Jinxie
Maybe in your book a 10 second phone call and then rejecting a transfer is communication, but that is not goo pd enough for anyone.
If JD would like to move to Kerry and play for kerry I would wish him well after all he has givin a lot to the Kildare jersey over the years. Plus his chances of winning an All-Ireland are pretty good where he is.
Jinxie he w given a 10 second phone call, no explanation, no reason or anything to work on, you wouldnt do that to a stranger that is treating a player like dirt, a lot more than a player in a huff.
Kildare have had many successes with minor and junior Leinsters and reaching All-Ireland finals in recent years. Development is not about the silverware in the cupboard but the silverware you are working towards success plus we now have our underage structure sorted, which no doubt will see us reaping the benefit into the future.
Development does not equal dreams. We can all dream but just because we do doesn't mean we are developing or going about it right. I find it hard to believe anybody involved in GAA doesn't dream of lifting Sam.
As a Meath man it fails me how any decision in the SJ case affects you, last time I checked it was a transfer to Kildare from Cavan.
Plus Jinxie I never enter a debate without a strong Arguement and no matter how you try to pick mine apart, the less I can take you seriously. Development does not mean you need previous success or lack of doesn't mean you can't dream of All-Ireland's. Also 10 second phone calls lacking explanation do not count as communication.
Lovelylillies (Kildare) - Posts: 230 - 04/05/2012 14:44:16
The 10 second call lasted 10 seconds because Johnston hung up.
Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 04/05/2012 14:58:14
"Seanie I won't be using you this year I'm going with something new"..... That takes about 10 seconds to say.. And anybody would hang up when they got that message.... Unless he should have waited and said "thanks Val" what else would he do only hang up????????
richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 04/05/2012 15:04:37
He could have said a thousand things. He chose to hang up. That's all I'm saying. The Kildare poster is using the 10 second call as a stick to beat Andrews and Cavan with. The fact is that it was Johnston's fault that the call was so short.
Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 04/05/2012 15:30:33
Lovelylillies County: Kildare Posts: 143
Maybe in your book a 10 second phone call and then rejecting a transfer is communication, but that is not goo pd enough for anyone. How long is needed to tell a player he's not part of his plans? Absolutly nothing wrong with that communication.
If JD would like to move to Kerry and play for kerry I would wish him well after all he has givin a lot to the Kildare jersey over the years. Plus his chances of winning an All-Ireland are pretty good where he is. Very debatable, but thats your opinion and your entitled to that.
Jinxie he w given a 10 second phone call, no explanation, no reason or anything to work on, you wouldnt do that to a stranger that is treating a player like dirt, a lot more than a player in a huff. His previous years performances and behaviour was plenty of explanation for himself. As for having nothing to go on! The man is an experienced inter county footballer, he doesnt need to be led by the hand and shown that he needs to knuckle down and focus on training.
Kildare have had many successes with minor and junior Leinsters and reaching All-Ireland finals in recent years. Development is not about the silverware in the cupboard but the silverware you are working towards success plus we now have our underage structure sorted, which no doubt will see us reaping the benefit into the future. That has absolutly nothing to do with why you would make such a stupid and petty jibe towards Cavan football and belittling any efforts being made to develop football for the future. How many All Ireland minor have Kildare been in during the period I mentioned?...
Development does not equal dreams. We can all dream but just because we do doesn't mean we are developing or going about it right. I find it hard to believe anybody involved in GAA doesn't dream of lifting Sam. Of course they dream of lifting Sam. Generally with their own county. Otherwise theyd be dreaming of lifting the FA Cup if they didnt care who they played with
As a Meath man it fails me how any decision in the SJ case affects you, last time I checked it was a transfer to Kildare from Cavan. It has a seriously implication for future transfers, especially for counties in a close proximity to Dublin. If you havent notice, this is a NATIONAL story. If was restricted to just Cavan or Kildare, would it be getting so much national press attention?
Plus Jinxie I never enter a debate without a strong Arguement and no matter how you try to pick mine apart, the less I can take you seriously. Im not simply picking it apart. Im pointing out your inaccuracies in your arguement. Im all for having a debate on the issue, but try and keep it fact based at least.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 04/05/2012 15:47:53
S Goldrick - How can Seanie stay in Cavan during the week. Sure he doesn't live there he lives in Straffan. Then he would have to book into a B&B which would be very costly. Its a pity he has no place to stay in Cavan, but sure that is the lot of any Kildare man who had to travel so far to get a job.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 04/05/2012 15:52:29
People are saying that Johnson just wants to play football, and thats why he is going to these lenghts to get his transfer. Appealing decisions, resubmitting transfers, "Moving house" and so on.
Could he not have just asked Val Andrews what was required to get back on the Cavan team rather than leave it as it was? Surely he could have asked him to give him a month or 6 weeks with the squad to show he was commited to playing for Cavan, then make his decision.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 04/05/2012 15:56:16
This was posted as a new thread but has been incorporated here.
drumalee11 Posts: 24 USA
04/05/2012 16:18
Get over Seanie Johnston
He is not coming back and frankily i dont want to see him back we are better of without him and lets just focus on the championship and build with the younger players.
Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 04/05/2012 16:21:20
Regardless of how a player plays or act they still deserve a little bit of respect, I have played county football and over the years been left out of panels on occasions if was never done by the way of a 10 second call, managers are meant to have respect for their players this was not respect.
Jinxie the only reason that the national media is taking this story to the cleaners is because they do their best to rip apart the game they claim to love all you have to do is look at the RTE commentary after some games. Ever notice how all the negative press is attributed to football not hurling. Also if you think he should be forced to play for Cavan by virtue of working there to prevent a dangerous precedent, that alone sets a dangerous precedence as then how many players are working in big cities like Dublin, Belfast, and Cork should follow suit an seek a transfer to the county of work. SJ may be from Cavan but when you move you move as did BJP. Afterall he lives in Straffan, I know this for a certainty, as I have seen this with my own eyes.
So BJP should not lift Sam with Armagh in your opinion??? If a player moves county this is not a decision taken lightly and takes serious thought but he has made this and is determined to stand by his decision, and as long as he is willing to do that most of the Kildare support will stand behind him.
I think you will find that there is no ambiguous facts in anything I post. I don't deal in that business Jinxie there are enough haters writting crap everyday in the national papers.
Lovelylillies (Kildare) - Posts: 230 - 04/05/2012 18:39:43
Lovelylillies , 04/05/2012 at 18:39
Reading the Anglo Celt today and I notice M Brennan got a phone call from Mr Hyland and took it on the chin no problems, so it would seem Mr Hyland works on the phone call system as well.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 04/05/2012 18:58:14
Lovelylillies it is accepted even by supporters of Seanie that the phone call lasted 10 seconds because he hung up. The question is was he unsettled with club and county and may have contributed to events which led to the phone call and was glad of the opportunity to 'choose' Kildare.
The first transfer request was to Kildare while remaining with Cavan Gaels. Hard to see how that could be allowed you will agree? Its clear that Seanie was still living and working in Cavan and still had no known connection with Kildare. On what basis could he play for Kildare under Gaa rules? At that stage the concerted campaign including national media coverage got under way. Seanie sets about proving he is living in his 'chosen' county. That includes 'choosing' a club-St Kevin's-now that is a surprise that loveylillies might explain. House seems to have been provided-how did that happen?
Naturally the CCCC has had problems with what is without doubt a contrived transfer request which is not in line with the ethos of GAA. Such is the concern in HQ that Congress passed a special rule concerning inter County transfers to try and stop any player in a county who is left off a panel from going into a huff and moving to what ever county he 'chooses'. If this type of transfer becomes easy to get the GAA as we know it will be badly damaged.
I feel more strongly about it again given that I also like Seanie 'choose' Kildare but Cavan remained number 1 football team for me! However I have also supported Kildare over the years against every team except Cavan. I would prefer Kildare to make their breakthrough using their own home grown talent than going down the road on encouraging players from weaker counties like Cavan to join them. It seems inevitable that Seanie will get the transfer. I will have very mixed feelings when he pulls on the lillywhite jerseys and I am sure many lillies will also.
curraghblue (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 04/05/2012 20:38:31
Lovelylillies
Nobody ever said any player should be forced to play for a county because he works there. That is something you have just made up to try and add to your argument.
He should playing with can based on ye fact that it is his county. Where his is from. Where his club is. Where he was thought to play ye game. Cavan and Cavan Gaels are the people who invested their time and efforts in developing him I to the player he became. Cavan is part of what he is.
Those things are why he should be playing with Cavan, and NONE of those above attributes can be accredited to Kildare in relation to him.
As for Billy Joe Padden. He was living in Armagh and playing his football for almost 2 years before transferring. He's worked is based between Armagh and dublin and is only on the job site location on Kildare for a cuple of months. Hardly reason to claim him as a Kildare man.
You claim to have played county football. If you did, then you should know the attitude required to succeed as a top intercounty player, and it's how you read to knocks and set backs that define you at that level. Men like your own Dermot Early is a perfect example of that. That's someone who can be applauded for his dedication to GAA. Mikey Conway too. However SJ does not stand under that umbrella. Not by a long shot.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 04/05/2012 21:30:46
the more I read some of the replies from the lillywhites regrading Sean Johnston the more it reeks of desperation on their part with this attitiude of 'win at all costs' whos next in the line for a transfer then?
I hope for all that is decent about GAA that Sean Johnston stays with Cavan, with his club, see's some sense, because as a cavan supporter has pointed out this is where he became the player he is and in no way should Kieran McGeeney and the Kildare County Board and some of their dillustional followers benefit form a 'quick fix' move.
Why these lilies see all of this a acceptable, well I just can't get my head around it.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 06/05/2012 21:24:44
I hope you are all happy now,seanie johnston has got his transfer approved this afternoon,its a disgrace that the county is letting the best player they have leave.its also a digrace the way kildare have poached him,its totally aginst the rules.the biggest loser here is cavan gaels,he should be ashamed of himself for the way he has acted and brought the good name of cavan gaels into this mess after everything they have done for him and made him the player he is today..im never saying another word on this matter ever again
gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 10/05/2012 16:42:18
source there gaelstud? because from recent posts of yours in the past your information lets just say was far from the truth!
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 10/05/2012 17:01:33
The omens were bad today. It's as if the gods are weeping. 3 tasty drills of spuds washed out. I'm devasted. But I'll get on with it; plant more and give them the best opportunity possible ... if you catch my drift
Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 10/05/2012 17:15:17
Lilywhite magic,I think you will find that everything I have wrote has being true.who will ye poach next ?
gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 10/05/2012 18:12:16
Lads,just hearing that seanie withdrew his transfer yestarday morning.
You posted that on the 24th of april and also that he tooged out for the gaels this year already, i tink your full of crap gaelsutd
sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 10/05/2012 18:31:40
He'll be off then?
SlipperyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 10/05/2012 18:33:36
He did tog out for the Gaels this year !!! That's not a lie,and I was told he withdrew his transfer
gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 10/05/2012 18:37:23