Suggest what we do to stop the slide to the bottom

Agree Ondaforty, kneejerk reaction and parachuting a manager in without proper thought would be detrimental for Cavan. Tom Reilly and County Board need to show real leadership now and take hard decisions, the fans want Andrews gone, I wanted him to succeed but as the league progressed he did nothing to inspire confidence. probably best to let Val see the year out and give proper consideration to a replacement. All are agreed we have made progress at underage, County Board cannot afford to get the manager thing wrong again. Hope the 21s give everyone a lift again tonight.

cavanabu10 (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 11/04/2012 12:13:38    1148735

JonSmith
S Goldrick could I ask you on what you are basing the contention that we have the players? What players are hanging around the county that have ever proven themselves at county level? Or at Ulster Club level?

There are plenty of players around the county JonSmith. Yes, maybe we don't have Ulster club winners of Ulster senior medalists etc. But there is good players available, and for one reason another, whether it be Val's fault or lack of management capabilities or the players lack of interest, they are not involved or were not asked to be involved in the current set up.
Some players who i feel would make a difference, even if it was for 20 minutes coming off the bench etc or in some cases, should be starting, are:

Chesty, C Mackey, M Lyng, A Clarke, S Johnston, J McCutcheon, T Crowe, J Crowe, E King, T Wakely, Mad Eddie, E McGuigan.

Now there's 12 players off the top off my head, just from senior teams, who i feel would make a contribution if involved.
People will say they are not involved or don't have the interest or dedication. Thats up to the management to entice players in, have a plan, have a vision of how things will pan out. Look at Fermanagh, every player wants to play for Peter the Great.
Alas, we are where we are though. Something needs to change, we have always had good players coming thru. End product is not being produced unfortunately

tony.montana (Cavan) - Posts: 179 - 11/04/2012 12:23:43    1148750

tony.montana

JonSmith
S Goldrick could I ask you on what you are basing the contention that we have the players? What players are hanging around the county that have ever proven themselves at county level? Or at Ulster Club level?

There are plenty of players around the county JonSmith. Yes, maybe we don't have Ulster club winners of Ulster senior medalists etc. But there is good players available, and for one reason another, whether it be Val's fault or lack of management capabilities or the players lack of interest, they are not involved or were not asked to be involved in the current set up.
Some players who i feel would make a difference, even if it was for 20 minutes coming off the bench etc or in some cases, should be starting, are:

Chesty, C Mackey, M Lyng, A Clarke, S Johnston, J McCutcheon, T Crowe, J Crowe, E King, T Wakely, Mad Eddie, E McGuigan.

Now there's 12 players off the top off my head, just from senior teams, who i feel would make a contribution if involved.
People will say they are not involved or don't have the interest or dedication. Thats up to the management to entice players in, have a plan, have a vision of how things will pan out. Look at Fermanagh, every player wants to play for Peter the Great.
Alas, we are where we are though. Something needs to change, we have always had good players coming thru. End product is not being produced unfortunately

exactly Tony_Montana... and there will be another lot of under-21s coming up soon too. we do have the players to compete and help us climb up the ladder. We need to involve get every eligible player with the required ability.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 11/04/2012 12:34:16    1148761

This is exactly what I'm talking about. When these lads were on the panel, we needed a clear out, when they're not included suddenly they are the answer. It's the "Andy Reid Syndrome" when they are not selected somehow their talent increases tenfold. You "feel" these lads can contribute. Based. On. What??? None have ever contributed significantly at Senior Intercounty Level apart from Johnston. The harsh truth (In my opinion moderators before you take the axe to my post) is that almost all the lads you mention above are decent club footballers within a poor county have won nothing of note outside their own county and have been tried and failed at Intercounty level. Good lads though they may all be.

Also, management is not there to entice the players. The Cavan jersey is there to entice the players, they shouldn't need to be coaxed into playing. Who are these lads that they can look at Val Andrews and turn up their noses?? What have they ever done to deserve a high profile manager? Not saying that any of these lads did so but the point stands.

As for saying we were competitive at underage before the breakthrough in 2010/2011. That is just wrong, plain and simple. We had a few "good losses" to sides that went on to win All Irelands.
That means nothing, it's as bad as Andrews claiming that we got more scores than Antrim. We didn't reach any Minor Finals since 1988. Competitive teams win back to back games and contest finals. We did not do that at underage level. The gap between losing by 1 and winning by 1 is enormous. Coming close to a team that goes on to win things means nothing. Winning is the only thing that means anything.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 11/04/2012 13:57:59    1148878

... like every other year and we will all be angry posting on HS, he will be sacked, we will all be optomistic about a new manager and this time next year we will all be giving out again
milhouse , 11/04/2012 at 11:20

Now that you seem to have gotton that off your chest, do you have a suggestion as to how to improve things once the new man is in place?

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 467 - 11/04/2012 14:42:53    1148954

Very good post JonSmith, fully agree with you.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 467 - 11/04/2012 15:02:28    1148978

JonSmith

None have ever contributed significantly at Senior Intercounty Level apart from Johnston.

Really, can you have a look at Cian Mackey's record at inter-county level again... I think he might have got a few scores in the league.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 12/04/2012 09:10:15    1149526

Now that the new managment team is in place I feel that it is time for a fresh outlook.
Perhaps Terry could now looks at matters within Cavan from a senior team point of view.
I know Terry was somewhat restricted in what he could do in the past but I will always remember his interview before the Donegal Championship game where he spoke to Fitz and said that Cavan would be keeping one eye on the league,
Now that was on the weekend before the championship (what an attitude Terry). It did not install any great confidence in me going down Breffni Lane that Sunday and indeed very little has changed since.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4070 - 26/04/2012 09:49:36    1160214

which league would that be tom? the NFL would have been long over so i assume you're talking about the ACFL leagues. If so, I would fully back terry in his decision to constantly monitor the leagues in cavan. Let's say for example that he spots an area of the squad that needs strengthening, or a number of key players are injured. . .would it not be an advantage to have an idea of some in-form players who may be capable of joining the squad at short notice in order to improve our chances in a championship game?

i seem to recall your idol donal keoghan calling sean reilly into the squad mid championship for a game a number of years ago

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5305 - 26/04/2012 11:58:29    1160344

nice to see you back posting tom I think the forum missed you, looks like you support terry instead of donal ???

theforgottenman (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 26/04/2012 12:44:05    1160392

Cavanman, you seem to be jumping to facts rather than what was meant by a remark that he made to Fitz which I can recal was" We are keeping one eye on the league" I feel that it was the National football league Div 3 that he was thinking about, Now that was before Terry allowed himself to be relegated from assistant manager role by Val to just a selector.
That Cavanman is just an attempt to clarify what Fitz left up in the air that Thursday before the Donegal game.
I feel that we the paying public have taken too much so this last ten years.
I think that the people that appointed TC and a few others should be barred from Cavan GAA.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4070 - 28/04/2012 08:24:23    1161758

Start winning!

Cavan have had two u-21 provincial wins in a row. Surely you can win build on that.

seamusmac (Meath) - Posts: 379 - 29/04/2012 17:21:37    1162408

Theforgottonman,

No I am not pro Terry or anti Donal but I will speak the truth, Terry allowed himself to be used by others.If Donal would have used Terry like what others did he would be banned from the GAA in Cavan for life.
I do say remember Terry did a lot of good work, but Donal did a power of work in a far higher league and only for that last minute goal against Kildare we would have gone on to greater things.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4070 - 29/04/2012 18:41:39    1162507

tomsmith

1162507 Theforgottonman,

No I am not pro Terry or anti Donal but I will speak the truth, Terry allowed himself to be used by others.If Donal would have used Terry like what others did he would be banned from the GAA in Cavan for life.
I do say remember Terry did a lot of good work, but Donal did a power of work in a far higher league and only for that last minute goal against Kildare we would have gone on to greater things

Ah now come on , under Donal Cavan played Div 2 for 1 year where the only game they won was against a Cork team who were in turmoil and didn't even play the first few games of the league that year.Whether a defeat is by one point or ten its still a defeat no matter how you butter it up.

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 257 - 29/04/2012 20:14:12    1162626

Whether a defeat is by one point or ten its still a defeat no matter how you butter it up.
aceofspades , 29/04/2012 at 20:14

Comes back to brains again all Cavan had to do was foul that player out on the forty and all that might have come from it was a point so lack of experience won on the day we were winning I think by two points and that was the last kick of the match, Clever clever clever inexperience.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 29/04/2012 20:36:16    1162665

I just hope that Val is a bit more positive this year in his pre match interview with Fitz in the paper than he was last year.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4070 - 12/05/2012 10:31:10    1170497

?

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 12/05/2012 13:13:27    1170555

ochonlir

1170555 ?

___

fascinating isn't it?

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 12/05/2012 13:40:35    1170578

shocking, didnt know he was back,

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 12/05/2012 15:18:36    1170655

tomsmith

I just hope that Val is a bit more positive this year in his pre match interview with Fitz in the paper than he was last year.

Wtf

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 12/05/2012 19:39:12    1170841