SeanoRinn,
While I understand that you didn't want to boo SJ , why did you feel the need to applaud him onto the pitch? Did you also applaud the Cavan team and and their subs when they made their entrance on the pitch? Did you applaud the Kildare team onto the pitch? or as a supporter of the GAA did you applaud Dermot Early, who has given so much to the game during his career, onto the pitch? As a born & bred Cavan man I was disgusted to Seanie take to the field against his native county(although I never had a problem with his transfer),with Kildare been so far ahead on the scoreboard I thought it showed a complete lack of respect to Cavan county and its GAA supporters.For the record I've never booed an opposing player or team before and I didn't on Sunday either.
Cavan Slasher, you say Seanie wasn't wanted by Cavan,is it not true that James Reilly was dropped from the panel at the same time as Seanie?But then again sure both played Sunday.
aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 257 - 18/07/2012 15:13:27
Seanie was a great servant to Cavan football. He was dropped so I feel he owes Cavan nothing. He wants to progress his intercounty career now so the best of luck to him. NOTE, He was unattached when seeking the transfer. It would be a different story if he was an integral part of the squad and decided to jump ship. Cant understand why the supporters are booing him
Jack L (None) - Posts: 3187 - 18/07/2012 15:14:19
SeanoRinn,
While I understand that you didn't want to boo SJ , why did you feel the need to applaud him onto the pitch? Did you also applaud the Cavan team and and their subs when they made their entrance on the pitch? Did you applaud the Kildare team onto the pitch? or as a supporter of the GAA did you applaud Dermot Early, who has given so much to the game during his career, onto the pitch? As a born & bred Cavan man I was disgusted to Seanie take to the field against his native county(although I never had a problem with his transfer),with Kildare been so far ahead on the scoreboard I thought it showed a complete lack of respect to Cavan county and its GAA supporters.For the record I've never booed an opposing player or team before and I didn't on Sunday either.
Cavan Slasher, you say Seanie wasn't wanted by Cavan,is it not true that James Reilly was dropped from the panel at the same time as Seanie?But then again sure both played Sunday. aceofspades , 18/07/2012 at 15:13
Yes I did applaud the teams coming out onto the pitch and yes I did applaud Dermot Early for Dermots dad and I have a long history of communication and friendship going back forty odd years. I was delighted to see Dermot coming on and I hope of all players in the country he does win an All Ireland. I was delighted to see Declan McKiernan coming on as well as his chances of winning an All Ireland junior medal have been deprived off him when he was brought on for the Fermanagh match. He will be a huge loss to the juniors in a few weeks time. Yes I shook Seanies hand both before the match and when he was leaving Breffni Park for remember one of our greater players will never again play inter county football again for Cavan so our loss Kildare's gain. I know he had problems don't we all. Let me tell you because of what I do I have to refrain from posting how I feel about a lot of what I saw but thats enough said.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 18/07/2012 15:36:00
Seanie was a great servant to Cavan football. He was dropped so I feel he owes Cavan nothing. He wants to progress his intercounty career now so the best of luck to him. NOTE, He was unattached when seeking the transfer. It would be a different story if he was an integral part of the squad and decided to jump ship. Cant understand why the supporters are booing him Jack L , 18/07/2012 at 15:14
Unattached to whom ?? Cavan or Cavan Gaels
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 18/07/2012 15:37:14
this arguement is nearly bled dry but Sean is talking nonsense, unattached? surely Cavan Gaels would disagree, losing the best forward in the county effects them greatly. The reason he will never go down like the greats of this county is when the first major doubt was placed against him, he looked for an easy out. That man would have been better suited to examine himself and ask why he was dropped? Be a man, and try to get back on the panel. Instead of running off to Kildare like he did. I honestly hope he never wins anything with them. Kisssing his ass on this forum sounds stupid, although you like to think your taking moral high ground alot of the time. In reality you just sound silly
milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 18/07/2012 16:24:20
Lillymadfan - come back to me when Kildare have won half of what Cavan have and we'll talk. I was on the terrace last week and no one from Cavan clapped him. Quite a few were calling on the Cavan players to hammer the head off him. Milhouse - well said.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 18/07/2012 16:43:14
One of our greatest players haha.
RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 887 - 18/07/2012 16:59:32
Fredflint are you a teenager or what? agreeing with lads to hit him? is violence that never should be on the pitch never! shame on you for supporting the likes of it!!!!!!
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 18/07/2012 17:04:30
this arguement is nearly bled dry but Sean is talking nonsense, unattached? surely Cavan Gaels would disagree, losing the best forward in the county effects them greatly. The reason he will never go down like the greats of this county is when the first major doubt was placed against him, he looked for an easy out. That man would have been better suited to examine himself and ask why he was dropped? Be a man, and try to get back on the panel. Instead of running off to Kildare like he did. I honestly hope he never wins anything with them. Kisssing his ass on this forum sounds stupid, although you like to think your taking moral high ground alot of the time. In reality you just sound silly milhouse , 18/07/2012 at 16:24
You are pathetic but what can one expect from those that hide behind an alias. If a player does not want to play for you he is best gone, He took the option and that should be the end of it. Clowns booed plain and simple, genuine gaa people applauded. Most Cavan people are above the gutter behaviour plain and simple.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 18/07/2012 17:18:21
while i don't agree with booing, i think the Cavan people applauding Johnston was stupid. At that moment he came on i was not going to applaud as this would show approval and brown nosing! let it go he's gone, right or wrong its over!
Mike_Clitoris69 (Cavan) - Posts: 230 - 18/07/2012 17:46:14
Lilywhite, you accuse me of being a teenager yet you are the one incapable of reading my post. Where did I say I agreed with doing violence onto Johnston. I wouldn't waste my energy with the likes of him.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 18/07/2012 18:26:39
Yet you have the energy to type that cavan supporters were shouting to 'hammer' johnston like its a good thing a fellow that has been at cavan for many a year giving it his all he owes them nothing and its shocking that they were calling for him to be not only injured but 'hammered' I dont believe kildare fans ever called for Larry Tompkins or Shay Fahy to be treated like that disgrace.
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 18/07/2012 19:57:16
18/07/2012 19:57:16 lilywhitemagic County: Kildare Posts: 1124
1222004 Yet you have the energy to type that cavan supporters were shouting to 'hammer' johnston like its a good thing a fellow that has been at cavan for many a year giving it his all he owes them nothing and its shocking that they were calling for him to be not only injured but 'hammered' I dont believe kildare fans ever called for Larry Tompkins or Shay Fahy to be treated like that disgrace.
That aint true kid.
RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 887 - 18/07/2012 20:33:30
I dont believe kildare fans ever called for Larry Tompkins or Shay Fahy to be treated like that disgrace. lilywhitemagic , 18/07/2012 at 19:57
Shay Fahy just like the late Dermot Early were moved from post to post because of the army and it was the norm for these people to transfer to where they were transferred too. I cannot speak for Larry Tompkins but you cannot compare the present situation to the above mentioned can you.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 18/07/2012 21:43:28
Ah its a case of monkey see monkey do!
Seanie Johnston belongs to the geals club who welcome recruits.
But they never won Ulster & Johnstone will never win a leinster.
To leave your club would be so hard. The club you grew up the friends you made.Esp the results they ve got.
Look at clubs knocking on the door , with a host of professionals say working in dublin commuting & who still beleive they ll be in with a chance & train untill their late 30s in the hope every year will bring a kind draw in the group stages. Have these clubs bonded better than the geals?? Doubt it.
The man was ill advised or very determined but i think his Club should have intervened.Cavan suffered last week more than Kildare.I think the long standing effect will be seen on Cavan geals.
Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 19/07/2012 10:20:42
fredflint County: Cavan Posts: 122
1221757 Lillymadfan - come back to me when Kildare have won half of what Cavan have and we'll talk. I was on the terrace last week and no one from Cavan clapped him. Quite a few were calling on the Cavan players to hammer the head off him. Milhouse - well said.
oh FREDFLINT is that from freddie flintstone cause you are living way back in bedrock all right.
by saying that you wanted the cavan footballers to beat the head of a player is bordering voilence and thugerry and the administrator should at this point block you from the forum.
althought again I say not all kildare fans were in favour of the move, people are entitled to move if they wish too that is whats great in this country freedom of choice.Now someone in an earlier post said you might be young and yes it kinda is the speculation from what posts you have added on the forum maybe in time and with a few years experience of life your thoughts will change and you will understand that people will make decisions and changes that not everyone will find easy to except, but thats life and no point dwelling on it you have to move on.
as for the comment we won more than ye again yes i probably have to agree BUT not recently eh when has cavan won ulster when has cavan won an all ireland and what div are ye in come league time. maybe in times past cavan were there plugging away but at the moment its a county that needs a lot of underage structure and a few years to progress. I think you should now concentrate on club championship in the county and not be encouraging teams to beat the heads off others they meet. this isnt a sporting manner and doesnt change anything to the fact that the johnson saga is over and just move on.
lillymadfan (Kildare) - Posts: 1085 - 19/07/2012 12:49:11
No matter what the reasons for a transfer, shouting for a lad to be hammered is disgusting and by the way larry tompkins fell out with the kildare county board because they failed to pay for flight tickets!!! wasnt dropped...was not told he wasnt wanted just that the county board would only pay for half the ticket fare to return to ireland from America Larry Tompkins walked away over flight tickets not because he was not wanted and we went on to watch him win an all ireland and get a celtic cross for a different county but by god I was not shouting for the man to be injured or hammered what type of cavan supporters are those who did shout for that sunday shamefull!!!
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 19/07/2012 14:25:10
Another post another Kildare supporter than is incapable of reading. If you can point out exactly where I said I wanted Cavan players to violence onto Johnstone then post up your address and i'll send you 100 quid. In fact if you do develop the powers to read and digest words you will see I said he wasn't worth the effort. The administrator should ban those who can't read, they should also ask you Kildare people to feck of back to your own forum. You got your man, bully for you. Now you can live with the consequences of having a guy like that in your panel.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 19/07/2012 14:30:31
Fred dont bother with him, you cant have a discussion with someone who wont read what you post.
RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 887 - 19/07/2012 14:44:20
lillymadfan County: Kildare Posts: 926
maybe in times past cavan were there plugging away but at the moment its a county that needs a lot of underage structure and a few years to progress.
Just in case it slipped your mind Cavan have won an ulster minor championship and two Ulster U 21's in the last few years.You should be more concerned about ye're own underage structure seeing as ye are relying on other counties players for your senior team.Before you tell me Seanie wasn't wanted by Cavan remember there were 5 other lads reportedly dropped along with SJ,so you could conclude that they weren't wanted either.How was it then,that if these lads weren't wanted by Cavan one of them played on Sunday? I don't have a problem with SJ's transfer, the problem is more with the Kildare GAA & McGeeney in the way the whole thing was contrived.
aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 257 - 19/07/2012 16:14:11