Seanie Johnston...

Well i know as the cliche goes us in kildare have no 'natural forwards' larry tompkins wasnt a 'natural forward' either until he transfered to cork.
so we could do with sj
I suppose in time we will see sammaguire how he goes but from i heard he is applying himself very well in training and is flying also the shoulder injury could rule him out for 3 to 4 weeks which means he will probably miss not only the cavan match but if kildare were to progress by cavan another 1 or two qualifiers as well.
I know you said i have a lot to learn about sj but surely you would have seen and learned yourself that seanie alone nearly beat kildare when he scored 6 against us a couple of years ago can cavan afford to lose someone like that with the new under 21's and his experience that would have benefited the cavan set up hugely no?
how can val drop a forward like that ridiculous.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 09/07/2012 15:42:36    1212947

Val Andrews is on record as saying he was dropped for "non football related matters". So your 6 points against Kildare and the comeback against Wicklow etc are all irrelevant. So assuming he was not dropped for football reasons, have a think about why he may have been dropped. When you are done then you should consider what would a player in another county do in a similar position. Try and put things right or run off and cry to the media while simultaneously try to transfer to another completely unreleated county. Val Andrews was not a good manager for many reasons but on this decision he was 100% correct.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 09/07/2012 16:02:39    1212984

in a nut shell fred flint

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 09/07/2012 16:20:14    1213022

I hope seanie shows the cavan county board and val the reason he shouldnt have been dropped.
now mc geeney dropped young sean hurley from kildare because he went to oxygen the same weekend as kildare played laois in the qualifier last year I think mc geeney was right in that situation it was a non footballing reason if you like.
Is still dont think seanie should have been dropped though by val.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 09/07/2012 16:27:37    1213038

So you can think of no circumstances by which Andrews should have dropped Johnston but you agree when McGeeney dropped a young lad for going to Oxygen??? That's ridiculous if I may say so. What if Johnston didn't turn up to training for 3/4 weeks without explanation (I'm not saying he did but it is an example of a non footballing reason), you wouldn't drop him and you'd have the county board intervene if the manager did so. Get a grip will ya!

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 09/07/2012 16:39:07    1213059

fredflint

Val Andrews is on record as saying he was dropped for "non football related matters". So your 6 points against Kildare and the comeback against Wicklow etc are all irrelevant. So assuming he was not dropped for football reasons, have a think about why he may have been dropped. When you are done then you should consider what would a player in another county do in a similar position. Try and put things right or run off and cry to the media while simultaneously try to transfer to another completely unreleated county. Val Andrews was not a good manager for many reasons but on this decision he was 100% correct.

If he was dropped for " NON FOOTBALLING RELATED MATTERS" how do you put that right if your not in the panel? And dont say go put you head down with your club because thats" FOOTBALLING RELATED" this was about faceless internet slagging as Andrews called it.
Andrews tried to make an example of Seanie with the message" il drop our best player to prove to all you young incomming u21s that im the boss and you wont mess with me".But it backfired because Seanie probably there were worse than him last year who wernt dropped.
Lyng was also dropped because he was deemed" too old" at 27 , but Hyland invited him back in 6 months later when in fact he was 6 months older.. He refused and rightly so. Just shows you the confusion there seems to have be between the former joint managers as regards who sholud have been in the panel.
I could point present players who should not be in the panel for "FOOTBALL RELATED MATTERS" AS THEY ARE CLEARLY NOT UP TO STANDARD OF AN INTER COUNTY PLAYER.
There is far too much loyality to certain U21 who clearly are NOT good enough, yet we can let players like Lyng , Johnston, Smith, go because they questioned a "has been" managers tactics

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 09/07/2012 16:51:35    1213076

well fred, you hit the nail on the head with your answer, how are the golf courses around Kildare? I hear Seanie's got lots of time on his hands now to lower his handicap. Actually when thinking about it all that time playing golf last summer in Cavan, came in handy for Seanies swing with the hurley and sliothar! :)

drumavigo (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 09/07/2012 17:02:00    1213088

Richie - you can't take criticism of Johnston can you. Writing in block capitals, whats that all about. Are you trying to shout me down Richie? I also note when you try to defend Seanie you also resort to insulting our young players, requesting gaels players not to play and in general wanting Cavans opponents to beat us so you can prove a point - ironically, just what you accused Andrews of doing. Perhaps you should take up residence on the Kildare forum where you belong.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 09/07/2012 17:16:49    1213113

why was he stripped off the gaels captaincy last year if he was so good?richard?

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 09/07/2012 17:18:17    1213114

Richie how many months is it now that you have been churning out the same stories about SJ.

I wonder are you fit to sleep at night with worry incase someone posts something on the Internet about SJ while you are off hoganstand.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 887 - 09/07/2012 17:48:20    1213141

mickey lyng got dropped the same time as SJ and as far as i know has been living and working in mayo, he could have opted to try his luck with them but held off and was asked back into the cavan panel before the euro finals to which he had a trip planned to. he declined, which was fair enough.
SJ had the chance to go down as one of the best forwards this county ever produced, but in 10 years time all he will be remembered for will be negative things, that is the sad part in the whole thing, he has to win sam to be proven correct, and kildare are a long way off kerry cork donegal and dublin at the minute

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 09/07/2012 18:06:34    1213161

milhouse

and kildare are a long way off kerry cork donegal and dublin at the minute
and Meath!

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1737 - 09/07/2012 21:14:26    1213316

"he has to win sam to be proven correct, and kildare are a long way off kerry cork donegal and dublin at the minute"
Yes some would admit that but yet we are alot closer than obviously some on this forum would like to admit. Kildare work very very hard. They are an honest bunch of lads and came very close to making an all Ireland apperance in 2010. We have been knocking on the door for the past few seasons. Have been involved at the business end of the championship since kieran mcgeeney took over. Have never lost a qualifier match under his stewardship and contested four all ireland quarter finals in a row and an all ireland semi final. So you can say we are behind these teams but i can bet you here and now. If we get over this cavan hurdle on sunday(please god). I know that the kildare team will be working just as hard as any of them and we will be giving 110% just the same way as the above teams you have mentioned to ensure once again that we are at the business end of the championship. Thats where kildare want to be. Kildare have been making progress when you measure where we are now compared to pre 2008 so id say yes. The quest for the holy grail continues but we are alot "closer" to reaching it then we were previously. You can throw the kildare team are behind x, y and z at us but we have been building and sure as they say rome wasnt built in a day. Personally believe their day in the sun will come sooner rather than later.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 09/07/2012 21:48:29    1213349

lilywhitemagic

I know that the kildare team will be working just as hard as any of them and we will be giving 110%
pretty sure that no matter how hard you work, 100% is the maximum you can give

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1737 - 10/07/2012 09:29:50    1213383

lilywhite, dont get me wrong, Kildare are a fine team, but i think they share common ground with meath, tyrone and mayo, they would need some massive preformances and quite a bit of luck along they way to win sam. anyone who wins does, you will say but i still think the winners this year will 99% come from the teams i listed earlier.
unfortunately the bookies will side with kildare as ye have better outfit, but i think we will prove a very tough test in breffni.
good luck anyway, aside from SJ i am a fan of geezer and kildare

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 10/07/2012 16:44:24    1213978

That was my whole point wishfulthinkin ;) Millhouse Ye your right. I would say that unfortunately for us though lady luck wasnt around when we needed her. I do agree though the teams you have mentioned will have a big say on who is bringing sam home this year(apart from meath). I do hope it is a novel pairing similar to 2010. Looking forward to sunday.Hope it is a good contest. Time for these two teams to do the talking on the pitch might actually give the media something else to write about apart from the sideshow. We will have to sort out midfield thats the area that killed us v meath. Have the tickets got and looking forward to it.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 10/07/2012 20:21:51    1214186

The bold seanie playing in Gaels golf classic today..what next

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 13/07/2012 14:17:03    1216572

The shoulder injury sustained then doesn't stop him from swinging a golf club, mind you, he had no problem with a hurley and sliothar either.

drumavigo (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 13/07/2012 14:37:41    1216595

wishfulthinkin

lilywhitemagic

I know that the kildare team will be working just as hard as any of them and we will be giving 110%
pretty sure that no matter how hard you work, 100% is the maximum you can give

It's a figure of speech, shirley

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 13/07/2012 15:13:23    1216649

I would think the one game that you couldn't play with a shoulder injury would be golf.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 13/07/2012 19:00:27    1216853