Tony Montana .... Good luck to him if he is.. End of the day he has 7/8 co championships in his back pocket and nothing to prove to any manager be it club or county. And he definitely doesn't need to play club football with the Gaels or any other club for Hyland to take a customary look at him.. Why would Hyland learn thT he doesn't already know? After all he was part of the management that droped Seanie. As a man in the know said recently it's was suppose to be a slap on the rust for Seanie that went so wrong!! So CB backtracks, blames the players for Vals departure , offers Terry to clubs to save their own skin.. It's no wonder they couldn't comment on Johnstone omission from the county panel.. They waited for Johnstone to comment for them.. Why? To save their own skin.. Now we got Terry our u21 hero.. Wise up posters!!
richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 20/04/2012 21:36:33
Richj living in fantasy land
The county board are volunteers who get voted in by Gaels and who take the trouble to work for ther clubs and county. Not moaners and whingers like Richj and the multi poster
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 21/04/2012 13:21:22
Lads,just hearing that seanie withdrew his transfer yestarday morning.
gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 24/04/2012 08:50:55
Well i hope they bring him back in now.
blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 24/04/2012 09:42:33
gaelsutd is always trying to stir he comes out with comments that are false and tries to make rumours. i can assure you the tranfer will go ahead. why pull the plug now
killside (Kildare) - Posts: 13 - 24/04/2012 13:32:15
Update in today's Indo: "Meanwhile, the Seanie Johnston transfer saga is set to drag into a fifth month after the Central Competition Controls Committee (CCCC) delayed making a decision on his application to switch to Kildare last night.
The committee instead opted to invite Johnston's home club Cavan Gaels to their next meeting after they raised concerns about his residency claims. That meeting is unlikely to happen until early May.
Johnston supplied an address in Straffan in a bid to throw his lot in with Kildare. The saga has been complicated further after Val Andrews stepped down as Cavan manager and his replacement Terry Hyland has refused to rule out a return to the fold for the 27-year-old attacker." http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/mccormack-big-doubt-for-longford-3089274.html
tony.montana (Cavan) - Posts: 179 - 24/04/2012 13:57:20
Great to see Jelly in mixing with the Kildare team today. At least now he has a realistic chance of winning something and playing some decent football.
vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 29/04/2012 19:16:56
vice99 County: Donegal Posts: 853
1162557 Great to see Jelly in mixing with the Kildare team today. At least now he has a realistic chance of winning something and playing some decent football.
Would a Donegal man really be a good judge of 'decent football'?
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 29/04/2012 19:26:56
What was Johnston doing sitting in the Kildare dugout today ?? He is making some fool out of himself.the transfer is not going to happen,Kildare are making themselves look so stupid aswell.
gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 29/04/2012 20:33:52
What was Johnston doing sitting in the Kildare dugout today ?? He is making some fool out of himself.the transfer is not going to happen,Kildare are making themselves look so stupid aswell. gaelsutd , 29/04/2012 at 20:33
what was the outcome from the CCCC
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 29/04/2012 21:45:35
The "new" cccc have to make the decision this week as far as I know.
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 30/04/2012 15:16:33
lilywhitemagic County: Kildare Posts: 543
1163288 The "new" cccc have to make the decision this week as far as I know.
Your right its down to the "New" CCCC.
This in itself highlights the biggest problem in the delay and also a huge problem that has been manifesting at the top table of the GAA for the past few years. They are cowards, simple as that.
Rather than make a decision, right or wrong, the delayed it, dragged the matter out, passed it over and back and in the end ran away from it. The dragged it out long enough that they could just pass it on to the "New" cccc. An attitude of, "Let them deal with it now". The exact same as the Leinster final debacle in 2010, rather than step in and refix or rule out the game, throw it to the players and let it drag on for 3 days.
No wonder so many players and counties appeall so many decisions from the cccc. They have no backbone.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 30/04/2012 15:43:41
Yea your right Jinxie. Should of be been dealt with long ago.
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 30/04/2012 16:51:46
WHEN THE NEXT MEETING
brianfitzsimons (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 02/05/2012 12:25:21
For health and safety reasons, this shouldn't be allowed take place. Just Nuts !
Almost 200 miles round trip 5 days a week unless he can work from home the odd day.
6.30 am - Up in the morning and breakfast 7.00 am - Drive to work, its only down the road - 80 miles 9.00 am - Arrive at work in "Hometown" 4.00 pm - leave work 6.00 pm - Arrive "Home" 7.00 pm - head for training 10.00 pm - Arrive "Home" 11.00 pm - bed
Multiply x 5.
Burnout ! Tired thinking about it !
I do 122 miles daily minimum.
He will put himself and others at risk on the road !
CCCC - stop the ******* around - make a decision or it will be Christmas !
Jampot (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 03/05/2012 16:21:03
Jampot County: Cavan Posts: 40
1165548 For health and safety reasons, this shouldn't be allowed take place. Just Nuts !
Almost 200 miles round trip 5 days a week unless he can work from home the odd day.
6.30 am - Up in the morning and breakfast 7.00 am - Drive to work, its only down the road - 80 miles 9.00 am - Arrive at work in "Hometown" 4.00 pm - leave work 6.00 pm - Arrive "Home" 7.00 pm - head for training 10.00 pm - Arrive "Home" 11.00 pm - bed
Multiply x 5.
Burnout ! Tired thinking about it !
I do 122 miles daily minimum.
He will put himself and others at risk on the road !
CCCC - stop the ******* around - make a decision or it will be Christmas !
he doesn't have to commute to school in cavan every morning. he can stay in cavan on the nights he doesn't have training.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 03/05/2012 17:31:36
That's besides the point !
Player safety, the local club, public safety, amateurism, enjoying our sport are core elements of the Ethos of the Association.
Anyone that does a daily commute will tell you that doing up to 200 miles a day for 4 or 5 days a week on top of normal living will tire you out. It's totally unnecessary. It's not work !
Player safety should be paramount in any GAA hierarchical decision.
I don't have the rule book but any member of the GPA would agree I'm sure.
There is a serious risk here.
If the transfer does materialise, it means a guy or girl from Antrim could potentially commute to Kerry or visa versa.
I'd say Michael O'Leary is rubbing his hands !
Hats off to Johnstone for testing the process !
How often do we see a request like this ? This is the only instance that I know off. There are other similar cases but none as "against the grain" as this.
It's unprecedented and if it happens, we are certainly going down the road of professional football. Look across the water. Look at the end result there ! Right now we're amateur.
If this goes through, you could helicopter players in from Timbuktu ! Who would monitor this. It's makebelieve hype ! The Kildare County board have a lot to answer for. They have a "Get me to the promised land at any cost" attitude. kildare are at the cutting edge when it comes to this !
This isn't "boring"; this is serious !
It's our association, but if the correct decision isn't made here, it will go down the tubes like everything else in this country !
Jampot (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 04/05/2012 10:38:50
what are you rambling on about jampot. he won't be doing 200 mile round trips every day. as i said, to be considered to be residing in a certain address you only have to prove that you stay there for a certain amount of hours or days a year. seanie can spend the whole summer in kildare as he will be on school holidays. he can also spend every weekend there .
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 04/05/2012 11:30:46
Jampot County: Cavan Posts: 41
Jampot at the end of the day the Kildare County Board are not the fault of this, if ye could manage your own in house affairs around communication between management and players the GAA wouldn't be facing this situation. If the chap want to play for Kildare and is willing to travel that distance to do it, more power to him shows his loyalty and dedication to GAA, ye lost out on that due to your County Boards own ignorance, and burying their head in the sand. He has the paperwork to prove his case and the GAA just can't manage to accept this. He has more paperwork to prove his residence in Kildare than I do and I have lived my entire life in this county. Players transfer counties all the time. Billy Joe Padden done this to Armagh from Mayo, and before you go off saying that he moved his life there, he works in Naas, commuting to Newry every day. So by your theory he works in Kildare, he is ours. That is not the was GAA works, how many of your squad players are currently commuting to Dublin on a daily basis.
You really are clutching at straws with your Arguement about other road users. Seriously Jampot if this is your reason for if to not be passed then we should follow that logic right through to the end and no county team should have a minor team after all most of these players have only a provisional licence and more than likely commute to training alone. Another risk to road users.
As far as I am aware he is looking to play football that is it, not looking for €100,000 a week or anything. Plus does it not prove his committment to the cause, ye got rid of Andrews and he still doesn't want to play for Cavan. Counties can't get away with treating players like dirt, this is what Cavan and the GAA have done to Seanie.
Would love to hear what our County Board have to answer for, let me guess is it developing football and hurling in the county to a level that is good enough to compete for silverware on a regular basis. Why is Cavan not got the mentality of progressing football in Cavan. Then the disgrace is not Kildare but Cavan. Look at our teams both Hurling and Football teams are league champions and our minor panels are competing strongly. We have unearthed serious young talent, and are getting our debt under control. The committment from our players is unprecedented as is their hardwork and honesty. Even the committment to our county from your players so we must be doing something right.
Your snip about us wanting to reach the promised land at any cost is completely unfounded we have slashed team spending, teams are now having to fund themselves. So where 'at any cost' comes from I don't know. We all want to will the All-Ireland in Kildare of course we do, but are you honestly trying to say that people in Cavan don't want to win the All-Ireland? Somehow I just can't buy this.
So next time you want a rant maybe you should just think through you Arguement a little better and get your fact about other counties ironed out.
Lovelylillies (Kildare) - Posts: 230 - 04/05/2012 11:56:26
Lovelylillies County: Kildare Posts: 141
Jampot at the end of the day the Kildare County Board are not the fault of this, if ye could manage your own in house affairs around communication between management and players the GAA wouldn't be facing this situation
Sure there was communication. SJ just didnt like what was communicated to him.
. If the chap want to play for Kildare and is willing to travel that distance to do it, more power to him shows his loyalty and dedication to GAA
If Johnny Doyle was willing to drive to Kerry to play with a team with a chance of an AI, would you just say that its grand, doesnt it show his commitment to the GAA? Hardly
You really are clutching at straws with your Arguement about other road users. Seriously Jampot if this is your reason for if to not be passed then we should follow that logic right through to the end and no county team should have a minor team after all most of these players have only a provisional licence and more than likely commute to training alone. Another risk to road users.
As far as I am aware he is looking to play football that is it, not looking for €100,000 a week or anything. Plus does it not prove his committment to the cause, ye got rid of Andrews and he still doesn't want to play for Cavan. Counties can't get away with treating players like dirt, this is what Cavan and the GAA have done to Seanie.
So do you think that if a player is dropped, then he's being treated like dirt? Because thats all thats happened him. Dropped, took a huff and looked to skip. Thats not treating him like dirt.
Would love to hear what our County Board have to answer for, let me guess is it developing football and hurling in the county to a level that is good enough to compete for silverware on a regular basis. Why is Cavan not got the mentality of progressing football in Cavan. Then the disgrace is not Kildare but Cavan. Look at our teams both Hurling and Football teams are league champions and our minor panels are competing strongly. We have unearthed serious young talent, and are getting our debt under control. The committment from our players is unprecedented as is their hardwork and honesty. Even the committment to our county from your players so we must be doing something right.
That bit is absolutley hillarious and shows how little you know about what your talking about. Cavan not got a Mentality of progressing football? A county that is a hell of a lot more succesfull than Kildare have EVER been. Back to back U21 provincial titles. Ulster Minor champions. Compared to Kildare massive silverware haul of 1 league title at any level in the last 3 years. That white bubble that your in is starting to harm you.
Your snip about us wanting to reach the promised land at any cost is completely unfounded we have slashed team spending, teams are now having to fund themselves. So where 'at any cost' comes from I don't know. We all want to will the All-Ireland in Kildare of course we do, but are you honestly trying to say that people in Cavan don't want to win the All-Ireland? Somehow I just can't buy this.
So your contradicting you arguement about Cavan not wanting to progress with football if you genuinley believe they want to win an All Ireland? Which is it?
So next time you want a rant maybe you should just think through you Arguement a little better and get your fact about other counties ironed out.
Practice what you preach young man.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 04/05/2012 12:30:32