It's interesting that you use the word hyperbole whilst suggesting Cavan be known as a soccer or rugby county, I don't think anyone else's hype suggested that. Secondly your assertion that I have an agenda is more hyperbole, I think they call that projection.
Your lofty standards of providing stats took a break it would appear, very disappointing on a discussion forum, when you trotted off clubs that existed for a bit of craic in the past but unlike now had no juvenile structure.
The reality is, and you clearly don't believe it, that clubs like Kingscourt, Bailieborough and Castlerahan have serious competition now from the Fai at juvenile level so keep your fingers in the Dam, (how's that for hyperbole) and others will face up to this real completion and relish the challenge. They won't deny it with posh words but will up their game and as another poster said use it as a positive.
In terms of Rugby the no of clubs is consistent with other places its not a parish structure like we have. Virginia and Cavan have big numbers of players and can hold out the very real offer of potential provincial caps as an incentive to youngsters which is attractive. Many Cavan lads have represented Ulster at underage level, again this presents a challenge and is a far cry from the set up Ten or so years ago when gaa players played in the winter and left in the spring. These are serious clubs that have, like soccer, built up serious numbers in a few short years, whether you consider the word dramatic to be hype is not going to change these facts or reverse the success of these clubs. We need to work harder at our games simples!
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 19/06/2012 09:05:42
ochonlir County: Cavan Posts: 4017
1197373 some of the coaches encourage them not to play our sport.
this works both ways.Anyway you'd probably find in many cases that the person coaching the soccer team is also coaching or involved with the local GAA team also.
aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 257 - 19/06/2012 09:43:13
Agreed
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 19/06/2012 09:48:43
19/06/2012 09:05:42 ochonlir County: Cavan Posts: 4019
1197512 It's interesting that you use the word hyperbole whilst suggesting Cavan be known as a soccer or rugby county, I don't think anyone else's hype suggested that. Secondly your assertion that I have an agenda is more hyperbole, I think they call that projection.
Your lofty standards of providing stats took a break it would appear, very disappointing on a discussion forum, when you trotted off clubs that existed for a bit of craic in the past but unlike now had no juvenile structure.
You used emotive language to reinforce your point and I simply challenged you on it . You have no stat's to prove your point but you had the audacity to claim that their is a 'dramatic rise' in rugby & soccer numbers at an underage level and used it as another excuse for Cavans demise. If you use emotive language like that then be prepared to be challenged. In the mean time, if you can prove that there has been an acute/severe rise in underage soccer and rugby playing numbers over the last 10-15 years then I will be fair and hold my hands up. Until then, ramble away
Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 19/06/2012 10:45:49
I understand now! The word dramatic has made you emotional as you have just admitted. That emotion has caused you to believe that I used the rise in soccer and rugby as an excuse when I clearly don't as I've said that despite it we are doing well and that we must use it as a positive. This emotion has further clouded your judgements so as to suggest that I have an agenda but through your tiny tears you are unable to outline that agenda. If you care to ramble over to the wholly owned grounds of Kingscourt and Bally duff FCs you will see the numbers for yourself but try to hold it together!
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 19/06/2012 11:06:01
18/06/2012 09:18:11 ochonlir County: Cavan Posts: 4021
1196555 Not an excuse but a clarification to your assertion that there is not a stitch of Hurling rugby or soccer
Despite the dramatic rise of both soccer and rugby particularly the former, we have started to do well at underage. So for whatever reason our winning mentality evaporated over the last 30 years, it now appears to be on the way back if you look at some of the notable wins in the last 6 or seven years. This year St Pats and Virginia College win at Ulster level, Virginia won two senior Vocational schools ( Tyrone and Kerry top these grades) 3 Ulster u21 finals 2 wins Ulster minor champions
We need to build On these and get our confidence back and not as fredflint does whinge and throw up spurious arguments
I know you are emotional but it's clearly nor an excuse but a response to someone saying there is not a stitch of soccer or rugby, which clearly doesn't tug your weekend emotions
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 19/06/2012 11:22:36
drifting off topic as usual
Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 19/06/2012 11:43:53
Well if you didn't get emotional you wouldn't drift off topic
So that's that sorted then
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 19/06/2012 11:58:02
Most posters on this forum have their moments - applaud here, critisize there, moan a little, celebrate, but not you.
What is your vested interest in the senior set up and why do you feel the need to defend them in the most ridiculous circumstances, make up false stat's, whilst racking up >4000 posts in the mean time? what's the connection?
BTW Look up the word 'emotive' ;)
Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 19/06/2012 12:13:46
emotive [ɪˈməʊtɪv] adj 1. tending or designed to arouse emotion 2. of or characterized by emotion emotively adv emotiveness , emotivity n
AND
Most posters on this forum have their moments - applaud here, critisize there, moan a little, celebrate, but not you.
What is your vested interest in the senior set up and why do you feel the need to defend them in the most ridiculous circumstances, make up false stat's, whilst racking up >4000 posts in the mean time? what's the connection?
your question simply does not make sense, did you mean to say whats your connection with something in particular or with everything in general?
you are clearly contradicting yourself as you said I didn't in fact have any stats, which is it?
Please try to get a grasp of your own posts and not have me explaining them back to you and also researching your own words in the dictionary at your own request
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 19/06/2012 12:34:01
(You don't get it - you used the emotive language not me!? so cease with the schoolboy tactics before you lose any dwindling shred of credibility you may have had)
Who is driving this spin campaign and why the need to go to such lengths? Are you related to someone, working for someone or are you getting paid by the post?
Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 19/06/2012 12:58:35
vague questions again, with no meaning.
you are dishing out credibility points now?
if you have issue with the facts fine but attacking me personally hardly proves your point ....its just the emotions kicking in.
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 19/06/2012 13:39:12
Ochonlir - you made a daft statement on here and were pulled up on it. In the absence of any evidence to back up what you are saying you just kept digging. But maybe you could rise to this challenge. Can you name say 5 counties with less soccer/rugby clubs than Cavan? For example, there are 34 soccer clubs in Cork, 15 Rubgy Union and 45 Football clubs. Cork won all Ireland in 2010. There are 76 soccer clubs in Dublin, 34 Rugby Clubs and 51 football clubs. Dublin are current All Ireland champions.
Cavan...
5 Soccer Clubs 2 Rugby Clubs 40 GAA clubs (most of which have two teams so I'd put the number at 80 really)
This is a GAA county more than any other I know of and while we must be wary of other codes we should not fear them and certainly it is no excuse for our current state of affairs at senior level.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 24/06/2012 12:57:22
fredflint County: Cavan Posts: 91
Cavan...
5 Soccer Clubs 2 Rugby Clubs 40 GAA clubs (most of which have two teams so I'd put the number at 80 really)
This is a GAA county more than any other I know of and while we must be wary of other codes we should not fear them and certainly it is no excuse for our current state of affairs at senior level.
only 5 soccer clubs.really...Fredflint can you name those 5 please. .. i am just curious.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 24/06/2012 13:23:19
Fredflint
When or wher did I use soccer or rugby as an excuse, when did I say that we had more or less soccer than other counties. What I did say was we must respond positively to these sports. i also pointed out that despite this we are doing well now at underage .
The reality is that soccer in the past here was organised by a group of lads for a laugh by and large, now there is a good well organised underage structure in both Rugby and soccer. There is competition at underage level now where there wasnt in the past. So whether there is more soccer clubs in Dublin or Cork is as immererial as it is unsurprising but does not alter the fact that organised soccer is here!
If you want to deny this or just have an agugument with me thats fine as well but again does not change the reality on the ground.
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 24/06/2012 15:07:09
40 GAA Clubs???
Do you not mean 39 GFC clubs and 1 GAA club?
70mins (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 24/06/2012 16:56:38
you stick to your guns boy, ya mad eigit ya!
Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 24/06/2012 17:19:50
ochonlir County: Cavan Posts: 4096
make a call on the Fermanagh match, ya mad divil ya?
Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 24/06/2012 17:24:37
I hope we beat Fermanagh, and this team gains more championship experience. I am not that confident that we will win, we are certainly developing players that are proven at u21 and minor level and I agree with that approach.
So firmly on the fence Con but I'll be roaring with the rest of you and giving out etc on the day!
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 24/06/2012 19:15:44
I think this is very winnable. The little bit of positivity in the county is forgiveable - we were knocked out of the championship early and have had ample time to prepare under a successful manager. Afterall, we cannot hope to just turn it on and start competing after years in the wilderness. This beautiful future can't or won't happen without actual victories along the way. I think they have it in them - Cavan by +4
Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 24/06/2012 19:57:50