Seanie Johnston...

thanks again cavan any more good lads send them down are door is always open..... come on the boys in white

brianfitzsimons (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 24/05/2012 10:36:00    1179350

Fair Play about time the GAA got this one right. If Cavan dont want him then its fair play that he plays for Kildare, the lad only wants to play at the highest level and if cavan aren't willing to allow him that hes dead right transferring. Its an amatuer sport lads

Mourinho688 (Cavan) - Posts: 45 - 24/05/2012 11:18:40    1179385

I hope this is the final chapter in the reign of Val Andrews. It should have been Jaw Jaw and not War War from the start !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 24/05/2012 11:39:11    1179406

Will he be allowed to spend the summer months back home in his native Cavan

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3187 - 24/05/2012 12:53:59    1179501

Best of luck to the kid!! I hope he does well in White. It seems to me that it was a typical GAA situation of lies covering up more lies.They dropped a player who has been Cavans best forward for years. Gave 10 years of his life to the Blue jersey and was dropped cold. Then when he made his move the county tried to stop it but if they did not want him did this not undermine their management.
I love Cavan always have always will, but I am around long enough to know that the county board have been and always will be one with their own agendas for their clubs.
I hope Forde pulls it togeter he seems like a genuine man who knows what he is at, Hyland was part of the team that got rid of SJ so I dont see how he could have gone back with him there.

Christy99 (Cavan) - Posts: 1 - 24/05/2012 13:01:16    1179514

I hope this is the final chapter in the reign of Val Andrews. It should have been Jaw Jaw and not War War from the start !!
Cavan_Slasher , 24/05/2012 at 11:39

Wise up will ye if you knew the full story you would have supported the players that did not want to play with him and the manager be it Val Andrews or Mr Hyland.
He is gone to another county what for I ask to play at a higher level why the hell did he not just pop over the border the journey would have been shorter.

He spat the dummy you know it I know it everyone knows it including every dog on the street.

There was never any doubt about his ability as a player but it was plain that Cavan Gaels did not want him because it was his way or no way.
You can stop pointing the finger at one man in Particular Val Andrews this was not a one man decision. Those of you that have contact with honest Cavan Gaels players and mentors ask them what they thought of Mr Johnston and why he was stripped of the captaincy also ask one of the selectors why he would rather play golf with him than train with Cavan Gaels and with the County team.
QUOTE He will win nothing with Kildare so a backward step in his quest to win a provincial title and an all Ireland medal.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 24/05/2012 13:03:07    1179517

Well he was never approached by the manager since he was dropped. Even ppl who were prepared to act as go between between himself and Val were knocked back. The new management didn't approach him either as he wasn't playing club football in the county .seems they only want players playing local club football. Anyway Terry you will be able to see for yourself on TV this summer if Seanie is any good!!!! So as we will all see, Cavans loss is kildares gain. Speaking with mcgeeney it's seems he has been training with Kildare 5/6 nites a week plus travelling to work in Cavan every day. Mcgeeney reckons he could not have asked more from Seanie!

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 24/05/2012 13:09:51    1179529

At long last thank god it's finally over. Wish him the best of luck. If he's been training as much as McGeeney says, he can't be too far off the pace. A few games & we might even see a Seanie Johnston finally firing on all cylinders with a decent team around him.

tony.montana (Cavan) - Posts: 179 - 24/05/2012 13:47:01    1179569

Well he was never approached by the manager since he was dropped. Even ppl who were prepared to act as go between between himself and Val were knocked back. The new management didn't approach him either as he wasn't playing club football in the county .seems they only want players playing local club football. Anyway Terry you will be able to see for yourself on TV this summer if Seanie is any good!!!! So as we will all see, Cavans loss is kildares gain. Speaking with mcgeeney it's seems he has been training with Kildare 5/6 nites a week plus travelling to work in Cavan every day. Mcgeeney reckons he could not have asked more from Seanie!

He msut find this all this training sum shock to the system.

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 24/05/2012 13:49:13    1179574

Haven't any decent mid-fielders up there have ya? Not sure how long we're going to get out of Earley! Cavan can become the feeder-county for us now, a little-Kildare if you like, and sure maybe a bit of the Cavan way of thinking will balance out our books : )

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 24/05/2012 13:50:14    1179577

i wish seanie all the best with kildare.he gave us some great memories lads.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=odac7i-Jbno

this is my favourite.

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 320 - 24/05/2012 13:54:05    1179583

Id like to wish seanie all the best st. kevins and kildare. Its good to see Cavan people backing him and wishing him the best. Finally it's over and I believe the right decision was made regards to him. Croke park should of got their act together and sorted it out months ago. Disgraceful way to treat a gaa player.
Best wishes to seanie! and both counties of Cavan and kildare!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 24/05/2012 14:16:16    1179617

Folks

We actually have two, mid fielders that is, that are quite good now and have it in them to be very good down the line.

Best of luck to Seanie in the weeks and months ahead!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 24/05/2012 14:21:09    1179621

Give it a rest lilypad, youre embarassing us with your comments. The Cavan supporters deserve more respect than that, even if youre not serious. Hope both counties benefit from the move and we continue to play into the autumn. Cavan should do all in their power to keep the U21's involved in the senior setup and give them time to mature. If they do then the future is bright for you.

murof (Kildare) - Posts: 480 - 24/05/2012 14:47:44    1179657

Give it a rest? Most Kildare lads I know feel exactly the same, and how it will help Cavan is beyond me! Furthermore, I'm not disrespecting anybody!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 24/05/2012 15:00:05    1179673

I personally don't wish him or Kildare well at all. This carry on should not be applauded by anyone who is a true GAA supporter and especially anyone who claims to be a cavan fan!

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 24/05/2012 15:07:54    1179677

lilypad

Haven't any decent mid-fielders up there have ya? Not sure how long we're going to get out of Earley! Cavan can become the feeder-county for us now, a little-Kildare if you like, and sure maybe a bit of the Cavan way of thinking will balance out our books : )

No sadly we don't

SlipperyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 24/05/2012 15:23:17    1179692

I thought the least successful clubs were feeders to the more successful. Ye haven't won an all ireland since 1928, we've won 1 more all ireland and 26 more provincial titles! This is more akin to a team putting out one of their squad players on loan except in this case we don't want him back.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 24/05/2012 15:48:11    1179716

I wouldn't take him back either...

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 24/05/2012 16:07:13    1179739

Kildare will win nothing anyway ! This isn't the Champions League !

Jampot (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 24/05/2012 16:10:33    1179744