Seanie Johnston...

all sorts of disagreements and disputes emerge in all walks of life, all sorts of choices are available to people. Its easy to be wise when you are not directly involved and be polarized one way or the other. I hope for Seanie's sake and for Cavans sake things work out, we must move on hopefully with the re emergence of Seanie in the blue of Cavan and indeed the Gaels, cool heads will be required to sort this but I hope we all emerge the stronger for it.

Good luck to Seanie and to Val and the rest of our players!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 17/01/2012 20:33:24    1095563

seanorinn

SHOW THE LINK WHERE ANDREWS SAYS THE DOOR IS NOT LOCKED TO ANYBODY, GO ON
sheva7 , 17/01/2012 at 20:08

if this for me I am not sure if I said link

Sean o Rinn this is not rocket science. What you have said is Andrews hasnt closed the door on anybody.Show me where he states that Seanie is welcome back on the panel if he works hard. IF YOU CAN SHOW THIS I WILL BE HAPPY. HE HASNT SAID IT. BUT ANY MANAGER WOULD SAY THIS TO ANY PLAYER HE KNEW THAT HAD ABILITY. SO WHY HAS ANDREWS NOT LEFT A DOOR OPEN FOR SEANIE??
if Seanie was a Drumalee man ud back him...............

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 17/01/2012 20:34:11    1095565

ochonlir

all sorts of disagreements and disputes emerge in all walks of life, all sorts of choices are available to people. Its easy to be wise when you are not directly involved and be polarized one way or the other. I hope for Seanie's sake and for Cavans sake things work out, we must move on hopefully with the re emergence of Seanie in the blue of Cavan and indeed the Gaels, cool heads will be required to sort this but I hope we all emerge the stronger for it.

Good luck to Seanie and to Val and the rest of our players!

Ochinlir i think you and i know despite our disagreements over the years that this really is a step too far on the managements point of view. they got this well wrong.You know it. I know it. And theres no hiding place WHEN it goes belly up!

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 17/01/2012 20:40:48    1095579

its a tough one. I have to say he is one of the best around. He shoots from angles that would frustrate and annoy most managers but seems to get a fairly high percentage of them. His game is based on getting the half yard and turning on a sixpence and putting it over the bar.

I somehow get the feeling that there is more to the 10 second phone call after having a poor season last year for club and county. The previous year went well with DCU until the elbow injury and then he waved his wand (with a sore elbow) against wicklow.

When you see a county team have to depend so much on one player, you'd have to wonder if it can end up holding other player back a bit. New management more often than not, clear the dressing room and that is no real surprise. Maybe the dressing room had gone too sour.

Its funny in that the Cavan Gaels club hold all the aces, not kildare, not seanie, the CB or the gaa.. if they did give in i'm sure several clubs would raise objections in Kildare against the transfer.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 606 - 17/01/2012 21:10:46    1095610

The County Board are very quiet on this. Its either shame or rowing in behind the manager. Not a word from them yet again on an important issue !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 17/01/2012 21:47:03    1095659

Ritz

Johnstone was captain for the Gaels last year. He was stripped of the captaincy around the Gowna league game in terry coyle park.
Didn't he also play for the Gaels 2nd team in the championship before he played with the 1st team in the championship in 2011

No, Chesty was captain for all of 2011. He did play for the 2nd team due to the fact that he hadn't started for the senior team in a championship match before then.

Sergeant (Cavan) - Posts: 100 - 17/01/2012 21:52:45    1095661

ponger

its a tough one. I have to say he is one of the best around. He shoots from angles that would frustrate and annoy most managers but seems to get a fairly high percentage of them. His game is based on getting the half yard and turning on a sixpence and putting it over the bar.

I somehow get the feeling that there is more to the 10 second phone call after having a poor season last year for club and county. The previous year went well with DCU until the elbow injury and then he waved his wand (with a sore elbow) against wicklow.

When you see a county team have to depend so much on one player, you'd have to wonder if it can end up holding other player back a bit. New management more often than not, clear the dressing room and that is no real surprise. Maybe the dressing room had gone too sour.

Its funny in that the Cavan Gaels club hold all the aces, not kildare, not seanie, the CB or the gaa.. if they did give in i'm sure several clubs would raise objections in Kildare against the transfer.

One of the better posts.
Gaels hold the aces because Seanie respects them,
Being playing with them since U12 and came through the ranks with most of them,
I hope he dont leave but il respect his wishes if he does.
Top class player and a loss to a County like Cavan

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 17/01/2012 21:53:00    1095663

Ochinlir i think you and i know despite our disagreements over the years that this really is a step too far on the managements point of view. they got this well wrong.You know it. I know it. And theres no hiding place WHEN it goes belly up!
sheva7 , 17/01/2012 at 20:40

give it a break lad the management have got it right and I expect the door is not closed to Seannie either you would think there was no one else on the panel that cannot score

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 17/01/2012 21:56:25    1095668

i find it strange that he works in cavan (breifne college per the indo) and that he lives in kildare

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 354 - 18/01/2012 08:16:11    1095676

seasiderblues

i find it strange that he works in cavan (breifne college per the indo) and that he lives in kildare

I think you picked that information up wrong so check again please.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 18/01/2012 09:40:21    1095697

seanorinn

sheva7 , 17/01/2012 at 20:40

give it a break lad the management have got it right and I expect the door is not closed to Seannie either you would think there was no one else on the panel that cannot score

5 points from play last Sunday is a great return for 6 forwards eh?

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 18/01/2012 09:46:27    1095702

Listen lads in my opinion most of ye are gettin too wound up on the whole johnston case he's just another player who got messed around or did he ?? maybe val had a plan??maybe he was gona be the impact player to give the players and county that boost we need comming into championship but we will never know because SEAN THREW HIS DUMMY OUT OF THE COT i myself am playing senior football in cavan for the last 10 years and i cant remember the amount of times i have been messed around i also have a clubmate who played county under val in his previous stint and in his opinion he was dropped unfairly.Unfortinuatly thats all part of football and if you have enough pride and hunger for your jersey you'll pick yourself up and try do better next time as i did and anyone i know did.How many of you lads have fallen out with your manager i'd say nearly all of ye as much as we love the game it can be damm frustrating and in fact i don't think val and sean even fell out he just didn't call him back in, am i right??would i be right in saying he's not the only player who wasn't called back in??wheres martin cahill yes he didn't have a great year last year nor did johnston.time to move on

cosey (Cavan) - Posts: 9 - 18/01/2012 10:04:30    1095717

He no more lives in Kildare than I support Meath or Monaghan. He's from Cavan and probably got his handy number in Breffni College because he's the footballer he is, but then again what did the county board ever do for him?
Cop on Seanie and play your way out of this hole that you've been dug into!

drumavigo (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 18/01/2012 10:06:51    1095720

Reading most of the posts I think there's a lot of fuss about a small issue. I think Pongers post make a lot of sense. He's an exceptional player that can change a game with 4 or 5 spectacular scores. But the one downer is that he knows he's an exceptional player and saw himself as untouchable and better than the rest. Its not good for team morale.
I was never a huge fan of Andrews but I think he may have got this fairly right. He saw underage teams having a successful year and wants to push these players who have bonded well together into a close senior team for years to come. The door I hope is not completely closed on Jelly and I doubt he'll get his transfer to Kildare unless he transfers clubs too. However, a year without him with these younger players will do their confidence/morale good. Bringing Jelly back for league or championship this year will still see him as irreplaceable which NO player ever is.
We've had no success with him in the senior panel in nine years so why not try one without him. It can't go any worse. Team spirit is better than any one player. Its very brave from Andrews and I think he should be praised. He will no doubt be crucified if we go out in first round of qualifiers but they did so last year with Jelly in the panel.
Its rebuilding time. If he goes, he goes.

peilarfheabhas (Cavan) - Posts: 7 - 18/01/2012 10:11:25    1095729

these are extracts from the independent article
"Cavan footballer Seanie Johnston used an address in Straffan to correspond with Croke Park over his attempt to seek an inter-county transfer to Kildare last week, it has emerged."
Johnston brought his case to the appeals committee on Wednesday night last and Croke Park are understood to have corresponded with him through his Straffan address. He works as a teacher in Breffni College in Cavan town.

Ritz (None) - Posts: 199 - 18/01/2012 10:15:45    1095733

i have always been a great admirer of seanie AS A SCOREGETTER however it seems that maybe he wasn't a good team-player and maybe he was bad for squad morale over-all. So I think then it is right to try a campaign without him. I don't believe that Cavan score less when he is not playing (someone may show me the stats) he has a good run of it. lots of very good players down the years have been dropped or not picked for Cavan but they haven't decided to jump ship.
I think it is against the spirit and the ethos of the GAA to ask for a transfer because you have lost your place on your own county team. it is also insulting to the other members on the county panel. I wish the county team (post johnston) all the best in the forth-coming year. Johnston, on the other hand, has made a rod for his own back.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 18/01/2012 10:30:00    1095743

Perhaps the silence from the CB and management is due to them being aware of all the facts here. So far we only have the player's spin in the public domain. He's getting a lot of general support from this forum and presumably a lot of it from supporters of the Gaels. This is to be expected and admired, standing by one of your own. When the dust finally settles on the whole story I hope he proves worthy of your genuine support.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 18/01/2012 10:41:46    1095751

The reason why it was only a 10 second phone call is cas jelly put down d phone when he was told he was dropped. There is 3 sides to every story and jelly is.only telling one side.

hoy (Cavan) - Posts: 307 - 18/01/2012 10:59:15    1095761

Mr. goldrick I must admit I agree with you 100%. Your playing life isn't eternal. it is only a part of your life. I'm sure Seanie 's getting some funny looks at work today, in Cavan.

drumavigo (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 18/01/2012 11:24:52    1095778

Listen the reason why the lads were dropped is because they thought(could be right) that they were writing in comments about them onto forums such as Hogan Stand etc. The truth is Seanie maybe hard to handle as an intercounty player but it takes a good manager to handle him. A lot of good intercounty players have run in's with management but they keep it inhouse. But Val could be a hero out of this, If Cavan win Ulster Val will be a hero, ( cant see this happening) Also I'd rather face a Cavan team or a Kildare team without Seanie..........rather than with him.

Ilovebutter (Louth) - Posts: 19 - 18/01/2012 11:42:31    1095792