Division One League 2012

3 scores over 60 mins is woeful stuff.. Lavey hitting 8 scores isnt much better and that wont win many games either... In saying that Lavey goin well cud be a force in the championship

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 06/05/2012 12:08:31    1166640

yeah lifebuoy even on a bad day most teams in the county would kick at least 10 points.. kingscourt managed 2-11 in there previous game but only 1-2 yesterday, strange.

SlipperyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 06/05/2012 12:39:55    1166659

Congratulations to St Pats Cavan winning the Brock Cup.
Some talented footballers on display.
Well done to all involved.

jbm (Cavan) - Posts: 6 - 06/05/2012 12:57:05    1166664

pats arent in division 1 so take it else wher

humptydumpty1 (Cavan) - Posts: 92 - 06/05/2012 19:52:34    1166903

Lifeboy you seem a bit confused ,firstly lavey wont win many games scoring 8 points,then your tipping them to go well.I didnt think they would beet Kingscourt but they did and by all accounts deserved to do so.Kingscourt beat Mullahoran,by only scoring 7 to Mullahorans 5 .It does not matter what you score as long as you win

kinglarry (Cavan) - Posts: 189 - 07/05/2012 09:11:21    1167082

what i meant was i dont think Lavey have lost a game yet, so thats what i meant when i said they were going well... obviously 8 points wont win many games in da championship, but still av to give them credit..

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 07/05/2012 11:03:36    1167115

lavey lost to lacken

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1731 - 07/05/2012 12:34:29    1167153

Good win for Killygary today over Ballinagh in Killygarys back pitch.Looked like Ballinagh were going to run away with it early on ,and led 6 to 1.But Killygary took over from then on and won by 15 points to 11 i think.iIleft with a few mins to go,when a big shower of hail started to fall.Gaynor was lucky not to see red.If the ref seen what we seen he was gone.Getting very tight at bottom now.Two good wins for Killygary nearly lifts them up to mid table.Donal Thomas was the difference,he won every ball in the middle of the field,Cavan could do with him.Tight pitch suits also.

kinglarry (Cavan) - Posts: 189 - 07/05/2012 16:08:51    1167257

I cant get over Lacken's form in the league, 100% record still intact after a convincing win against redhills at the start of the season. they will surely be senior championship next year either by finishing high in the league or winning the intermediate.

Cavan Gaels nearly slipping up again, would i be right in saying castlerahn just about fielded a team for the game?

Ballinagh losing to killygarry was a surprise result, although i heard they had a lot of young inexperienced players starting. 2 defeats for them, did not see that coming from the games they played so far.

Mullahorn and kingscourt also seem to be struggling, last years finalists!

Could be a few surprises playing intermediate football next year!

johnydrama (Cavan) - Posts: 131 - 08/05/2012 10:47:38    1167594

I cant get over Lacken's form in the league, 100% record still intact after a convincing win against redhills at the start of the season. they will surely be senior championship next year either by finishing high in the league or winning the intermediate.

Cavan Gaels nearly slipping up again, would i be right in saying castlerahn just about fielded a team for the game?

Ballinagh losing to killygarry was a surprise result, although i heard they had a lot of young inexperienced players starting. 2 defeats for them, did not see that coming from the games they played so far.

Mullahorn and kingscourt also seem to be struggling, last years finalists!

Could be a few surprises playing intermediate football next year!
johnydrama , 08/05/2012 at 10:47

I expect most of the Cavan Gales players would have been hung over as one of the Reilly lads got married

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 08/05/2012 11:22:25    1167622

Castlerahan just had 15 players. The former club secretary played corner forward and 2 young lads made their debuts. They had no subs. They had a wedding on Saturday hence the low numbers. The players were still standing outside the dressing room 15 minutes before throw-in wondering if they'd make the 15 while the Gaels were warming up.

Gaels had the wedding on Friday night. Their second team was playing at 5:30 and the first team at 7:30. I think they had 3 subs. Fair play to Chesty and Sean Reilly especially for turning up to play.

The game shouldn't really have gone ahead.

Bozo (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 08/05/2012 12:00:00    1167662

this is the current league table after the weekends round of games.

Pld Won Draw Lost For Against Diff Points
Lacken GAA 5 5 0 0 70 47 23 10
Lavey 6 5 0 1 76 54 22 10
Cavan Gaels 6 4 1 1 89 68 21 9
Castlerahan/Caisleán Raithin 5 3 2 0 63 48 15 8
Cúchulainns 6 4 0 2 92 79 13 8
Reamor Aontaoithe 6 3 1 2 81 76 5 7
Ballinagh 5 3 0 2 75 68 7 6
Gowna 7 3 0 4 79 83 -4 6
Belturbet 7 3 0 4 86 91 -5 6
Killygarry GAA Club/CLG Coill an Gharraí 6 2 0 4 74 77 -3 4
Réalta Dun an Rí 5 1 2 2 54 58 -4 4
Drumalee 5 2 0 3 51 65 -14 4
Droim Dhúin Éire Óg 6 1 1 4 70 85 -15 3
Mullahoran 4 1 0 3 33 39 -6 2
Ballyhaise 4 0 1 3 40 55 -15 1
Redhills 5 0 0 5 44 84 -40 0

k.long (Cavan) - Posts: 40 - 08/05/2012 14:23:30    1167814

this is the current league table after the weekends round of games.

Pld Won Draw Lost For Against Diff Points
Lacken GAA 5 5 0 0 70 47 23 10
Lavey 6 5 0 1 76 54 22 10
Cavan Gaels 6 4 1 1 89 68 21 9
Castlerahan/Caisleán Raithin 5 3 2 0 63 48 15 8
Cúchulainns 6 4 0 2 92 79 13 8
Reamor Aontaoithe 6 3 1 2 81 76 5 7
Ballinagh 5 3 0 2 75 68 7 6
Gowna 7 3 0 4 79 83 -4 6
Belturbet 7 3 0 4 86 91 -5 6
Killygarry GAA Club/CLG Coill an Gharraí 6 2 0 4 74 77 -3 4
Réalta Dun an Rí 5 1 2 2 54 58 -4 4
Drumalee 5 2 0 3 51 65 -14 4
Droim Dhúin Éire Óg 6 1 1 4 70 85 -15 3
Mullahoran 4 1 0 3 33 39 -6 2
Ballyhaise 4 0 1 3 40 55 -15 1
Redhills 5 0 0 5 44 84 -40 0

Big surprises is that Lavey and Lacken are at the top and Mullahoarn and Kingscourt are near the bottom, Redhills look doomed already as do Ballyhaise

SlipperyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 08/05/2012 19:31:04    1168138

Get out of it, bullhorn have two if not 3 games in hand over some times! Win those they'll be straight up to top 5

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 08/05/2012 20:04:10    1168171

I guess iPhone autocorrect is responsible for bullhorn

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 08/05/2012 21:28:08    1168244

Does anybody have absolute clarity on how the league placings from this year will restructure the leagues and championship for 2013 onwards? From speaking to people from other clubs I have not come accross anybody that was confident enough to admit that they understood what will happen and all admitted to a degree of uncertinaty. Surely clubs must know:

1. What they voted for when these changes were adopted.
2. What the rewards or relegation that will happen dependent on their final league standing after the 2012 leagues are completed.

From my own investigations into the initial proposals by the steering group set up I understand that the following will happen, however it is only my understanding form the initial document. In addition the initial proposals appear to contradict with the existing league structures in relation to the number of teams in the currently in the divisions so I have tried to apply the principles to the leagues as they are currently structured.

I am also not sure if the initial proposed document as presented for discussion was adopted in full or if there were amendments to it. (I would have expected that the final adopted rules would be loaded onto the County website!).

1. The basic principle is that the leagues will be split into divisions of 10 Nr. teams in total. Giving 18 games home & away.
2. Division 1 being Senior Clubs only.
3. Division 2 intermediate.
4. Division 3A & 3B Junior.

Division 1 would consist of teams 1 - 9 as they finish in the 2012 dvision 1 + the intermediate championships.
Division 2 would be the remaining 7 teams from the 2012 division 1 + the top 2 teams from division 2 + the junior champions.
Division 3A would be the next 10 teams from the 2012 division 2 with the remaining teams from division 2 along with the division 3 teams making up division 3B.

This is where it get blurry as I dont know what happens regarding the teams at the bottom of say the 2012 Div 2 / top of Div 3 and where they are placed.

Essentially half the clubs in the county will be Junior clubs in 2013, which based on the initial logic means that only 2 or 3 max teams currently in the 2012 div. 2 will retain their intermediate status with also the potential of say Denn if they are not in the top 3 / 4 clubs at the end of the league also dropping to Junior.

As I say from the initial proposals I dont know if the restructuring was adopted verbatim however I do find it difficult it believe that if it is that all clubs fully understood it and voted it in.

If I am on the wrong track alltogether so be it, dont shooot me down, All I am asking is for someone in the know to advise the facts.

offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 171 - 09/05/2012 10:16:27    1168330

I AM also not fully sure on league structures
However i think they changed it to intermediate been 2 divisions of 10 teams with only 10 teams in junior
What happens to team who tops div 2 for example ?

FrankAnnyalla (Monaghan) - Posts: 339 - 09/05/2012 11:00:22    1168365

I believe the bottom 7 teams in div 1 get relegated to div2 in the league and also to the intermediate championship.
The top team in div 2 gets promoted to div1 and senior championship. there will be 20 teams in the intermediate league made up of 2 groups of 10. promotion will be earned by either winning the championship or the league. I also ask the question. so how many teams can be promoted. if the same team comes top of the league as wins the intermediate championship are they the only team to be promoted. if there are two intermediate divisions do the top team in each division get promoted. if neither of these teams is the winner of the intermediate championship do 3 teams get promoted. (do 3 teams then get relegated from div 1.
do the top teams in the 2 intermediate divisions play each other in a final. how are the 2 divisions sorted (who decided what teams go i to what division. it must be written down somewhere. can someone post a link to the rules and regulations please.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 09/05/2012 11:17:06    1168377

This is how the make up of the 2013 league and championship will be decided. your club secretary should have a copy.

2013 Division 1 League & Senior Championship

2013 div 1 league & senior championship will be made up of 10 teams as follows ;

a. the Winners of the 2012 Senior Championship

b. the Winners of the 2012 Intermediate Championship

c. The top seven teams in the 2012 Division 1 League, not including (a) or (b).
d. The winner of a playoff between

· the next highest finishing team in the 2012 Division 1 League; and

· the top team in the 2012 Division 2 League

If the top team in the 2012 Division 2 League has already qualified for the 2013 Division 1 League & Senior Championship by winning the 2012 Senior or Intermediate Championship, no playoff game will take place and the next highest finishing team in the 2012 Division 1 League will automatically qualify for Division 1 in 2013.

2013 Division 2 League & Intermediate Championship

2013 Division 2 League & Intermediate Championship will comprise twenty teams.

These teams will be as follows:

e. the Winners of the 2012 Junior Championship

f. the remaining teams in the 2012 Division 1 League who have not qualified for the 2013 Division 1 League & Senior Championship

g. the top teams in the 2012 Division 2 League, not including teams in categories (a) to (f) inclusive.

h. The remaining team will be the winner of a playoff between

· the next highest finishing team in the 2012 Division 2 League ;and

· the top team in the 2012 Division 3 League

If the top team in the 2012 Division 3 League has already qualified for the 2013 Division 1/Division 2 League & Senior/Intermediate Championship by winning the 2012 Intermediate or Junior Championship, no playoff game will take place and the next highest finishing team in the 2012 Division 2 League will automatically qualify for Division 2 in 2013.

2013 Division 3 League & Junior Championship

2013 Division 3 League & Junior Championship will comprise the 11 teams who have not qualified for 2013 Division 1 & 2 League, and Senior & Intermediate Championship under the criteria (a) to (h) inclusive

tony.montana (Cavan) - Posts: 179 - 09/05/2012 11:19:03    1168379

seems very awkward, dunno what was wrong with the way it was..

SlipperyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 09/05/2012 11:32:01    1168391