Seanie Johnston...

have a sneaky Kildare will draw Cavan in the qualifiers.. It happened last year, when I correctly predicted that Meath and Louth would pair off after the Leinster Final debacle the previous year.. Some things are meant to be and I believe through fate, that Cavan and Kildare will meet..

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 01/07/2012 16:50:14    1206353

Pray that we don't get Kildare. They are miles ahead of us with or without Johnston.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 01/07/2012 16:57:46    1206368

lifebuoy

have a sneaky Kildare will draw Cavan in the qualifiers.. It happened last year, when I correctly predicted that Meath and Louth would pair off after the Leinster Final debacle the previous year.. Some things are meant to be and I believe through fate, that Cavan and Kildare will meet..

Cavan are as likely to get Kildare as they are any other team, no point playing the guessing game.

SlipperyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 01/07/2012 17:05:36    1206374

lifebuoy - You know the lotto numbers this week?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11730 - 02/07/2012 09:17:18    1206966

i think sean johnson should be given a job with hurling in cavan,he has risen the profile of hurling in cavan.great skills displayed on tv during warm up.

hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 02/07/2012 17:21:22    1207588

hurler40

i think sean johnson should be given a job with hurling in cavan,he has risen the profile of hurling in cavan.great skills displayed on tv during warm up.

Except for bending down and picking the slitor clean off the ground, thats not allowed either football or hurling!!!

breffni666 (Cavan) - Posts: 294 - 02/07/2012 18:05:07    1207645

Seanie Johnston Specials. Cavan v Kildare

Any Special with an * All Bets will be voided if player not start

*First Goal Scorer 15/2
To Kiss the Kildare badge 16/1
*To outscore Cavan 80/1
*To be Red Carded 20/1
To Sit with the Cavan management & players during the match 10/1
To Wear a Hurling Helmet during the match 500/1

rising1916 (Cavan) - Posts: 187 - 04/07/2012 20:38:30    1209802

he will need a helmet

HandPass1 (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 04/07/2012 21:27:13    1209834

Go on lads make a load of banners it'll be the funniest thing to happen at a GAA match in years. Here's a few:

"Down with this sort of thing"

"Seanie - The money is just resting in your account!"

"If Kildare doesn't work out....... there's always Kilkenny"

"Judas Johnston"

(Lord of the rings "One does not simply walk into Mordor) "One does not simply... transfer from Cavan!"

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 05/07/2012 08:38:32    1209888

The whole Seanie Johnston thing has without doubt caused controversy and will do for some time to come. Like most in Kildare I was totally against the move from the start. There is a lot of blame going and I don't mind the discussions and opinions on it, it actually helps. But to see the stuff on these forums is sickening, what's going on in some of these threads is an 'incitement to hatred' directed at one individual. Throw it at Kildare if need be it's not personalised that way and no one is going to suffer for life.

I feel for Seanie Johnston and any of his family who are witnessing the vile on these forums. I know the odd idiot will respond about sense of humor, brought it on himself etc but that is rubbish. Seanie for all the trouble his transfer has caused is a brave, dignified, determined young man. He has far more character than a lot coming on here.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1734 - 05/07/2012 09:52:45    1209925

conleth i didn't see you say that when joe sheridan received 10 times more abuse? if you're going on about the banners there only a bit of fun and if you're going on about the endless amount of posts and threads about him on hoganstand and every other GAA website it's still deserved. he only moved out of cavan to play with Kildare. It's against the ethos of the GAA and I hope nobody else is brave enough to try it again.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 05/07/2012 09:58:38    1209932

St.Conleth

The whole Seanie Johnston thing has without doubt caused controversy and will do for some time to come. Like most in Kildare I was totally against the move from the start. There is a lot of blame going and I don't mind the discussions and opinions on it, it actually helps. But to see the stuff on these forums is sickening, what's going on in some of these threads is an 'incitement to hatred' directed at one individual. Throw it at Kildare if need be it's not personalised that way and no one is going to suffer for life.

I feel for Seanie Johnston and any of his family who are witnessing the vile on these forums. I know the odd idiot will respond about sense of humor, brought it on himself etc but that is rubbish. Seanie for all the trouble his transfer has caused is a brave, dignified, determined young man. He has far more character than a lot coming on here.

Didn't have to wait too long

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1734 - 05/07/2012 10:03:36    1209938

St.Conleth , 05/07/2012 at 09:52

Obviously St.Conleth you don't know the person you are writing about for if you did you would not have made your post.

I don't believe there is any hatred towards this person just many are unhappy that one of our better players decides to walk from Cavan? Cavan let me remind you has done a lot for him. Maybe Mr Johnston should reflect and think about what certain quarters did
to look after him as a young boy and when he was studying, short memory let me tell you.

Rumour has it that your present manager is about to depart from Kildare so will Mr Johnston try and transfer to the county he moves too.

I hope he plays nest Sunday week this way the will he wont he will be gone forever and we as genuine Cavan people can forget about him and move on.

theforgottenman (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 05/07/2012 10:09:30    1209942

I agree with the Kildare poster, in terms of recognising the sensitivities involved. Seanie is a young man who made a decision, an amateur footballer who made a decision. Whether you or I agree with it think about what you say and it's effect on the chap.

Slagging and a bit of craic is one thing but focussed commentary on a particular individual is something you need to think long and hard about.

I will be shouting for my team next week but there is a young Cavan teacher out there who has committed no crime and we show him some courtesy even if you disagree with him

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 05/07/2012 10:19:39    1209953

st conleth, well said i dont agree with what seanie done , but he is a person that has to live a life too, and i think people should lay off him, he,l know in time that he shouldnt have made the move, if he had to knuckle down and fight for his place he more than likely would be faceing kildare sun week. and he prob have more of a chance of winning something with cavan the way underage football has been going and the talent coming through, all do he might win a team weights lifting comp with kildare.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 05/07/2012 10:40:26    1209969

You make your bed and then you lie on it.
Sean Johnston has to live with the consequences of what he did!
Do you honestly expect everyone to sit back and say nothing when a former Cavan player togs out and runs out on Breffni park playing for another county against his own?????

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 05/07/2012 11:09:31    1210009

I hope you are not a district Judge Flinty

I'd hate to be up before you on a parking violation

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 05/07/2012 14:53:49    1210246

Get over it lads. He no longer plays for you so build a bridge.

MorrisMorrissey (Limerick) - Posts: 265 - 05/07/2012 14:55:59    1210249

I'll sympathise with Seanie when Kildare are bet !

Jampot (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 05/07/2012 15:04:34    1210258

yeah and ill shout for seanie when/if kildare win because he will see first hand why he left cavan!!
up the lillies!!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 05/07/2012 15:39:52    1210297