just heard last night that johnston was asked back in again!
jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 16/11/2011 15:45:19
I hope he said NO!
sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 16/11/2011 16:11:55
just heard last night that johnston was asked back in again! jinky15 , 16/11/2011 at 15:45
talk talk and more talk. The door is not closed to anyone and its only November long way to February.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 16/11/2011 16:17:12
It would seem strange that he has been asked in, as the official line below is that he and nobody is part of a panel, as no panel exist, so nobody nobody could be asked back in.
http://www.setanta.com/au/Articles/2011/11/10/Cavan-deny-Johnston-axe/gnid-117094/
cav01 (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 16/11/2011 17:04:30
lads if theres no panel what do you call the bunch of lads that goes to the trainings and gym sessions??? id call it a panel
jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 16/11/2011 19:09:04
And so would I
cav01 (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 16/11/2011 21:01:17
Read the main forum about the "intercounty player going to Kildare"
sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 16/11/2011 21:17:01
seanie j is on the way to kildare lads fact
ballymon (Kildare) - Posts: 30 - 17/11/2011 12:05:36
Real fact? or rumour?
cav01 (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 17/11/2011 15:07:03
is he teachin their now or sumting?? if not what connections is their?
jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 17/11/2011 17:05:28
ballymon County: Kildare Posts: 25
1070560 seanie j is on the way to kildare lads fact
fair play to Seanie if its true. He would walk on any Team in Ireland. I genuinely wish him well. class act.
Taxi for Andrews if its true
sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 17/11/2011 18:38:38
sheva7 County: Cavan Posts: 297
fair play to Seanie if its true. He would walk on any Team in Ireland. I genuinely wish him well. class act.
Taxi for Andrews if its true
He would not make the Kildare team on current form never mind Kerry, Tyrone, Dublin, Cork or Mayo or other top sides.
Whether or not Johnston goes to play for another team is totally irrelevant to Andrews if he dropped him for the year. If he's not wanted by the Cavan management whatever else he does is not their issue. But I doubt this is true anyway.
Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 17/11/2011 19:18:21
let him go to Kildare...shows a great dedication to Cavan if he isn't willing to work his way back into the Cavan team....great commitment shown right there....totally justifies the decision to drop him if it is indeed him thats diverting to Kildare...he should want to work hard to show he is committed to the Cavan cause but if he leaves for Kildare he is even less committed then i thought
bigcavanman (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 18/11/2011 12:31:40
i would have thought he had done enough to prove his dedication to cavan, he was your only decent players for years, ye must have some players if ye can drop him off your panel, best of luck to him with kildare where i am sure he will get the respect he deserves.
ballymon (Kildare) - Posts: 30 - 18/11/2011 12:46:13
This is nothing more than rumour and speculation at the moment. Incidentally why was a player of Seanie Johnston's calibre dropped from the Cavan panel?
lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3051 - 18/11/2011 13:21:14
ballymon County: Kildare Posts: 26
1071340 i would have thought he had done enough to prove his dedication to cavan, he was your only decent players for years, ye must have some players if ye can drop him off your panel, best of luck to him with kildare where i am sure he will get the respect he deserves.
See ballymon we in Cavan are never satisfied. We always look to knock great players.. Its a jealousy kind of thing.. Also being from the Gaels doesnt help as they are the most hated club in the County because they have been successfull.. Another kind of jealousy thing.
Johnstone probaly wants to just play County football. He was dropped because he had a supposedly bad year........ well by his standards anyway. So fair play to him IF he is looking or was offered a fresh start with another County. Cavan posters on here dont rate him on his current form as we can read on this thread. But id take his current form as better than some of the boys best form. Form is temporary ,Class is permanent and Jonstone at his best would walk on any Team in Ireland including the Dubs.
Id love to see him play with another County next year if its true that Andrews dropped him. Be a great way of finishing Andrews managerial career with Cavan for once and for all. There would be no 3rd time lucky
sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 18/11/2011 14:00:11
sheva7 County: Cavan Posts: 303
1071418 ballymon County: Kildare Posts: 26
1071340 i would have thought he had done enough to prove his dedication to cavan, he was your only decent players for years, ye must have some players if ye can drop him off your panel, best of luck to him with kildare where i am sure he will get the respect he deserves.
See ballymon we in Cavan are never satisfied. We always look to knock great players.. Its a jealousy kind of thing.. Also being from the Gaels doesnt help as they are the most hated club in the County because they have been successfull.. Another kind of jealousy thing.
Johnstone probaly wants to just play County football. He was dropped because he had a supposedly bad year........ well by his standards anyway. So fair play to him IF he is looking or was offered a fresh start with another County. Cavan posters on here dont rate him on his current form as we can read on this thread. But id take his current form as better than some of the boys best form. Form is temporary ,Class is permanent and Jonstone at his best would walk on any Team in Ireland including the Dubs.
Id love to see him play with another County next year if its true that Andrews dropped him. Be a great way of finishing Andrews managerial career with Cavan for once and for all. There would be no 3rd time lucky
Richie is right. We need to sack Andrews and get a manager in that will go to Cavan Gaels, get on his knees and beg them to come to the Cavan team. Rename Breffni Park Johnston Park and pass regulations for the team stating that he will retain the number 13 jersey for as long as he chooses. If the Gaels lads can recreate their excellent Ulster Club form I have no doubt we will reclaim Sam Maguire unless we get an anti Gaels referee (there's a lot of them out there apparently..)
Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 18/11/2011 15:14:13
Richie is right. We need to sack Andrews and get a manager in that will go to Cavan Gaels, get on his knees and beg them to come to the Cavan team. Rename Breffni Park Johnston Park and pass regulations for the team stating that he will retain the number 13 jersey for as long as he chooses. If the Gaels lads can recreate their excellent Ulster Club form I have no doubt we will reclaim Sam Maguire unless we get an anti Gaels referee (there's a lot of them out there apparently..)
Jon Smith where do you get the idea that Cavan Gaels are anti county team. They supplied five members to the under 21 team last year 4 to the minors three to the seniors and they had seven player not counting Johnston or Lyng togged out in the recent matches. Show me another team in the county that has provided as many players to the county teams last year.
evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 18/11/2011 15:50:48
I have nothing against the Gaels at all, a great Club that will eventually compete in Ulster when the younger lads have intercounty experience that the older lads don't have. I was joking about the fact that Richie constantly brings Cavan Gaels into every discussion. Johnston and Lyng are dropped, he hopes no other Gaels players play for Andrews. Someone says Johnston should show more loyalty that to go to Kildare, that's anti Cavan Gaels. No wonder the Gaels lads won't play when Andrews drops Lyng and Johnston etc etc. His blinkered devotion to the Gaels is tiresome.
Would Richie/Sheva be on the same crusade to oust the manager if it was Anthony Forde? Somehow I doubt it.
Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 18/11/2011 16:14:11
Cavan GAA Officials Rubbish Johnson Move to Kildare.
CAVAN GAA officials have poured cold waters on rumours claiming that out-of-favour forward Seánie Johnston could be poised to hook up with the Kildare county footballers.
Such a dramatic move could only happen if Johnston was to take up residence in Kildare as well as join a club in the county. But both his club secretary at Cavan Gaels, Paddy Murray, and county board secretary, Liam McCabe, have told the Evening Herald that this was the first they had heard of the rumour. They also pointed out that Johnston has a teaching post in Cavan, which would make any such switch even more unlikely. Speculation about the prolific corner-forward's future has doubtless intensified following his shock exclusion from manager Val Andrews' initial Cavan squad for next season. Evening Herald So this idle speculation can finally be put to rest.
lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3051 - 18/11/2011 20:31:33