyone know. why was gearoid left on when he was clearly unfit and soloing slowly up blind alleys. i recognise that it is extremely hard to play against donegal and we wont be the only team to struggle against them but we need someone who can coach the players to look for the right option when in possesion. time and again the wrong option was taken.. also we didn't look fit enough, which is a terrible thing to have to say at this time of year. How many wides did we have.. about 10 I reckon. half of them were scoreable also bud was unlucky twice. his goal attempt was very unlucky , He took the right option and also the shot that came off the post, yet he got taken off for this trouble.. Also agree with previous posters, the ref was shocking.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 20/05/2012 21:44:10    1176711

Surely this level of negativity is over the top. Donegal are a side that are away ahead in the stages of their development than Cavan are. Terry has had to put a side together in less than a month, a credit to him that he managed to put any side together in that time frame. I think everyone in Cavan agrees that building for the future is the way to go, but in order to do that you have to allow for young players to make the wrong decisions, make mistakes and learn from them.With a starting 15 including an 18 year old, a two nineteen year old's and a 20 year old you cant complain about wrong decision making. Patience and not completely turning against them will see these young players prosper. Any reasonable fan would have realised that the likelihood of Cavan getting a result today was unlikely, but the experience the likes of Clarke and Mcgoughlan got Today will be invaluable. The process of building a successful team is a long and arduous one, but there is now question that Terry Hyland is the man for the job if he gets the time and support. There is no quick fix but the level of negativity and the people on this forum who have dismissed these young players I feel have been too hasty.

smithy22 (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 20/05/2012 21:50:09    1176720

I'm surprised by goldrick but this forum is full of know nothings and I think some are happier when bitching about our young players after them giving their all. There are some horrible nasty individuals on here.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 20/05/2012 22:02:29    1176741

I am not on here dancing around after anything. Id rather we won by a point and got a test. fair enough cavan are going through a tough time and will get better. The amount of times Donegal players ran from their own defence into the cavan 45 and beyond without a hand being placed on them was a joke. And dont talk crap about stlyle of football. Donegal hit 1-16. a score that will win most games. I have to agree with your subs. Some of the players were wrecked and fresh legs had to be introduced at some stage for them!

THE EXTRAMAN (Donegal) - Posts: 554 - 20/05/2012 22:03:38    1176742

Bad performance on our part I'm afraid. To say we played well is more insulting to the players than to say we played poorly. There's no point in patronizing them. The likes of Maloney Derham, Ronan Flanagan and McKeever will know they had poor games and supporters paying 25 and 15 euro in have the right to expect better.

That being said, Donegal are a notoriously difficult team to play against, and Cavan did have quite a young team out, so to say all hope is lost is extremely negative.

Some good individual performances today with Keating and Givney standing out in particular and McLoughlin and Clarke both having solid debuts. Pauric Reilly and Gearoid McKiernan also worked tirelessly (although the latter looks unfit which may be because of the ankle injury) and Niall McDermott, Niall Smith and Tomas Corr should be pleased with their contribution when they came on into a game that was going strongly in the oppositions favour.

That being said there were some serious tactical issues brought to the surface just like last year. What exactly was Feargal Flanagan supposed to be doing? Nobody in the crowd knew what his role was... Did he know himself?

Damien Reilly is another who was left on his own wandering about our 45 without a man to mark, was he prepared for this and did he know what he was supposed to be doing?

Could one of these not have pushed up to prevent Donegal's short kick-out?

From where I was sitting it was painful to see the same routine employed by Donegal play after play. Cavan shoot, Durkin kicks it 15 yards to their unmarked No.4 who then proceeds to carry the ball 30-40 metres uncontested before laying it off. The Donegal defence then push forward as they pick out clever short hand passes and proceed to run at Cavans defence (which contains 3 players standing on our 45 who do not rush the oncoming attacker but rather stand off).

Every one of the 13000 people at the game knew how Donegal would play so there is no excuse for not being properly prepared. Tricking about with the starting team a half hour before the game is nonsense. McGuinness was never going to change his gameplan based on whether or not Niall Smith or John McCutcheon were starting for Cavan. McGuinness had never even heard of Niall Smith of John McCutcheon so why bother trying to be smart and naming them in the programme when Hyland knew they wouldn't play. And switching R.Flanagan onto the 40 and McKeever to wing back just made no sense at all.

It looked obvious to me Cavan were not well-prepared for this game tactically despite the several training sessions the team has had. You could be the best athlete in the country with the best ball skills to go with it, but if you do not know what you're supposed to be doing when you do and don't have the ball, you're going to be in trouble.

Each player needs to know exactly what their job is for each game and if I see that in the qualifier match I will be happy as I will be seeing an improvement.

Enough of the nonsense talk on this forum. The players are there and they are good enough. Make sure they know what they have to do and let them do it.

Cavan CAN play football, but tactically, we desperately need to improve. Give Hyland time and I think we can get there

Bananas

Bananas (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 21/05/2012 08:32:26    1176749

A lot of sour grapes on here lads.What would Donegal have won by if Murphy was playing? We can only beat what"s put in front of us. I"m actually far more pleased with the minors performance.

joseywales (Donegal) - Posts: 199 - 21/05/2012 08:54:03    1176760

better players on the bench, the management threw in the towel. The two flanagans , Maloney Derham, Clarke , Brady and Mc loughlin were all out of their depth in my opinion, substitutions too

Clarke and mc loughlin and Brady good players but yesterday out of their depth , Maloney Derham and Fergal and Ronan Flanagan not senior inter county standard in my opinion. Hyland had better more experienced players at his disposal yesterday and did not use them eg. Fit Cullivan for unfit mc Kiernan, mc dermott and mc clarey and smith far superior to either Brady tierney , or Maloney Derham , Corr, Hayes , Fannon, McKiernan vastly superior to Clarke ,Mc Loughlin, P. Reilly and flanagans

So yes I was at game and observed a display by the management which was informed by favouritism, belief in its own hype a fundamental belief that cavan could not win and that if we didn't it really did not matter. In my opinion the management and indeed the county board and indeed the minor management are egocentric in their thinking and until they mature into a more visionary and empowering force Cavan football will continue in its downward spiral. Hope that answers any questions out there about my thinking on Cavan football, we are good enough we have been hijacked by mediocrity.

cfsm2012 (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 21/05/2012 08:59:42    1176764

cfsm2012 less than half that post is true the rest is pure dung.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 21/05/2012 09:32:57    1176790

joseywales

A lot of sour grapes on here lads.What would Donegal have won by if Murphy was playing? We can only beat what"s put in front of us.I"m actually far more pleased with the minors performance.

Trawl away their deckhand. No biters here

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 21/05/2012 09:51:54    1176814