milhouse s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 14/04/2012 19:15:42 1151864 Link 0 |
As a Cavanman living in Kildare for over 20 years I can no longer resist getting involved in this debate. Unfortunately Milhouse the motion passed refers to playing in the local championship in 'the current or previous year'. This means that if Seanie plays for St Kevins this year he may play for Kildare. The championship will commence in Kildare in May. It looks as though Seanie will indeed play with Kildare a county with which he has no apparent link except that he seems to be able to prove that he 'lives' in Kildare. Perhaps he does but that appears to be for the purposes of playing football with Kildare.The decision to play with St Kevin's is a a convenience as Kildare selector Niall Carew is from that club. Seanie's 'home' in Straffan is in a different parish. Fortunately for him the parish rule does not apply in Kildare. curraghblue (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 14/04/2012 19:33:24 1151880 Link 0 |
Big_Mouth (Cavan) - Posts: 7 - 14/04/2012 19:39:29 1151890 Link 0 |
No you have to have played in the previous years championship. Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 14/04/2012 19:40:25 1151893 Link 0 |
lads are ye not fed up of all this yet some of us in kildare are so much so i put up the close the seanie thread please enough its head wrecking. lillymadfan (Kildare) - Posts: 1085 - 16/04/2012 15:49:30 1153249 Link 0 |
Curragh blue. Very well put and I echo everything you said. Top class!! Have to say that Seanie sure picked a strange time to walk away from his native county, 2 Ulster u21 titles in a row and one Minor title. How many titles in the recent past have the Lillies won? BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 16/04/2012 16:34:31 1153311 Link 0 |
Thanks BreffniDub-just had to get it off my chest. It is worse again to be living in Kildare with this going on for so long. curraghblue (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 16/04/2012 19:03:24 1153517 Link 0 |
sorry lads i hadnt fully read the exact rules being brought in. milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 16/04/2012 19:36:22 1153560 Link 0 |
Milhouse I have no proof that Seanie was head hunted as such. However it is hard to believe that he woke up the morning after the ten second phone call and decided to 'chose' Kildare. Seanie's own explanation on Kildare radio for 'chosing' Kildare was that he likes the way Kildare play, that he admires Kieran McGeeney and also Julie Davis (former trainer at DCU) and that he knows Niall Carew who used to manage Maynooth college team. It is not a co-incidence that Niall Carew is involved with Seanie's 'new' club St Kevins. Since Seanie 'lives' in Straffan-in different parish to St Kevins-he has as much connection to them as he has to Kildare! curraghblue (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 16/04/2012 20:32:51 1153623 Link 0 |
Seems cavan gaels have now objected to the move, whats going on there. I thought the gaels wished him well! fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 16/04/2012 21:59:37 1153739 Link 0 |
probably now that val has gone, Seanie is having second thoughts and so are the club and county board. so rather that Seanie lose face and withdrw his transfer request, the way round it is to object... what a farce. s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 17/04/2012 09:27:05 1153770 Link 0 |
strings ... background ... pulling ... strategy ... Gaels heads ... on CB ... operation remove ... & rescue ... inside line ... although ... genius .... doesn't take a ... though ... Terry ... bought into ... don't envy ... ahead ... the task ... anyway ... peckish .... feeling ... slán Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 17/04/2012 12:33:10 1154022 Link 0 |
Cavan football folk have been taken for fools, the price, future of Cavan football. shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 17/04/2012 12:42:46 1154039 Link 0 |
At this stage im fed up with all this rubbish...he is a Cavan man and should only want to play for Cavan and no one else...yes he had problems with previous managment and attitude..but a better player/man would have looked at himself and said..right its up to me to do my best and change my attitude and get on to my county team and prove that im a better man...instead he just decided to run away and try and play with another county, before you all round up on me i know he is one of the best forwards Cavan had in a long long time...but is he a team player??? is it the way a role model should behave??? personally i believe Cavan have scored more as a team now then when he was on the team cavanrebel (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 17/04/2012 15:54:04 1154344 Link 0 |
i think now is the time for seanie to jump on the cavan bandwagon or he may reget it. blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 17/04/2012 16:50:18 1154432 Link 0 |
I don't believe Seanie will play for Cavan within the next few years. The amount of personel abuse he has taken this past few months was total uncalled for. People forget he was dropped and told he wouldn't be used. He didn't walk away. Now Terry was part of the management that dropped Seanie so there no reason to bring him back. So close this thread and move on. richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 17/04/2012 17:08:02 1154456 Link 0 |
poor seanie. He wants to go to another county, thats walking away in my boat. Mcgeeney is in his last yr at kildare, next manager might not want him and cavan might not want him either. fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 17/04/2012 19:25:32 1154636 Link 0 |
dont be stupid he could walk on to any county team ,id say managers all over the country was wondering what the hell was andrews at ? id be hoping forde will play a big role to get him back in ,everyone that gives out about sean must think were in a different county like dublin that CAN afford to drop players of his ability , hello ! were in cavan, at the moment one of the weakest teams in ireland ,we would get beat now from london for gods sake . apart from sean we need the strongest 15 starting , we have a back line that we i wouldnt have any playing come championship ,all cavan has is history so stop the crap , get some experance in bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 17/04/2012 20:15:06 1154680 Link 0 |
terry just after talking on news talk,he said if seanie goes back playing for the gaels he will look at him. blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 17/04/2012 20:55:10 1154714 Link 0 |
i hear seanie is heading for stateside for the summer. Must be no sign of the transfer going thru tony.montana (Cavan) - Posts: 179 - 20/04/2012 17:54:20 1156773 Link 0 |