Cavan Gaels v Kingscourt ACFL Div 1 Final

I was at the game last night in Breffni and it was a very entertaining game despite the lack of quality at times.

Kingscourt squandered a couple of great opportunities.
Joe McMahon should have scored a goal and a point in the first half.
Why did Barry Reilly not take his man on instead of shooting?
It probably would have won the game for them.
Sean Johnstone was held well and unusually his free taking was a little off.
I do not like to take from what was a good game but the constant harassment of the referee by a number of Cavan Gaels players was disgraceful in my opinion. How long are the county board going to allow this to continue? It's little wonder that referees are in short supply in Cavan, who wants to be abused for an hour for a pitence? Also the incident at half-time where stewards were pushed and shoved by players who were leaving the field was absolutely outrageous and the county board needs to take immediate and swift action here as this is the second incident involving stewards being abused by players in recent weeks. Also in the stand a number of references were made to a referee who had officiated at a recent game between these two sides. This mans good name is being dragged through the dirt for no good reason and this to me is unacceptable. Again when are the county board going to act?

Killygarrylad (Cavan) - Posts: 63 - 01/11/2010 09:29:39    806947

Yea, the Gaels crowd need to build a bridge and leave that particular ref alone. Yesterday was just more of the same. If you talk to a Gales man, bring up any number of referees and you'll hear all about the injustices of the past. As an outsider, it stinks to high hell and it's a case of bullying the aforementioned or guilting other referees into making biased decisions. Cavan Gaels have earned themselves great respect over the last number of years, but this sort of negative BS can erode it away very very quickly. Channel your energy into winning the replay convincingly and you won't need to scrutinize the hell out of the refereeing decisions.

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 01/11/2010 11:36:05    807008

All i want for christmas is a pair of those black tights that some of the Gaels players were wearing last night !!!! hahaha. It was very cold, NOT

Ritz (None) - Posts: 199 - 01/11/2010 12:41:45    807055

con ypu appear to have a bigger bridge to cross than the entire gales team and supporters combined, your hatred for the gales is spooky still it's haloween

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 01/11/2010 15:27:46    807211

ochonlir
he's 100% right in what he has said! some of the things said about a certain person was ridiculous! Have you found out a cure for these "new fangled injuries" you were talkin about?

jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 01/11/2010 17:43:48    807369

the ref needs all the abuse he can get for the disgrace he made of himself in the county final, and as for him having a good name thats the biggest joke of the whole lot

nmel (Cavan) - Posts: 51 - 01/11/2010 19:26:42    807473

nmel

807473 the ref needs all the abuse he can get for the disgrace he made of himself in the county final, and as for him having a good name thats the biggest joke of the whole lot

Look nmel and all other gaels supporters let it go with the referee in the county final.
How did ye get there? by bullying the ref when ye played Cuchulainns in the quarter final. In my opinion Forde and Lyng were an absolute disgrace that day with their antics and unfortunately the ref was not strong enough to deal with them.
The gaels play good football and I will be first to admit that when they are in full flow and concentrating on football they are a joy to watch.
However the gaels are in danger of becomming a team and club of whingers and after all they won that would be a shame to leave that legacy rather than a football one. Really what the gaels need is Mick O Dowd or some other strong manager to harness the undoubted skill of their young players and get them back to the level they were at in 2008. Finally the quality of refereeing in this county is poor but men like the two Jimmy Galligans, Kellegher, McQuillan and Mooney from the gaels are in my opinion still the the best referees in Cavan and hounding or publically abusing them because results dont go a certain teams way is totally wrong.

Theboss (Cavan) - Posts: 6 - 02/11/2010 09:58:27    807678

respect the ref, play to the whistle, concentrate on playing the ball.
these are all things that the majority of neutrals have said on this board for quite a while now.
When are the gaels gonna start to do this?
We all know they'd be a much better and respected team if that's what they did.
If a team has to be intense let them be intense, what can't be accepted is constant moaning, off the ball incidents, and abuse of both match officials and stewards.

drumavigo (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 02/11/2010 09:58:28    807679

in a typical geals game with things not goin well for dem, wud they spend 5 mins overall wasting time giving out to a ref?

jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 02/11/2010 11:51:08    807754

Dont know wot is wrong with these Cavan Gaels lads they obviously have some good footballlers they should just go out and play football, manners is a great trait to have!! and also good supporters!!

JohnSilver1 (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 02/11/2010 12:00:11    807765

nmel
from what i hear the only disgrace on county final day was the behaviour of the gaels

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 02/11/2010 15:08:39    807934

Let's not get into bashing the Cavan Gaels club. Thats not what this thread is about

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 02/11/2010 15:09:20    807935

Re:Killygarrylad
A typical quote from our jealous neighbours.You go on about the things the Gaels do wrong.You are so biased, its funny.The incident with the officials at half time was minor and was due to lack of communication between both the county board and the gaels club.They laughed about it after the game.The gaels do give out to refs a bit much and this needs to stop but this is after so much frustration from poor refereeing in the county.Everyone knows that the ref was a joke in the final.In saying that the gaels lads held their hands up and admitted that Kingscourt played good football and got their tactics right on the day.One thing the Gaels boys do not have to worry about is Killygary going through the town with a senior cup and having to look on as begrudgers.eyeball

eyeball (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 02/11/2010 16:38:39    808031

veryone knows that the ref was a joke in the final.In saying that the gaels lads held their hands up and admitted that Kingscourt played good football and got their tactics right on the day

"Yes, Kingscourt played good football on the day, were tactically superior but benefited from biased refereeing decisions" If this is the case, then I think this cheapens the victory for Kingscourt.

Here's a thought: maybe CG's form over the Championship suggested that they were not performing as well as other years, maybe they met a hungrier team on the day who had the required belief, maybe some the of the Gaels players underperformed on the day, maybe they were missing key players on the day,maybe that other team proved have recently proved that the county final was not a fluke or an refereeing injustice, and maybe, just maybe, Cavan Gaels ran out of the lucK that saw them through the Cuchulainns fixture.

Move on.

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 03/11/2010 11:42:13    808569

Eyeball, cop yourself on. The ref didn't beat Cavan Gaels in the County Final.
Its a disgrace that individuals like you are allowed drag referee's through the mud on a county forum. Grow up. Your's comments are not opinion, its slander

ballygowanwater (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 03/11/2010 13:10:06    808646

Eyeball, Ur comments are typical of what is starting to become a major issue for the gales club - bad manners. Killygarrylad is 100% right in his comments on the final. The fact is this year ye weret good enough to win the champ final. Ye werent good enough to beat Kingscourt last weekend in the league final either, (With a different ref so I'm waitin on the excuse for this one.. )
I was at the game last sun evenin and the minor issue, as you refer to it, at half time was not a communication breakdown between club and the CB, it was a classic example of the gales bad manners and being too arrogant to wait till kingscourt left the field as they were being directed to do. Only for some serious ass kissing from your club officials to the ref ye would certainly be in hot water over this "minor issue". Other refs and stewards would not have let it slide so easy....
Also, the language from a minority few gales "fans" in the stand was a shock to hear. Sadly mostly directed at a previous ref ye had a few weeks back. The stand was full of CB officials and these "fans" should have been removed by stewards.
Finally, and its only my opinion, but I think the gales may have to watch a few teams bring the senior cup through the town before they get to bring it down there themselves.
Eyeball - what a name !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

finea3 (Longford) - Posts: 63 - 03/11/2010 15:19:41    808771

Yes it is sad that people in this day and age are behaving like this really low class behaviour and the Cavan GAA need to stamp it out no need for this abuse in the GAA. Fair play and good sportmanship is what is needed to move football forward in the county!!

JohnSilver1 (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 03/11/2010 15:31:39    808780

Eyeball the county championship final is over. Better team on the day won the game. Let it go. With these biased views you are only cheaping the victories of past gaels teams. Bitterness is never a good thing and if Cavan football is to progress the tribal bickering needs to stop. I simply called it as I saw it. It is only my opinion which like you I am fully entitled too. You cannot dispute the record of Cavan Gaels but you must be able to win and lose gracefully. Look at players like Cathal Collins and Enda King they are real gentlemen and they never behave inappropriately towards referees. Now contrast their behaviour to what went on last sunday evening and it should be clearly evident to you that what "some" not all of the Gaels players and supporters did was wrong on so many levels. Stewards and referees (they only get a small allowance) are volunteers and young children were present at the game.

Killygarrylad (Cavan) - Posts: 63 - 03/11/2010 16:50:40    808859

ballygowanwater

808646 Eyeball, cop yourself on. The ref didn't beat Cavan Gaels in the County Final.
Its a disgrace that individuals like you are allowed drag referee's through the mud on a county forum. Grow up. Your's comments are not opinion, its slander

libel I think you'll find

why are so many people so against Cavan gaels, they were beaten and you still spew out the bile???

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 03/11/2010 17:04:03    808876

ochonlir

libel I think you'll find

No such thing since last year I think you'll find. Now just; defamation.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 03/11/2010 20:18:21    809120