Seanie Johnston...

fredflint

You make your bed and then you lie on it.
Sean Johnston has to live with the consequences of what he did!
Do you honestly expect everyone to sit back and say nothing when a former Cavan player togs out and runs out on Breffni park playing for another county against his own?????

Seanie Johnston is an amateur player who was told by the Cavan management that he wasnt needed this year.
He now lives in Kildare and after a 7 month transfer where he got the runaround by the cccc he can finaly tog out for Kildare.

Cavan management also has to live with the consequences of what they did especially if Seanie plays to his potential on Sunday week.
There is not a back in Cavan capable of marking him on his day.. you know that. i know that.
Unfortunely Seanie willhave the last laugh because he knows where the posts are with either foot

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 05/07/2012 15:53:58    1210313

I agree with Terry Hyland to a point. I think we should all approach the game as dignified and as professionally as possible, in order to focus on our on-field performance. If any of us we feel the need to exact any sort of recrimination, then the best way of expressing it is through the players on the field, fairly and forcefully, and in the stand/terraces fully behind our team while avoiding any low grade chants.

Show Kildare our best combination of controlled aggression and some of the innovation that we found in Brewster Park in the final quarter, and let's see how close we get to them. It might not be enough, but let's let our football do our talking. We are Cavan. We have more class and tradition than to let ourselves down in front of the wider GAA community.

As for Respect, sorry Terry, I can't go that far. He's lost mine I'm afraid.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 468 - 05/07/2012 16:18:37    1210335

Awful shame he didn't get his Leinster medal though Richie isn't it - Ha. I suppose you reckon Kildare will win sam now. Where will Sean Johnston go next year Richie when McGeeney moves on? Maybe develop an address in Dublin or Kerry?

I reckon young Mcloughlin would mark him, personally believe he is completely being over-hyped and anyway Kildare won't play him as they are worried about whether he can take the pressure of playing against lads who should be his team mate - thats what I've been told by a senior Kildare source who will remain nameless. Sure there are better forwards on the Kildare Junior team we beat, which reminds me at least some Cavan players have a leinster medal!

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 05/07/2012 16:46:13    1210371

flint sour grapes or what?? you seem to be forgetting cavan got rid of seanie - get over it.
And no he probably wont play v kildare its unfair on the lad but you will see him in the next round if kildare get by and will also see what cavan let go also!!!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 05/07/2012 17:01:00    1210390

Cavan got rid of Seanie. Hyland said if he was playing club football in Cavan he would have a look at him. Andrews said on newstalk last Sunday that Seanie was dropped for non footballing reasons. So it seems the ex manager and the current manager have different takes on the Seanie thing. Bottom line is if he plays we have no back capable of holding him. None. We also have no full back capable of mixing it will Thomas O Connor . He will win 3/5 balls in the air or chest high and if Seanie is in the corner forward line feeding off O Connor well our full backline is in for a torrid time. Our loss is kildares gain .

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 05/07/2012 17:20:32    1210426

Good to see you back to your old self Richie, it was awful seen u been half positive last week.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 887 - 05/07/2012 17:44:29    1210449

what is done is done and no amount of squabbling will solve it. If he worked as hard in training for Cavan as he is doing for Kildare, then there would be no issue as he'd still be playing in blue. He was dropped like many players before him and instead of showing some back bone and working hard to get back on the squad, he threw the rattle out of the pram. There is no doubt he is a very talented player. Kildare have a lot more experience than our current Cavan team but we have the basis of something really great in a few years time. We scored 3-13 playing 30 mins of football against Fermanagh last week and kicked 14 wides. On the human side of things I think Kildare should leave Seanie Johnston at home, whether that be in his new address or his real one !!! I dont know him personally and have never met him so I have no personal loyalty to him, but on a humane level it would be better if he didnt have to come to Breffni for his first game. I feel Kildare could difuse the whole speculation and media circus by announcing in advance that he wont be playing in Breffni.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 05/07/2012 17:57:49    1210456

Time to call a spade a spade here. Johnston is getting slated left right and centre for leaving his County that didn't want him and made no effort to keep him. He has done everything by the book. He has held his dignity . His family has suffered at the hands of idiots who can't keep their opinion to themselves. He is now in a position to play football again. Unfortunately it's against his home county buts what's the difference in that and Martin mc Hugh managing Cavan against his own county Donegal in the 97 championship? None. Life goes on. Cavan seemingly done want or need Seanie. Kildare do want him and after last Sundays performance I'd say they need him. So everybody happy!

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 05/07/2012 18:00:44    1210459

The amazing thing about richij is how he can judge the standard of our players despite never having seen them???????

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 05/07/2012 18:53:22    1210496

Time to call a spade a spade here. Johnston is getting slated left right and centre for leaving his County that didn't want him and made no effort to keep him. He has done everything by the book. He has held his dignity . His family has suffered at the hands of idiots who can't keep their opinion to themselves. He is now in a position to play football again. Unfortunately it's against his home county buts what's the difference in that and Martin mc Hugh managing Cavan against his own county Donegal in the 97 championship? None. Life goes on. Cavan seemingly done want or need Seanie. Kildare do want him and after last Sundays performance I'd say they need him. So everybody happy!
richiej , 05/07/2012 at 18:00

Having a lot of problems getting posts up on hoganstand so I hope this one makes it.

richiej Cavan did more for Mr Johnston than any other player over the last twenty years.
Secured work for him along with getting him work during the summer breaks from college so please like a good man don't try and blame Cavan for not wanting him.
Funny thing is I don't see makey sheridan cahill galligan lyng making a mountain out of a mole hill.
Johnston is loving all this media attention and is laughing at everyone that is posting on here.
Let him play where he wants.

theforgottenman (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 05/07/2012 19:36:37    1210528

Comparing an inter county manager managing a different county to his own, with this transfer saga is really scraping the barrel Richie, are all your other arguments this weak? Imagine that treacherous Mick O Dwyer managing Kildare to beat Kerry in 98, oh lord how he wasn't lynched in Waterville we'll never know! Reading your posts on the Kildare page I think it's clear who you want to see win this game! You haven't said it in as many words but it's your tone! Admit it you'd love to see seanie scoring the winner v cavan

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 05/07/2012 20:22:13    1210562

sorry ritchie i have to disagree .when hyland took over he stated that everyone was welcome who wanted to play for cavan.mccutcheon came back after val exited him.

hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 05/07/2012 21:05:42    1210582

JamsieMac in principle it's the same. Players, managers move on. He not the first nor will he be the last to play against his own county. Cavan supporters pretend not to care and say we are better of without him but deep down they know it's possible he will come back to haunt us. The ex manager and the present manager can't even agree on the reasons why Seanie was dropped. We in Cavan are always in the footballing headlines for the wrong reasons ever since the Liam Austin days.... This Seanie problem could have been nipped in the bud. Even hyland made no attempt to sort it. Maybe because there is no love lost between Seanie and forde? Now if Seanie plays I fear he will give us a footballing lesson. Let's hope he doesn't and we hold Kildare to 6points. That's the best we can hope for.

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 05/07/2012 21:05:56    1210584

Hurler40 Hyland did NOT say that. Hyland said if he is playing club football in Cavan he would take a look at him..... They were his exact words..

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 05/07/2012 21:09:07    1210587

Considering the transfer had been in motion almost 5 months at that stage there was no way back for Seanie into the Cavan squad! Very soon after he was sitting on the Kildare bench in croker! What Hyland said actually infers that if seanie is still playing for the Gaels then we'll see!

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 05/07/2012 21:57:25    1210632

his sincerity and devotion to Kildare will be tested in the near future.
1. Rumour has it he is applying for a job in St Pats Cavan - must be no jobs near home ( Kildare) , But then St pats had some colleges glory last year so he's probably on the glory trail there also.
2. He has a max of 3 years left at inter county level - can you honestly see him playing club football week in week out in Kildare, winter training and challenges - cant see it - he'll be tired after driving home (Kildare) every night
3. Geezer will probably go at the end of this season unless he delivers Sam. Johnston could find himself in limbo next year depending on who is the new manager. When the novelty wears off what happens. Devotion to his new club - I think not - When he was droppe from the Cavan squad ( and there had to be good reason) he didnt devote himself to the club which nurtured him from under age up !!

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 07/07/2012 16:11:58    1211529

StirringIt

If he gets a job in St Pats maybe he could take up coaching hurling after his 35 seconds of glory in that game. While I agree that Cavan fans should show their great tradition in sportsmanship if he lines out in Brefnie, I think I know the reception a Meath man would get if a similar situation occurred in Meath. Having a mother from Cavan I would always cheer for Cavan after my own county. However if I was from the far side of the moon I would certainly be cheering for them next W/E. Not because Johnson went to Kildare but because of the sneaky way Kildare have gone about making him eligible.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 09/07/2012 10:30:57    1212421

StirringIt

If he gets a job in St Pats maybe he could take up coaching hurling after his 35 seconds of glory in that game. While I agree that Cavan fans should show their great tradition in sportsmanship if he lines out in Brefnie, I think I know the reception a Meath man would get if a similar situation occurred in Meath. Having a mother from Cavan I would always cheer for Cavan after my own county. However if I was from the far side of the moon I would certainly be cheering for them next W/E. Not because Johnson went to Kildare but because of the sneaky way Kildare have gone about making him eligible.
The real Árd Rí , 09/07/2012 at 10:30

look? this underhand carry on has been going on since last October long before Val Andrews and Hyland said they did not want him. Let him go he is not wanted.

theforgottenman (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 09/07/2012 11:33:50    1212488

God some cavan posters would do well to be giving out about there county board letting val andrews making decisions like dropping a forward that you need i know even when kieran mc geeney will be gone who ever is the next manager wont overlook those skills of johnstns because the likes are needed in every county even kildare and shame on cavan for letting the likes or calibre gone you swear they had it in abundance well if you didnt want it we do thank you very much.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 09/07/2012 15:12:03    1212877

lillywhitemagic. youv a bit to learn yet about sj

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 09/07/2012 15:30:57    1212923