Cavan Gaels v Kingscourt ACFL Div 1 Final

Con i take your points.This has not been a great year for the Gaels seniors for one reason or the other.They have set very high standards for the club and they do not except anything less than a double or the year has been a failure.Very few teams in all sports no matter how good they are manage to win 4 in a row if you look at the history books.Fair play to Kingscourt(deserving champions).As for ballygowanwater.Slander?Get a life.I'd love to hear the ref explain why he gave a free out towards the end of the game and decided it was ok for a kingscourt player who was wasting time to kick it over the bar. The reason why i wrote my original post was in response to Killygarylad. They should focus their energy on their own club which in my opinion is a joke.Inter Milan won the champions league last year but if you asked most people who was the best team in europe they would say Barcelona.Fact.Eyeball!!

eyeball (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 03/11/2010 20:36:10    809139

They have set very high standards for the club and they do not except anything less than a double or the year has been a failure.
_______

Not so bad, sure you are still in line for a double ..

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 04/11/2010 13:45:39    809464

eyeball
"They should focus their energy on their own club which in my opinion is a joke"
did i read that wrong or are you calling Killygarry a joke? And ya wonder why folks love to see the gaels beat

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 04/11/2010 15:01:20    809544

Defamation, Libel, Slander, whichever form you wish to use, it boils down to the same point. I couldn't care less if Cavan Gaels won the Championship so I don't know what your talking about hating the Gaels onchloir. However the behaviour of the Club after the County F was a disgrace.(plus submitting a letter into the County board on the Referee's I'm sure if anyone traced the recent history of Cavan Gaels getting knocked out of the Ulster Championship, their manners on the field would also be called into question.

ballygowanwater (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 04/11/2010 17:35:31    809701

JonSmith

809120 ochonlir

libel I think you'll find

No such thing since last year I think you'll find. Now just; defamation.

I think you'll find that defamation covers both Libel and slander which dosent make the written word slander as advised earlier, I hope you are not a lawyer.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 04/11/2010 21:20:42    809928

ballygowan

Im sure you have your own club, could you not convert the considerable amount of rage you have into positive energy and work for that club.

we would all like to beat the gaels, kingscourt did it, but the reason I'd like to do it is to prove our standards have increased and we work hard to do it, we put our energies into our club and players and don't waste them with silly little hate campaigns or jealousy sessions.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 04/11/2010 21:25:19    809934

yes yous do put alot pf work into players i.e poaching them

jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 05/11/2010 11:08:27    810106

ochonlir

I think you'll find that defamation covers both Libel and slander which dosent make the written word slander as advised earlier, I hope you are not a lawyer.
libl

The distinction between libel and slander was removed in last year's act, so effectively neither exist any longer. Neither term is mentioned in proceedings anymore, both the written and spoken word are now referred to as "Defamation" Not a lawyer no, more into the journalism side of things, hence why I'm familiar with the law on defamation.
Sorry for going off topic but sure any excuse to put Ochonlir back in his box.. ;)

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 05/11/2010 14:20:05    810277

Ballygowan,

i think you are right the ref did get excessive abuse in the county final. its not fair he's only goin out to do his best but you're obviously from lacken and tryin to protect your club man. in fairness he likes it hard and fast so all players know what they are gettin when he's in the middle

ramhor_utd69 (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 05/11/2010 14:46:16    810301

johnsilver1 county cavan post 30 i agree with you last sunday evening in brefni park it was league final with kingscourt v gaels repeat of c,ship final it was a good game some good taken scores but as game goes we always will see decisions given which cant please all happens every week in other games but as game was going on this abuse which seems to be creeping into our game is bad exsample for especially when children are there to watch also the laungauge in the stand by some gaels fans was disgrace ,its time that co board took action the was enough stewards there last sunday to do like what happens at other grounds one team goes in, once in the other follows and bad behaviour by fans the should be removed which i have seen happen at other games in other venues fairplay to kingscourt on winning c,ship first in 17 years as for gaels who have been in final for past 10 years winning 7 not bad kingscourt played some good football their on merit not many gave a chance in beating gaels last sunday were seconds away from completeing double lets hope replay be good game played in good spirit i have heard subject brought up about bringing in outside referree for co county finals

Davin (Cavan) - Posts: 46 - 05/11/2010 18:44:55    810499

ochonlir

I think you'll find that defamation covers both Libel and slander which dosent make the written word slander as advised earlier, I hope you are not a lawyer.libl

The distinction between libel and slander was removed in last year's act, so effectively neither exist any longer. Neither term is mentioned in proceedings anymore, both the written and spoken word are now referred to as "Defamation" Not a lawyer no, more into the journalism side of things, hence why I'm familiar with the law on defamation.
Sorry for going off topic but sure any excuse to put Ochonlir back in his box.. ;)

Are you arguing with yourself again?

libel may not be used but it still exists and writing down something down will never be slanderous, and thats true whether Im in a box or adout

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 05/11/2010 21:33:27    810644

paul o connor to start for gaels

jonjoe89 (Donegal) - Posts: 85 - 06/11/2010 21:44:07    811078

Kingscourt 1-5 Cavan Gaels 0-12

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 07/11/2010 19:01:19    811431

disgracful seens at the end of the game (which was a good game). best team won but there total lack of manners will and have cost them

kop23 (Cavan) - Posts: 36 - 07/11/2010 19:57:42    811501

In my opinion, Kingscourt Stars were fully at fault for this melee that broke out,they couldn't accept the fact that they were being beat.
They should of taken there beating like men as cavan gaels did in the county final.
One Kingscourt player has a lot to answer for after his actions caused what happened in this good footballing game,the county board needs to come down hard on him,fair play to cavan gaels,another trophy and a point proven after all the bad media reports and verbal abuse they have being recieving the past few weeks.a good club always comes back stronger.

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 08/11/2010 08:18:26    811678

I was surprised to see the Gaels winning yesterday, and after last weeks game was fairly sure Kingscourt would do the double. Fair play to the Gaels for coming back and winning in convincing fashion and they should have won by more. I'm sure the Gaels will be blamed on this site for the fracas at the end, as anti-Gales jibes are the main topic of most threads, but there is no doubt that it was started by Kingscourt who couldn't take their beating. Will there be the same uproar ? Sean Johnson spoke extremely well and sprtsmanly despite the jeering and profanity shouted at him by the opposition, Kingscourt are worthy champions but this is no way to show it. I hope it's a one off and don't want to see it turn into a running thing as has happened in previous years because I think we'll see many more great footballing battles between these teams over the coming years.

ferilpigeon (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 08/11/2010 11:15:38    811773

Fully at fault Gaelsutd ? How did you come to that conclusion. Was hard to tell who actually started it.
I didn't see any Kingscourt sub's entering the melee, not to mention the Gaels player who was not even togged out & joined in from the sideline & ran off then. Not the first time he has done something like that. If the county board were enforcing the letter of the law, Mr Forde would not of been even playing yesterday after what he did last week in breffni. So, don't be trying to make the Gaels look all innocent in this matter.
Fair play to them, they were the better team on the day & just some of our forwards didn't turn up on the day. There's no love lost between these two clubs & I'm sure yesterday will not of helped either.

Ritz (None) - Posts: 199 - 08/11/2010 11:47:13    811806

First off - Best team on the day won the game. Gaels played better and took more of their chances, they fully deserved the victory. Kingscourt badly missed Philip Smith. The incident at the end of the game was disgraceful. There were a number of players guilty of inappropriate conduct. I saw how it started and it was a very experienced gaels player who unnecessarily became involved with a young Kingscourt player. If he had kept his discipline none of this would have happened and the other Kingscourt players would not have gotten involved. With regards to gaelsstuds comment about the gaels taking their beating in the county final, you must have been at a different game. You're players went down the tunnel shouting at the Chairman of the county board during the presentation speeches. I only saw one woman who made a fool of herself shouting during the speeches yesterday, the kingscourt players were very gracious in defeat and applauded sean johnstons speech.

Killygarrylad (Cavan) - Posts: 63 - 08/11/2010 11:49:16    811809

And the bait was taken...

ferilpigeon (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 08/11/2010 12:31:04    811847

In fairness to the kingscourt players they were gracious in defeat.The row broke out due to frustration by the kingscourt team who were chasing shadows at the end of the game as the Gaels kept possession for a period of what felt like 5 minutes with very impressive passes all over the field orchestrated by young Lyng.These things happen and when players go in to break up a row it looks like a complete malee when only a few players were involved.At the end the players shook hands and wished each other well.Have to say was very impressed with the ref during the game who let the game flow and contributed to a very exciting match.He made the sensible decision at the end and blew up the match as official time was up and even if a couple of extra minutes were played kingscourt could not have got back in the game.The gaels were too much in control.The gaels supporters get bad press but never have i seen them act like the kingscourt(not all) supporters yesterday as they heggled young Johnson making his speach singing about the championship win..etc.Looking forward to next years championship already and as Johnson said a good team wins a championship but a GREAT team wins 2 or 3 back to back.Eyeball!!

eyeball (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 08/11/2010 14:29:58    811980