cavan gaels 1:16
kingscourt 0:08

Ouch! thats some beating!

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 28/08/2011 21:42:55    1021181

Semi Final Draw

Belturbet v Castlerahan

Cavan Gaels v Ballinagh

Tough on Ballinagh they deserve to at least get to a final.

BlueHeaven (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 28/08/2011 21:59:36    1021207

Blue Heaven - who says Ballinagh wont reach the final - if they are good enough they can beat the gaels...

clownonthetown (Cavan) - Posts: 41 - 29/08/2011 08:45:31    1021221

Anyone know the result form the gaels v kingscourt game lastnite ?? Its very quiet on here for results and match reports

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 29/08/2011 09:43:39    1021280

Anyone know the result form the gaels v kingscourt game lastnite ?? Its very quiet on here for results and match reports

It's written above.

Binman (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 29/08/2011 11:07:16    1021418

Haw haw gaelstutd. Fair play to ye, in all honesty ye looked very impressive while missing johnston. For the rest of the hoganstand users, the game was a dull affair with the result never in doubt after 15, 20mis with gales 1.6 to 0.2 to the good. Niall smith and kevin meehan are two huge additions to the gaels and gives them a change of focus. Kingscourt continued their poor for from the group through and were well and truly awful, joe dillon tried hard and was probably the outstanding kingscourt player. One weakness the gaels to have in my opinion is a lack of pace in the fullback line. Dillon rounded gurhy at least twice, and if mccormack was interested he would have had the legs on doc, although doc was very impressive and controlled the affairs in there, id put that down to stupid balls in from kingscourt which were either high or way out to the corners.
Castlerahan have built up a nice bit of momentum and this is the draw both belturbet and castlerahan wanted, however castlerahan will win this comfortably and enter their first senior final ever? Maybe im wrong? I know they have no senior champioships, im just going by that fact. Belturbet are a good footballing team, with a good system of moving the ball but i just feel with having beat castlerahan already, the motivation factor for castlerahan is greater.
Ballinagh and gaels, the final everyone wanted to see from a neutrals point of view it will be a very physical game but i can only see one winner, and unfortunately its the gaels, the addition of smith and meehan gives them more. Although i wouldnt rule out a shock, but everything would have to go right for ballinagh, heres hoping.

galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 29/08/2011 11:12:48    1021431

Gaels very impressive.How many players have they got? You d forget about 1 or 2 then they d turn in a massive performance & be gone again!

Belturbet small squad will prob make a final apperance( id like to see that for jason be a huge day for him)

Ballinagh breath of fresh air. cant be bullied & can play attacking football.

Hard luck Denn( Squad was thin on ground this year & the ref was very poor against belturbet & the game was there for the taking.Prob best out at this stage. )

Goodluck castlerahan still such a young team will not fear the gaels if they pass belturbets physical play.

Lacken or Gowna ( That game should be lively ) relegation is a differant animal. County Finals make you nervous Relegation Finals make you emotional

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 29/08/2011 11:20:12    1021444

Denn Man

County Finals make you nervous Relegation Finals make you emotional

such is the topsy turvey world of Denn footballer :)) well said

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 29/08/2011 12:34:48    1021573

galoping gazele , 29/08/2011 at 11:12

It would be a first final for Castlerahan if they got through. Won in 1976 as St Marys and should have won another. But I'd imagine Belterbet favourites after easily defeating Castlerahan in group stages.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 29/08/2011 13:08:53    1021642

Paddy Power odds:
Cavan Gaels 2/5
Ballinagh 4/1
Castlerahan 6/1
Belturbet 10/1

IIRC Gaels were 2/5 even at the quarter final stage, which was fair enough I suppose but those odds probably should have shortened a little since. Also, the odds for the quarters had Belturbet at 10/1 and Castlerahan at 12/1. Don't know why Belturbets odds haven't shortened either.

Bozo (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 29/08/2011 14:05:24    1021749

Doratheexplorer. Don't forget Belturbet had a Championship game under their belts before they played Castlerahan. As did Redhills before they played Gowna. This game's too close to call IMO.

I actually think Gowna shot themselves in the foot by getting their game against Castlerahan postponed because of the 1 county minor.

Bozo (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 29/08/2011 14:15:16    1021770

Bozo I know that but I also remember Bud giving a masterclass and don't see Castlerahan stopping that.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 29/08/2011 14:24:03    1021781

Bozo

I actually think Gowna shot themselves in the foot by getting their game against Castlerahan postponed because of the 1 county minor.
Gowna must still be shooting at that foot then..?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1731 - 29/08/2011 15:22:58    1021907

Yep. It can be hard to stop the rot once it starts.

Bozo (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 29/08/2011 15:34:58    1021933

seanorinn

Belturbet had an easy win over Castlerahan. Shame to see how far back this Castlerahan team have gone back in two years.

Sean some of your old posts a bit disrespectful to Castlerahan lecturing how they need to change the structures in the club, a poor team, no passion, bad management etc... Hope they have proved you wrong to some extent.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 29/08/2011 15:53:04    1021964

29/08/2011 15:22:58
wishfulthinkin

1021907 Bozo

Gowna must still be shooting at that foot then..?
Given their current form, they'd probally miss

Disgrunted Goat (Cavan) - Posts: 22 - 29/08/2011 16:14:43    1021994

Anyone know who won the gaels game lastnite ??

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 29/08/2011 16:29:06    1022011

gaelsutd

U mustn't be much of a fan if you dont know the score!.

CavanAgain (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 29/08/2011 17:02:23    1022046

Niall Lynch is a decent trainer, i thought he would have got mullahoran playing good football and really push that senior championship but they are still at that, in your face pullin and draggin crap that has defined their club for many years. When i seen Danny the gunner coming on i spilt me coffee all over myself with surprise, surely they have some good young lads to come in and make an impact.

I dont think you can judge Ballinagh accurately after beating a shocking Mullahoran outfit, the amount of handy frees given away in front of goal really handed the game to Ballinagh.

Gaels have been in every county semi final for a decade and a half, however Ballinagh have seen many big days out aswell with their titanic struggle to get out of Intermediate but i think the Gaels have too much experience and a better bench.

Verdict: Gaels by 6 points.

Scaldy (Cavan) - Posts: 41 - 29/08/2011 18:40:10    1022165