Senior Championship 2011

castlerahan v gowna
what a hammering i don't think i have ever seen gowna as bad. Enda O'Connell ran riot up and down the flanks and Cian Mackey showed what he is capable of and i just cant get over the class of Oisin O'Connell why were him and the brother not on our under21 panel at all.Ronan Flanagan done what was needed.Paul smith is a very neat footballer.Again you cant judge Castlerahan at all they blow hot and cold!Redhills game should be a cracker!

Denn v drumalee
The denn boys will go through Martin Cahill knows how to read the game his work ethic is sublime!Mossy corr and Brennan was a great battle in the middle. Denn need forwards Colin Kiernan was very good and he is the only forward they have and county minor noel crowe but i still think he is a bit inexperienced for championship football. Hubert Smith is a target man for them but can do not alot only shoot shoot shoot..

gaels v ramor
Jack Brady had a very very poor game from what he can do he wasnt in the races at all.I feel so sorry for ramor they are a good team but its just not working for them at all.Cavan gaels will win the championship they will have a full squad back come quarters.Mickey lyng and Damien Barkey was a good battle up untill he got injured. Seanie was brilliant!

mrchow (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 08/08/2011 14:41:46    1006548

Was in breffni yesterday for all the games, i cant get over how poor gowna are. They have a lack of discipline too, however the one minor thing they have going for them is that they are a relatively young team in comparrison with previous years and will take the younger lads time to adapt and gel into senior football, they better start soon or else intermediate beckons! Cstlerahan looked good, and im sure they know themselves not to get carried away with themselves. In response to the above comments, the o'connell twins were on the u21s at the start of the year but chose not to play, bet they regret that now! Good footballers though. Mackey was good but was let play and flanagan is coming back to his best, great reader of the game.
Denn drumallee is a typical case of goals winning games. Denn came out fighting and looked pumped up, but they beat a poor drumallee team.
Gaels and ramor was a tense affair in the opening 40mins with both teams concentrating on nullifying each others attacking threats. One small thing to note was when jack brady was in the full forward line or centre forward, collins dropped in front of him, which effectively meant he had 2 men on him, maybe this just happened but thats what i seen. However ramor were naiive to think they could beat the gales by carrying and carrying the ball as opposed to letting the ball into the forwards quick, young cadden killed them when he dropped his head and ran down dead ends, as did keith soden by holding and holding the ball. Murray, collins and dominic reilly were dropping back clogging it up and ramor really played into their hands, I would say the ramor management were very slow to pick up on these tactical situations. Ado cole looked dangerous and the gaels just shaded midfield on the breaks, they dealt with anton reilly and mcenroe well, although mcenroe was good, definately an option for cavan at no.6. Barkey was typical barkey hardy and never say die, johnston was good when the ball was moved quick and the goal by mclarey was very cool and effectively killed the game. The gaels better tactics and overall better FOOTBALLERS won on the day. And fair play to them.

galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 08/08/2011 15:52:38    1006655

sheva 7
co cavan
posts 157

i be reading some pages on hogan stand by sean o rinn seems hilarious he seems to no lot of what goes on in brefni what teams are before games wonder is he on to become selector as myself and mates was in stand on sunday we saw him on pitch all business with his book taking notes surprised he was not up in stand press box were he usually is always there when we are i notice he asking about spitting incident he trying to say he has it on video or does he mean camera man who was in press box doing videoing would it be him he on about we didnt see him with camera and never do; i wonder was any of cavan management team there sunday ; wonder sean take note of many players from games on sunday the stanard of 3 games was not the best have to say castlerahan performance very good took scores really well any one notice enda o connell of castlerahan who i thought played a stormer of a game be worth a call up some time maybe; wonder sean notice him in his we hut

Davin (Cavan) - Posts: 46 - 08/08/2011 16:09:04    1006682

I was at the Kingscourt v Lavey match yesterday. Kingscourt were poor and struggled to put any shape on their play. Lavey hassled and harried the stars and put them under fierce pressure. They had the three best players on show in Shane Tierney, Karl Duke and Kevin Brady but Kingscourt had a little more strength in depth which made the difference in the end. Why didn't Duke start for Lavey as he was excellent when he came on?. He's big strong and fast and a good possibility for the Cavan team.

Lavey were unlucky and Kingscourt go through without winning a game. They will have to improve no end if they are to repeat last years heroics.

BlueHeaven (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 08/08/2011 16:49:09    1006730

Davin , 08/08/2011 at 16:09

In reply to your stupid post the reason I was on the side of the pitch was that I was passing through the radio any subs that were being made for Mark O'Rourke to tell you the supporters what changes were being made through the intercom. I could have done all three matches but I just don't like doing it. I will as usual help when asked.
Is this reply okay for you.
I am not a selector of any team and yes Val Andrews was in Breffni Park. Is this reply okay for you.
By the way you say you read my posts well you will have read that I mentioned the two O'Connells.
Look as a spctator I am entitled to note any player I feel is worth another look at or even getting called up to the panels but that is as far as it goes just like everyone else in the park we all have pour own opinion who looks good or bad.
The spitting incident I saw along with two others no video involved, including one of the selectors from his team. I am sure if you were at the match you would have seen it as well or were you too busy watching me.
Is Mise Sean

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 08/08/2011 17:14:17    1006767

you were busy watching the spitting while he was busy watching you

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 08/08/2011 17:36:28    1006799

cavan gaels are still the best team in the county by a long long way... anyone who thinks otherwise is cracked.. johnston is comfortably the best player in the county too by a long long way, nobody comes even comes close, if they did maybe cavan might have some success at snr level... theres not a man in the county thats had a good game on johnston, dont know why yee even bother trying to mark him, ye just look like an idiot.. gaels will win championship again and normal service will resume.. other clubs are a long way from catchin up with gaels, kingscourt are a flash in the pan..if your any good atal you dont draw with lavey!! mullahoran are absolutely useless too, there older players just keep going out of ignorance, their county star has trouble soloing the ball.. just go away away will yas! rest of the clubs dont even deserve a mention not that the 2 above do either

natureboy.woo (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 08/08/2011 21:19:17    1006972

natureboy i think most people reading your post will be thinking your cracked writing that crap..

sexcb1tch (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 08/08/2011 21:34:11    1006986

Theres something wrong with that natureboy . .

PatBurns (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 09/08/2011 10:55:52    1007132

Was very tempted to ignore natureboy's comments, but can't resist! Hats off to you, you are a die hard Gaels fan, good luck to you. However. I think some of your comments are off the mark. Mullahoran are a very good side, and it's not ignorance that's keeping them going, but a fierce determinationa nd good team spirit. Kingscourt should have been beaten well by Lavey, I wouldn't underestimate the New Inns side, they're going v well, apart from lack of fire power up front.
Ramor had the Gaels to a draw early in second half, but resorted to overplayiing the ball, slowing play down and selfishness. It's not that the Gaels are that good, Ramor were that bad. I'm sure fresh thinking will cure their problems, they have the players.

For Johnstons sake I am glad he's back in form, as is typical of county players in Cavan, he come in for a lot of unfair criticism. Why for a county that loves Gaelic so much are we constantly knocking certain players?

A question; why is is that Cavan Gaels had ALL their games in Breffni?

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 278 - 09/08/2011 11:54:01    1007185

Natureboy:

Could not agree with you more. Gaels are by far the best team in the county & no other club is near them. That's why they have lost 4 games in the league & drawn one & be beaten once in the championship already i suppose !!!

Ritz (None) - Posts: 199 - 09/08/2011 15:12:52    1007423

Breffini blue
A question; why is is that Cavan Gaels had ALL their games in Breffni?

Why do you not ask abthe same question about Castlerahan?

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 09/08/2011 16:27:40    1007515

I have heard from a close source that works in breffni park that ramor objected to playing the game against cavan gaels in lavey,i dont know the reasons why,but this is fact.the game was fixed for lavey and ramor put in an objection.Also,regarding cavan gaels playing all there games in breffni,this is the first year since the group championship stages started that they have played all there group championship games in breffni.so your arguement is wrong !! the gaels dont play all there games in breffni !!

I was also told that all 1/4 final chmpionship games will be held in breffni,that includes,senior,intermeditate and junior.

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 09/08/2011 16:28:06    1007517

I didn't realise Castlerahan had all their games in Breffni, so that too obviously begs the same question!!

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 278 - 10/08/2011 10:39:34    1007898

I was at the Kingscourt v Lavey match yesterday. Kingscourt were poor and struggled to put any shape on their play. Lavey hassled and harried the stars and put them under fierce pressure. They had the three best players on show in Shane Tierney, Karl Duke and Kevin Brady but Kingscourt had a little more strength in depth which made the difference in the end. Why didn't Duke start for Lavey as he was excellent when he came on?. He's big strong and fast and a good possibility for the Cavan team.

Lavey were unlucky and Kingscourt go through without winning a game. They will have to improve no end if they are to repeat last years heroics.

not sure i agree that lavey had the 3 best players. i agree that karl duke made a big diff when he came on and shane tierney was good but i also thought alan clarke was the man of the match. he put in a towering performance for kingscourt. the stars also had good performers in barry tully and thomas wakely and mcgovern in defence. ryan mccormack got some great scores and gavin sheanon was the pick of the midfielders. i think a draw was a fair result in the match. lavey are extremely unlucky not to be progressing. there will be worse teams than them going through for sure. its the unfairness of the 3 team group.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 10/08/2011 10:50:05    1007913

karl duke came straight from dublin airport for the game and didnt get started,he made some difference for lavey.3 in a group isint fair, kingscourt into quarter final without winning game not right.

barca (Cavan) - Posts: 9 - 10/08/2011 18:26:53    1008571

Ramor objected to the Gaels game being in Lavey sighting the size of the Lavey dressing rooms being too small and inadequate for any preperation for a championship game, with the Gaels agreeing to that objection. The game was fixed for Breffni so a triple header could take place which suited the County Board because the same stewards and officals could be used all day saving time and reducing costs.

BlueRevolution (Cavan) - Posts: 71 - 10/08/2011 18:31:33    1008574

BlueRevolution

1008574 Ramor objected to the Gaels game being in Lavey sighting the size of the Lavey dressing rooms being too small and inadequate for any preperation for a championship game, with the Gaels agreeing to that objection. The game was fixed for Breffni so a triple header could take place which suited the County Board because the same stewards and officals could be used all day saving time and reducing costs

Good to see someone at last able to give the facts.. it saves everyone jumping on the anti gaels bandwagon..

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 10/08/2011 18:49:31    1008596

The dressing rooms not big enough for ramor.? The mind boggles.

marita (None) - Posts: 469 - 10/08/2011 19:59:41    1008645

s goldrick

there will be worse teams than them going through for sure. its the unfairness of the 3 team group.
3 team group or 4 team group..only top 2 teams go through anyway

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1731 - 10/08/2011 21:37:49    1008720